Best IP Science Tuition Centres in Singapore (2027): 11 Compared
Written and reviewed by Theon Teo, Founder · editorial policy
Eleven centres that teach Integrated Programme science from Year 1 general science to Year 3 and 4 Chemistry, Physics and Biology, with fees turned into an hourly cost, practical lab access, branches and MRT, trial questions, and how each IP school sets its own science course before the Year 5 H2 choice.
- IP Physics on a budgetKungfu PhysicsS$340 to S$360 for four 2-hour lessons in Bishan, with one teacher, Mr Gabriel Tan, taking every class.
- Practicals for H2 Paper 4Eclat InstituteIP theory in Jurong East with a separate science lab at Henderson Road.
- Lab open dailySingapore LearnerA lab in Bukit Batok and groups of 2 to 4.
- Grouped by IP schoolFuture AcademyScience, Chemistry, Physics and Biology, with classes sorted by school.
- East and northIngel Soong and ThinkscienceIngel Soong teaches IP Chemistry and Physics in Tampines. Thinkscience caps its Year 1 to 4 science classes at 5.
Eight of the 11 centres also head other IP science lists. The table is alphabetical, and no centre paid to be listed here.
The 11 IP science tuition centres compared
| Centre | Best for | Branches (area) | IP science levels | Class size | Fees as published | Our per-hour estimate | Trial | Google rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axiom Education | Year 3 and 4 Chemistry or Physics near Holland Village | Lorong Mambong, Holland Village (Central) | Year 1 and 2 Science (1-to-1 only), Year 3 and 4 Chemistry and Physics | Not published | Group S$65 an hour (four 2-hour lessons a month). 1-to-1 S$120 an hour, or S$90 to S$112 in packages | S$65 (group) | 1-to-1 trial at S$90 an hour. Group trial terms unclear | Not shown |
| Eclat Institute | Lab practicals alongside theory | Jurong East (West), Henderson lab (Central), Orchard physics venue | IP Lower Sec Science, IP Upper Sec Physics, Chemistry, Biology | Max 8 | S$360, S$380 or S$400 a month by start month, four 90-minute lessons | S$60 to S$66.67 | Not published | 4.8 from 13 reviewers (Henderson lab), on its own site |
| Future Academy | Grouped by IP school, all four sciences | Bugis, Bukit Timah, Braddell (Central), online | Sec 1 to 4 IP Science, Physics, Chemistry, Biology | Max 6 | S$528 for four 2-hour lessons, S$1,584 for a 13-lesson term. S$20 registration, S$150 deposit | S$60.92 to S$66 | Not mentioned | Not shown |
| Happy Tutors | Small groups in the west | Jurong West, Bukit Batok, Bukit Gombak (West), Bedok Reservoir, Tampines (East), Tiong Bahru (Central) | O-Level and IP Biology, Chemistry, Physics | Max 6 | Not published | Not possible | Not published | 4.9 from 91 reviewers, on its own site |
| Indigo Education Group | Lower Sec IP Science on school tracks | 6 centres: Newton, Bukit Timah, United Square (Central), Jurong Summit (West), Parkway Parade, Tampines (East) | Lower Sec IP Science, Upper Sec IP Chemistry and Physics | 4 to 6 (Science), 6 to 8 (Chemistry) | Not published. S$75 registration, S$100 deposit | Not possible | At no charge | Not shown |
| Ingel Soong | IP Chemistry and Physics in the east | Tampines Street 41 (East) | Sec 3 and Sec 4 IP Chemistry and Physics | Not published | S$560 a month for four 2-hour lessons. No registration, deposit or material fee | S$70 | Not published | Not shown |
| Kungfu Physics | Lowest published IP Physics hour | Bishan Street 11 (Central) | Sec 3 and Sec 4 IP Physics | Small, number not published | S$340 (Sec 3) or S$360 (Sec 4) for four 2-hour lessons. S$50 registration, S$100 deposit | S$42.50 to S$45 | Trial class offered, price not published | 4.9 from 392 reviewers, on its own site |
