Ten centres that run Integrated Programme English or Language Arts classes, compared on published fees turned into an hourly cost, class size, branches with MRT, trial terms and questions to ask, plus how IP English differs from SEC English and feeds into A-Level General Paper.
Shortcuts by need:
Lowest published fee, school-year classes: The Thought Tailor, S$80 to S$90 for 2 hours, three branches.
One GP specialist planning Year 1 to Year 4 as a path into A-Level General Paper: The Rationale Thinking in Upper Thomson.
A branch in every region: Zenith Education Studio.
Groups of 6: Future Academy.
Classes by school: The Learning Lab runs separate Year 1 classes for Hwa Chong, Nanyang Girls' and RGS students.
A named Head of the Integrated Programme: Academia, which also runs an RGS-focused Year 3 and 4 class.
Seven of the ten print a fee but only six give enough detail to cost by the hour, so four rows in that column stay blank. No centre paid to be listed here.
The 10 IP English tuition centres compared
Centre
Best for
Branches (area)
IP years
Class size
Fees as published
Our per-hour estimate
Trial
Google rating
Academia
An RGS-focused Year 3 and 4 class
Upper Thomson (Sin Ming), Bukit Timah (Central), online
Year 1 (Level 3A), Year 2 (3B), Years 3 and 4 (Level 4 IP)
Typically 6 to 10
S$1,500 to S$2,285 a term (Level 3), S$1,644 to S$2,537 (Level 4), GST included. S$115 registration
Not possible (lessons per term not published)
A three-lesson trial package, price not published
Not shown
Creative Campus
Long-serving English teachers, two campuses
Orchard (Central), Marine Parade (East), Zoom
Sec 1 to 4 IP, then GP
Small, number not published
From S$103 a 2-hour lesson before GST (2026 rate). 2027 rate higher, not stated
From S$51.50
A 3-lesson trial package, price to enquire
Not shown as a number
Future Academy
Groups of 6 with former school teachers on staff
Bugis, Bukit Timah, Braddell (Central), online
Sec 1 to 4 IP
Max 6
S$528 a month for 4 two-hour lessons, or S$1,584 for 13. S$20 registration, S$150 deposit
S$60.92 to S$66
Not published
Not shown
Hess Academy
A former Nanyang Girls' IP English teacher
Upper Thomson, Beauty World (Central)
Not stated
Not published
Not published. Termly material fee and one-time registration fee, amounts not stated
A complimentary assessment, no trial lesson listed
Not shown
The Learning Lab
School-matched Year 1 classes in malls
10 malls in every region but the North
Sec 1 to 4 IP
13
S$166.77 to S$179.85 a lesson, GST included. S$98.10 registration, S$150 deposit
S$83.39 to S$89.93
Not published
Not shown
The Rationale Thinking
One GP specialist from Year 1 to Year 6
Upper Thomson (Central)
IP Year 1 to Year 4, then GP
Not published
S$480 a month, S$120 a lesson, S$1,440 a 12-lesson term
S$60
One lesson, charged only if you then enrol
4.7 from 68 reviewers, on its own site
The Thought Tailor
Lowest published IP hour
Bukit Timah, Novena (Central), Jurong East (West)
IP 1 to 4 (Language Arts)
Not published
S$80 a 2-hour lesson (IP1, IP2), S$90 (IP3, IP4), on site only
S$40 to S$45
Not published
Not shown
Zenith Education Studio
Most branches
14 centres in every region
IP 1 to 4
Not published
S$340 a month (Lower Sec), S$360 (Upper Sec), 4 two-hour lessons, before GST. One month's deposit
S$42.50 to S$45 before GST
At no charge
Not shown
IP English: hourly cost from each published fee, our arithmetic (S$)
The Thought TailorS$40 to S$45S$40 to S$45
Zenith Education StudioS$42.5 to S$45S$42.50 to S$45 before GST
Creative CampusS$51.5From S$51.50
The Rationale ThinkingS$60S$60
Future AcademyS$60.92 to S$66S$60.92 to S$66
The Learning LabS$83.39 to S$89.93S$83.39 to S$89.93
050100
The hourly figure is the published fee divided by the published teaching hours. It leaves out deposits and registration, and GST only where the centre includes it.