| Overmugged | School-specific IP courses and named tutors | 7 centres: Tan Kah Kee, Novena, Bishan (Central), Kovan (North-East), Jurong East (West), Marine Parade, Tampines (East) | IP Lower Sec Science, IP Chemistry, Physics, Biology | 4 to 12 | IP 1 and 2: S$85 a lesson (weekday), S$90 (weekend). IP 3 and 4: S$95 or S$100 | Not possible (length not on the IP page) | Trial class offered, price not published | Not shown |
| Singapore Learner | Practicals and tiny groups in the west | Bukit Batok Central (West) | Year 1 to 4 Science, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, plus IP practicals | 1-to-1, or groups of 2 to 4 | 1-to-1 S$90 an hour. Own group S$60 an hour per student. Self-study session S$45 an hour | S$60 (group) | Not mentioned | Not shown |
| SmartLab Education Centre | A long-running science centre near home | Bishan (Central), Kovan (North-East), Marine Parade (East), Woodlands (North) | IP Chemistry named on its Chemistry page | Max 6 | Not published | Not possible | Not published | Rated Excellent from 254 reviewers, on its own site |
| Thinkscience | Groups of 5 for Year 1 to 4 science | Upper Thomson Road (Central, near the north) | Sec 1 to 4 IP Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics in one class) | Max 5 | Not published | Not possible | A starter lesson, price not published | Not shown |
For each science class we took the fee and split it over the hours of teaching it buys. GST, deposits and joining fees are left out.
Our own service: a private IP science tutor
This box is The Singapore Syllabus's own offer, set apart from the 11 centres and not ranked with them.
| Level | Part-time | Full-time | Ex-MOE or MOE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Year 1 and 2 science | S$30 to S$45 | S$45 to S$60 | S$60 to S$85 |
| Year 3 and 4 Chemistry, Physics or Biology | S$35 to S$45 | S$45 to S$65 | S$65 to S$95 |
| Years 5 and 6 (H2 sciences) | S$45 to S$60 | S$65 to S$90 | S$90 to S$130 |
More on our IP tuition page, H2 Chemistry tuition and rates.
How we chose these centres
IP science lists often name chains that put "IP" beside every subject. We kept a centre only if its own site showed the following.
- IP science by nameA class, course or tutor listed for IP Science, IP Chemistry, IP Physics or IP Biology, or IP students named under the science subjects.
- At least one hard factA fee, class size, lesson length, named science teacher or 2027 timetable.
- A current addressA branch you can visit, or a live online class.
- A spreadEvery region, groups from 2 to 12, lab access at three centres, and hourly rates from S$42.50 to S$70.
Two names that appear on other IP science lists are left out. One chain's science page describes Sec 1 to 4 Science with no mention of the IP, and another already sits in our IP tuition centres guide for several subjects. Only Overmugged names courses for single schools, and only Eclat and Singapore Learner describe lab sessions for IP students.
The 11 centres in detail
Axiom Education
A Holland Village centre whose home page leads with IB Diploma results, and which also runs IP science.
- Per-hour estimate (group)
- S$65
- Class size
- Not published
- Levels
- Year 1 to 4
- Nearest MRT
- Holland Village
- Suits: a Year 3 or 4 student at ACS (Independent) or a nearby school who wants a weekly Chemistry or Physics group in the west of town.
- May not suit: a Year 1 or 2 student who wants a group class, or an IP Biology student, as no IP Biology group is listed.
Year 1 and 2 IP Science covers Biology, Chemistry and Physics, but only one-to-one. IP Chemistry and IP Physics for Years 3 and 4 run as 2-hour groups, each lesson ending with half an hour of exam-style questions. The 2027 group term runs from 4 January to 30 May, with separate Year 3 and Year 4 timetables. Named IP Chemistry tutors are Fushia Virtucio and Chloe Yee. IP Physics lists Amir Rahman (NUS Physics), Gabriel Sidik and Chloe Yee.