Our own service: a private IP English tutor
What follows is our own home tutor service, set apart from the ten centres and not ranked against them.
Plenty of English centres write "IP" beside their secondary classes and stop there. We kept a centre only when its own site gave IP English or IP Language Arts a page, a programme or a timetable row of its own.
1Named IP English classA page, programme or timetable slot for IP English or Language Arts, not only "Secondary English".
2Something you can checkAt least one of a fee, class size, named teacher, IP year range or 2027 timetable.
3Current for 2027A live address and, for most, a 2026 or 2027 schedule or fee.
4A real spreadBranches in four regions, groups of 6 to 13, and published hours from S$40 to S$89.93.
Eight of the 10 also feature on the most-read rival list of IP English centres. We left out two names from that list because our own GP tuition centres guide and IP tuition centres guide already cover them, and added Learning Journey and Learning Point, which both run named IP English programmes.
The 10 centres in detail
Academia
An English-only centre that maps IP years onto its own levels: Year 1 is Level 3A, Year 2 is Level 3B, and Years 3 and 4 share a Level 4 IP class.
Hourly (our estimate)
Not published
Group size
Typically 6 to 10
Closest MRT
No
Suits: a Year 3 or Year 4 student at RGS, or anyone who wants an IP-only class led by a named IP head.
May not suit: a family that needs the cost per lesson before calling, since only term ranges are printed and the number of lessons per term is not.
Olivier Tan is named as Head of the Integrated Programme. The Level 4 IP class works on structured argument, opinion-led comprehension, summary and critical response writing. Its timetable shows eight Year 3 and 4 IP slots a week across Upper Thomson and Bukit Timah, and one Find Class listing is marked "RGS Focus".
Fees as published: a 2027 term costs S$1,500 to S$2,285 at Level 3 (Year 1 and 2) and S$1,644 to S$2,537 at Level 4 (Year 3 and 4), GST included. New students pay S$115 once to register. A three-lesson trial package is offered, price on request. Lessons are 2 hours weekly in groups of typically 6 to 10.
Branches: 6 Sin Ming Road #01-15, the one address on the page, plus Bukit Timah slots on the timetable. Online seats are offered when space allows. No MRT station is named.
Does Olivier Tan take the Monday Upper Thomson or the Saturday Bukit Timah Year 3 and 4 class?
How many lessons does the S$1,644 Level 4 term buy?
Is the RGS Focus class open to students from other schools?
Creative Campus
Founded by two former lawyers, with Ms Geraldine Chew, once English curriculum lead at another large centre from 1999 to 2011, directing the secondary and GP programmes.
Hourly (our estimate)
From S$51.50
Group size
Small, number not published
IP years
Sec 1 to 4 IP, then GP
Closest MRT
Parkway Parade. No
Suits: a strong IP student near Orchard or Parkway Parade who wants stretch from long-serving teachers and the option of joining on Zoom.
May not suit: a student who wants a class only for their own school, since grouping is by level.
The IP page lists all 17 IP schools, groups students by level rather than by school, and says content runs 20 to 30% above national syllabus level. Topics include discursive essays, unseen poetry and prose, comprehension, summary and oral work. Every English teacher has taught the subject for at least ten years, the page says.
Fees as published: from S$103 for a 2-hour lesson before GST. The same page says IP fees rise from January 2027 without printing the standard 2027 figure, so ask for it. The trial is a 3-lesson package, with the price listed as "please enquire". Registration and deposit are not mentioned.
Branches: 545 Orchard Road #14-07/08 Far East Shopping Centre, and 80 Marine Parade Road #14-06 Parkway Parade. No MRT station is named on the site.
What is the standard 2027 rate for a Year 3 IP lesson?
Which teacher takes the Year 4 class at Campus East?
How do you cover unseen poetry for a school that sets Literature separately?
Future Academy
A boutique centre that caps every group at 6 and forms IP English groups by school, year and pace.
Hourly (our estimate)
S$60.92 to S$66
Group size
Max 6
IP years
Sec 1 to 4 IP
Closest MRT
Rochor and Beauty World
Suits: a student who wants a very small group built around school past papers, with an option to switch between on-site and online.
May not suit: a family that wants to try a lesson first, as no trial is mentioned, or one looking for the lowest fee.
Its secondary team includes a former Hwa Chong Head of Mathematics and a former RGS teacher, though neither is an English teacher. The IP English page covers argumentative and discursive writing, situational writing, close reading, listening and oral practice, and adds literary analysis only for schools that fold Literature into English. Ten IP schools are named, from RI and RGS to SJI and NJC.
Fees as published: S$528 a month for 4 two-hour lessons (S$66 an hour), or S$1,584 for a 13-lesson term that gives one lesson free (about S$60.92 an hour). A S$20 registration fee and a refundable S$150 deposit are collected on joining, and a month's notice ends enrolment. A second subject is 5% off.
Branches: 175A Bencoolen Street #06-05 Burlington Square, 1 to 2 minutes from Rochor MRT. 170 Upper Bukit Timah Road #10-02 Bukit Timah Shopping Centre, 3 minutes from Beauty World MRT. 381 Lorong 1 Toa Payoh #01-12, 1 to 2 minutes from Braddell MRT. Online on ClassIn.
Who teaches IP English, and at which school did they teach?
Is there a Year 3 group just for Hwa Chong or just for RI?
Can my child start with one month rather than the 13-lesson term?
Hess Academy
A two-branch centre whose IP English page is built around one teacher, Ms Alison, a former MOE teacher with 20 years in the classroom who taught IP English at Nanyang Girls' and wrote IP English materials there.
Hourly (our estimate)
Not published
Group size
Not published
IP years
Not stated
Closest MRT
Upper Thomson and Beauty World
Suits: a Nanyang Girls' or Hwa Chong family near Beauty World or Upper Thomson who wants school-text literature support inside English.
May not suit: a parent who wants to compare fees, class size or lesson length online, as none of the three is printed.
The course covers argumentative and expository writing, the Application Question, Language Arts work on poetry and literary devices, and literature analysis using each school's set texts. Lessons are themed, with topics such as technology, globalisation and ageing.
Fees as published: Not published. Fees are weekly, with a separate termly material fee and a one-time registration fee, amounts not given. A trial lesson is offered through WhatsApp.
Branches: 267A Upper Thomson Road, beside Upper Thomson MRT. 140 Upper Bukit Timah Road, Beauty World Plaza, beside Beauty World MRT. The unit number is printed as #02-03 in one place and #03-13 in another, so confirm it.
Does Ms Alison teach every IP class, or only some?
Which Year 3 set texts do you prepare for each school?
What do the material and registration fees come to?
Learning Journey
Its Super Writers IP English programme has frameworks with their own names for introductions, body paragraphs and conclusions, a Content, Practice and Review cycle, and a personal storyline portfolio.
Hourly (our estimate)
Not published
Group size
2 to 8 on the IP page, max 6 in the FAQ
IP years
IP 1 to 4
Closest MRT
Zoom. No
Suits: an IP student in Serangoon North, Punggol or Marine Parade who wants a small group and a set essay framework to work from.
May not suit: a family that wants the fee and lesson length in writing first, since neither is online.
The page lists comprehension techniques, summary, four essay types, current affairs and Application Question skills, and names 12 IP schools its students come from. The centre states that 95% of its IP4 students achieved distinctions for five years in a row, without saying which years.
Fees as published: Not published. Trial: choose 2 or 4 trial sessions, price not stated. The IP page gives 2 to 8 students a session while the FAQ gives a maximum of 6, so ask which applies.
Branches: Blk 540 Serangoon North Avenue 4 #B1-109. Blk 658 Punggol East #01-09. 1 Marine Parade Central, Parkway Centre. 170 Upper Bukit Timah Road #B1-31, Bukit Timah Shopping Centre. Online on Zoom. No MRT stations are named.
What do 4 trial sessions cost, and do they count towards the first month?
How many are in the Year 4 class at your branch?
Which years does the 95% distinction figure cover?
Learning Point
Its Excellence in English (IP) course is pitched as a six-year enrichment track that ends in A-Level General Paper, so the IP years are planned as GP groundwork from the start.
Hourly (our estimate)
Not published
Group size
2 to 8 on the IP page, max 6 in the FAQ
IP years
IP 1 to 4
Closest MRT
Not published
Suits: a family that wants one programme running from Year 1 through to the A-Level GP paper, at a branch near home.
May not suit: a parent who wants a named teacher, class size or fee before visiting, as the page gives none.
The page mentions critical reasoning on complex question types, literary and non-literary texts, and discussions linking local and global issues. The centre says it has taught for more than 20 years.
Fees as published: Not published, enquiry by WhatsApp. Instead of a trial lesson it offers a complimentary assessment of your child's strengths and gaps. Registration and deposit terms are not stated.
Branches: Thomson Plaza (Upper Thomson), Bukit Timah Plaza, Parkway Centre (Marine Parade), Oasis Terraces (Punggol) and Century Square (Tampines). No street addresses or MRT stations are given on the IP page.
Which branches run an IP class for my child's year in 2027?
How long is each lesson?
Can my child sit in on a lesson after the assessment?
The Learning Lab
A large chain with a separate IP English page for each of Sec 1, 2 and 3.
Hourly (our estimate)
S$83.39 to S$89.93
Group size
13
IP years
Sec 1 to 4 IP
Closest MRT
Not published
Suits: a Year 1 student at one of those three schools who wants a school-matched class in a mall near home.
May not suit: a student who needs close individual attention, since 13 is the largest group here, or a family on a budget, as it is the highest hourly cost on the list.
In Year 1 it offers classes matched to Hwa Chong, Nanyang Girls' and RGS. Year 2 adds feature articles, proposals and speeches, and Year 3 turns to judging what makes an argument sound, persuasive speaking and media analysis. Every class is 2 hours with 13 students.
Fees as published: IP students pay the same secondary rate as O-Level and IB students. A month of four weekday classes is S$667.08 and four weekend classes S$719.40 (S$166.77 to S$179.85 each), with GST already in. On joining you pay S$98.10 to register plus a S$150 deposit for each subject, refundable under the centre's terms. A term holds 12 to 14 lessons.
Branches: United Square and Serene Centre (Central). Marine Parade Central, Tampines Mall and Century Square (East). Seletar Mall and Woodleigh Mall (North-East). Rochester Mall, Choa Chu Kang Centre and Jem (West). MRT stations are not named.
Is there a Year 1 Nanyang Girls' class at your nearest branch?
Do the school-matched classes carry on into Year 2 and Year 3?
Does the S$179.85 weekend rate apply to Saturday mornings?
The Rationale Thinking
Mr Edwin Wong, who calls himself an English language specialist, teaches every IP English and GP class himself.
Hourly (our estimate)
S$83.39 to S$89.93
Group size
13
IP years
Sec 1 to 4 IP
Closest MRT
Not published
Suits: a student who wants one teacher and one method from Year 1 to the A-Level GP paper.
May not suit: a family that wants a choice of teachers or branches, since there is one teacher and one centre.
The IP course has a set plan for each year: personal recount and basic language skills in Year 1, summary and PEEL-style expository and argumentative essays in Year 2, passage analysis beyond PEEL in Year 3, and short-answer and summary formulas plus an introduction to governance and politics in Year 4. Separate Year 2 courses cover Literature for Hwa Chong and RI and Language Arts for Nanyang Girls'.
Fees as published: S$480 a month, S$120 a 2-hour lesson, billed as S$1,440 for a 12-lesson term, with in-house notes included. One trial lesson in IP English or GP is complimentary, but it is billed if your child then enrols. Registration and deposit are not mentioned.
Branch: 213 Upper Thomson Road #01-01. The site names no MRT station. 2027 slots so far include Year 1 on Sundays from 3 January 2027, and Year 4 on Sundays and Thursdays, with timings still being filled in.
Is the Year 4 politics and governance unit the start of GP content?
Will the 12-lesson term follow my child's school calendar?
Is the trial charged at S$120 if we join?
The Thought Tailor
Its IP Language Arts course runs a 4-week cycle across Paper 1 and Paper 2: a Self and Society mini-lecture, thinking frameworks, unseen literary devices, timed short-answer and summary drills, and JC-style Application Question tutorials.
Hourly (our estimate)
S$83.39 to S$89.93
Group size
13
IP years
Sec 1 to 4 IP
Closest MRT
Tan Kah Kee
Suits: a student who wants GP-style content and Application Question practice from Year 1, at a fee lower than most here.
May not suit: a student who can only learn online, because IP Language Arts slots are on site only.
The page promises 6 content lectures and at least 20 essay outlines a year, mock tests four times a year and weekly graded homework. Named teachers include former MOE GP lecturers from RI, Temasek JC and Catholic JC, and a former MOE English and Literature department coordinator who taught at Hwa Chong.
Fees as published: S$80 a 2-hour lesson for IP1 and IP2, S$90 for IP3 and IP4. A Financial Assistance Scheme waives up to 50% of fees for families who qualify. Registration, deposit, class size and trial terms are not published. Make-up classes must be taken within the same week.
Branches: IP Language Arts runs in all three. Bukit Timah is on the third floor of Coronation Plaza (#03-15), a short walk from Tan Kah Kee MRT Exit A, the Hwa Chong exit. Jurong East is at Vision Exchange #02-07, across the J-Walk bridge from the MRT. Novena is at Goldhill Plaza, unit 187A, about five minutes on foot from the station. IP3 and IP4 are timetabled in the same slots.
Are IP3 and IP4 students taught together in the shared slots?
Which teacher takes the Coronation Plaza Wednesday class?
How do the essay outlines match my child's school essay format?
Zenith Education Studio
The largest network here, with IP English for IP 1 to 4 in weekly 2-hour lessons.
Hourly (our estimate)
S$42.50 to S$45 before GST
Group size
Not published
IP years
IP 1 to 4
Closest MRT
Not published
Suits: an IP student who also takes IP Maths or Science at Zenith, since bundling subjects cuts the monthly fee.
May not suit: a parent who wants to know how many share the IP English class, a number the page leaves out.
The topic list runs from inference and summary to argumentative and expository writing, Application Question skills, and language and style analysis, and the page says the course is meant to lead straight into A-Level GP and Literature. Antonia Low is named as the Sec IP English teacher and also teaches JC General Paper.
Fees as published: IP 1 and 2 cost S$340 a month and IP 3 and 4 S$360, each for four weekly 2-hour classes and before GST. Pairing English with a second subject brings the month to S$600 (lower years) or S$640 (upper years). Zenith charges no registration or material fee but holds a one-month deposit per subject, returned in the last month when proper notice is given. A first class can be tried at no charge.
Branches: the IP English page lists 14 centres by area name only: Woodlands in the north, Kovan and Serangoon in the north-east, Paya Lebar and Tampines in the east, Bukit Panjang, Jurong East and Jurong Point in the west, and Bishan, Bukit Timah, Buona Vista, King Albert Park, Marymount and Potong Pasir in the centre. Check each branch page for the MRT.
At which branches does Antonia Low teach IP English?
Are IP students in a class of their own or mixed with Express students?
Does the Upper Sec fee also cover a Year 5 bridging class?
How IP English differs from O-Level and SEC English
MOE describes the Integrated Programme as a six-year course to the A-Level, the IB Diploma or the NUS High School Diploma, and says IP students "do not need to take" the Sec 4 national exam.
From 2027 that exam is the Singapore-Cambridge Secondary Education Certificate (SEC), which replaces the O-Level. MOE also says each IP school's programme "is unique and builds on its distinct strengths". For English, that means each IP school sets its own syllabus, its own papers and often its own name for the subject. ACS (Independent), for example, lists Language Arts as a compulsory Year 3 and 4 subject.
IP English (Year 1 to 4)
SEC English Language (Sec 1 to 4)
Who sets it
Each IP school
The national syllabus, examined by SEAB
Paper at the end of Year 4 or Sec 4
The school's own end-of-year exam
SEC English, written papers in September with oral and listening earlier
What is marked
Varies by school. Centre IP plans stress argument, discursive essays, close reading and the Application Question, and some add literature or poetry
Editing, situational writing, continuous writing, comprehension with summary, listening and oral
Past papers
Only the school's own
National papers, from the O-Level and now the SEC
What comes next
General Paper in Year 5 and 6 for A-Level schools, or IB English for IB schools
Essay and argument from Year 1. The centre plans above show the pattern. The Rationale Thinking moves to argumentative essays by Year 2, The Thought Tailor and Zenith teach the Application Question in the lower years, and Academia's Level 4 IP class centres on argument and critical response writing.
No SEC checkpoint means the school decides. Victoria School's rules, as one example:
Moving up from Year 2 or Year 3An English Language grade value of at least 2.5 and a GPA of 3.0
Year 4An English value of at least 2.0 with the same GPA of 3.0
The Year 4 end-of-year examWorth 70% of the year
Other schools publish their own rules, so read your child's school handbook.
If IP is not working out. Most IP schools also run SEC classes, and our IP or O-Level pathway guide explains a move. A student who switches would sit SEC English, so the gap to close is listening, oral and situational writing in the national format.
From IP English to General Paper in Year 5 and 6
For the 13 IP schools that lead to the A-Level, English becomes H1 General Paper, syllabus 8881, sat at the end of Year 6. Three IP schools (ACS Independent, Methodist Girls' and St. Joseph's) lead to the IB Diploma instead, where English is taught as an IB course. The full school list is in our IP schools guide.
GP paper (2027 syllabus)
What it asks
Marks
Time
Paper 1, Essay
One of 8 questions, 500 to 800 words, on society and culture, economics, politics, the arts and humanities, science and technology, or the environment
50 (content 30, language 20)
1 hour 30 minutes
Paper 2, Comprehension
Three passages of about 1,200 words in all, 8 or 9 questions: Passage 1 comprehension (9 to 11 marks), summary of Passage 2 (8), links across passages (4 to 6), Application Question (12)
50 (content 35, language 15)
1 hour 30 minutes
Each paper is 50% of the grade, and the two are sat at separate sittings. SEAB assesses critical and inventive thinking and communication. A paper-by-paper walk-through is in GP Paper 1 and Paper 2 explained.
Year 1 to 2ArgumentPlan a discursive essay with a clear stand, balanced points and examples you can defend.
Year 2 to 3Summary and inferencePick out points from a passage and rewrite them in your own words to a word limit.
Year 3 to 4Application QuestionWeigh a writer's views against your own society, the task GP marks out of 12.
Year 3 to 4ContentBuild examples on politics, science, the arts and the environment for the Paper 1 essay.
GP centres for Year 5 and 6 are compared in our GP tuition centres guide. Six centres on this page (Creative Campus, Learning Journey, Learning Point, The Rationale Thinking, The Thought Tailor and Zenith) also teach GP.
Centre, home tutor or online?
The lowest IP English hours here are at The Thought Tailor and Zenith. A private tutor costs more at the top of our card but works only on your child's school tasks.
Point
IP English centre class
Private IP English tutor
Year 1 and 2 rate
S$40 at The Thought Tailor, S$42.50 at Zenith before GST, up to S$89.93 at The Learning Lab
S$30 to S$45 (part-time), S$45 to S$60 (full-time), S$60 to S$85 (ex-MOE or MOE) an hour
Year 3 and 4 rate
S$45 to S$89.93 an hour at the six centres we could cost
S$35 to S$45 (part-time), S$45 to S$65 (full-time), S$65 to S$95 (ex-MOE or MOE) an hour
Year 5 and 6 GP
GP classes at six of these centres
S$45 to S$60, S$65 to S$90 or S$90 to S$130 an hour
Group
2 to 13, by centre
One student
School match
Strongest where classes are grouped by school
Your child's own scripts and rubrics every week
Best for
A student who wants steady essay practice with peers
A student stuck on one task, or at a school no centre groups for
A worked example for a Year 3 student over 40 school weeks. Weekly 2-hour lessons at Zenith's Upper Sec rate of S$90 come to S$3,600 before GST and the S$360 deposit. A full-time home tutor from our card at S$45 to S$65 an hour, for 40 weekly 90-minute visits, comes to S$2,700 to S$3,900. Some families keep a centre class and book a few home lessons before the Year 4 end-of-year exam.
IP English centres by area
Region
Centres
North
Zenith (Woodlands)
North-East
Learning Journey (Serangoon North, Punggol), Learning Point (Oasis Terraces, Punggol), The Learning Lab (Seletar Mall, Woodleigh Mall), Zenith (Kovan, Serangoon)
East
Creative Campus (Parkway Parade), Learning Journey (Parkway Centre), Learning Point (Parkway Centre, Century Square), The Learning Lab (Marine Parade, Tampines Mall, Century Square), Zenith (Paya Lebar, Tampines)
West
The Thought Tailor (Jurong East), The Learning Lab (Jem, Choa Chu Kang, Rochester), Zenith (Bukit Panjang, Jurong East, Jurong Point)
Central
The Rationale Thinking (Upper Thomson), Academia (Sin Ming, Bukit Timah), Hess Academy (Upper Thomson, Beauty World), Learning Point (Thomson Plaza, Bukit Timah Plaza), Future Academy (Bugis, Bukit Timah, Braddell), The Thought Tailor (Novena, Bukit Timah), Creative Campus (Orchard), Learning Journey (Bukit Timah), The Learning Lab (United Square, Serene Centre), Zenith (Bishan, Bukit Timah, Buona Vista, King Albert Park, Marymount, Potong Pasir)
Online
Academia, Creative Campus (Zoom), Future Academy (ClassIn), Learning Journey (Zoom)
How to choose an IP English centre
1Bring the school's papersTake your child's last two marked English scripts and the school's rubric to every enquiry.
2Ask how classes are groupedBy school, by IP year, or mixed with Express students. A school match matters most for Language Arts and Literature-heavy courses.
3Check the GP threadAsk when the Application Question and content lectures start, and whether the centre carries on into Year 5.
4Price the hourTurn each fee into a cost per hour, then add GST, deposit and registration.
5Try a lessonTrials range from no charge at Zenith to a paid package at Academia and Creative Campus.
6Review after one school testIf the next essay mark has not moved, ask for a plan or try another option.
IP English trial checklist
How many classmates come from my child's school?
Will the teacher mark my child's essay against the school's rubric?
When does the Application Question first appear?
Are set texts or unseen poetry covered for schools that test them?
How many students are in this slot?
Is a missed lesson replaced, recorded or charged?
What notice ends enrolment, and is the deposit returned?
Common questions
How much does IP English tuition cost at a centre?
Among the six centres whose fees turn into an hourly cost, a group IP English class runs from S$40 an hour at The Thought Tailor (IP1 and IP2) to S$89.93 at The Learning Lab. Zenith sits at S$42.50 to S$45 before GST, and The Rationale Thinking at S$60.
Is IP English harder than O-Level or SEC English?
It is different rather than simply harder. IP schools set their own papers and lean on argument, close reading and the Application Question, while SEC English also tests editing, situational writing, listening and oral in a fixed national format.
Do IP students take the O-Level or SEC English exam?
No. MOE says IP students do not need to sit the SEC in Sec 4, so the school's own Year 4 exam decides promotion. Their first national English paper is A-Level General Paper at the end of Year 6, or IB English at the IB schools.
Which IP English centres group students by school?
The Learning Lab runs Year 1 classes matched to Hwa Chong, Nanyang Girls' and RGS. Academia lists an RGS-focused Year 3 and 4 class, Future Academy groups by school and pace, and The Rationale Thinking has Year 2 courses for Hwa Chong, RI and Nanyang Girls'.
What is IP Language Arts?
It is the name some IP schools give their English subject, mixing language skills with literary study. ACS (Independent) lists Language Arts as compulsory in Years 3 and 4, and The Thought Tailor and Hess Academy both teach it.
When should IP English tuition start?
A common point is after the first marked essay of Year 1 or Year 3, when the jump in what the school expects shows. Year 3 is when several centres bring in the Application Question that GP marks out of 12.
What happens if my child does poorly in Year 4 IP English?
Promotion rules belong to each school. At Victoria School a Year 4 student needs an English Language grade value of at least 2.0 and a GPA of 3.0, so English alone can hold a student back.
Does IP English tuition help with GP later?
It can, if the class teaches argued essays, summary and the Application Question. Six centres here also run GP, so a student can stay with the same teachers into Year 5.
Is a private tutor better than a centre for IP English?
A tutor can mark against your child's own school rubric, which no centre can do for 17 different schools. A centre is usually cheaper per hour and gives timed essay practice alongside other students.
Written by Theon Teo, Founder and Mathematics Tutor, The Singapore Syllabus. DigiPen Institute of Technology Singapore, Game Development & Computer Science · 3 years' Mathematics teaching (Primary & Secondary). More about Theon
For 2027. Free to ask.
IP English home tutor for 2027
Tell us about your child in the IP in 2027. 3 to 12 tutor profiles on WhatsApp within 16 hours, and you choose.
No contract and no minimum number of lessons. The first lesson is a paid trial at the tutor's rate. Rated 4.9 on Google.