Fees as published: Group lessons are S$65 an hour, so a month of four 2-hour lessons comes to S$520 (the page prints this figure oddly, so confirm it). One-to-one is S$120 an hour, or S$1,120 for 10 hours, S$2,500 for 25 and S$4,500 for 50. The pricing page offers a one-to-one trial at S$90 an hour but elsewhere says the trial class is free, so ask which applies. Registration and deposit are not mentioned.
Branch: 38 Lorong Mambong. The site names no MRT, but Holland Village MRT on the Circle Line is the closest.
Website: axiomeducation.com
Ask at the trial:
- Is the group trial free or charged at S$90?
- How many Year 3 students are in the IP Chemistry group?
- Which tutor takes IP Physics on your child's day?
Eclat Institute
The only centre here that splits theory and practical work across separate sites.
- Per-hour estimate
- S$60 to S$66.67
- Class size
- Max 8
- Levels
- IP Lower and Upper Sec
- Nearest MRT
- Jurong East
- Suits: a Year 3 or 4 student whose school practical tests are the weak spot, or one preparing early for the H2 Paper 4.
- May not suit: a family that wants 2-hour lessons, since theory classes run 90 minutes.
IP Lower Sec Science and IP Upper Sec Physics, Chemistry and Biology are taught in groups of up to 8 at Vision Exchange in Jurong East. Practicals run in a lab at Henderson Road, with a physics-only venue in Orchard. Its IP Chemistry page names titration habits, qualitative analysis tables and observation wording for Year 3, and H2-style calculations and practical work for Year 4.
Fees as published: S$360 a month for students starting October to February, S$380 for March to June and S$400 for July to September, each for four 90-minute lessons. Continuing students pay S$360 in the following year. New-student fees change on 1 March 2027. Holiday practicals cost S$240 to S$400 per student for 4 hours at O-Level standard. Missed lessons are refunded only with 48 hours' notice. Registration, deposit and trial terms are not stated.
Branches: 2 Venture Drive #16-07 Vision Exchange (theory), a short walk from Jurong East MRT. Lab at 221 Henderson Road #05-09. Physics practicals at 150 Orchard Road.
Website: eclatinstitute.sg
Ask at the trial:
- Are Henderson lab sessions part of the monthly fee or paid separately?
- Is there a separate IP Biology class, or is it shared with Sec 3 and 4?
- Will joining in January lock in the S$360 rate?
Future Academy
All four IP sciences under one roof, with students grouped by school where numbers allow.
- Per-hour estimate
- S$60.92 to S$66
- Class size
- Max 6
- Levels
- Sec 1 to 4 IP
- Nearest MRT
- Braddell
- Suits: a student taking two or three sciences who wants one centre, one bill and a group from the same school.
- May not suit: a family that wants to try a class before paying, since no trial is mentioned and the smallest block is four lessons.
The page names RGS, Hwa Chong, RI, Nanyang Girls', ACS (Independent), SJI, MGS, NJC, VJC and Dunman High. The ratio is at most one teacher to six students, and lessons can be on site, online through ClassIn, or a mix. Ms Yvonne Chen is named for IP Physics.
Fees as published: S$528 for four 2-hour lessons, or S$1,584 for a 13-lesson term that includes one lesson at no extra cost. A second subject is 5% off and a third 10% off. Registration is S$20 once, plus a S$150 refundable deposit. One month's notice to stop. No material fees.
Branches: Near Braddell MRT, a short walk away, is the OnePeople.sg centre at 381 Lorong 1 Toa Payoh. Beauty World MRT is about 3 minutes from the Bukit Timah Shopping Centre unit (#10-02). Rochor MRT serves Burlington Square on Bencoolen Street (#06-05).
Website: futureacademy.sg
Ask at the trial:
- Is there an IP Biology group for my child's school this year?
- Who teaches IP Chemistry, since only a Physics teacher is named?
- Does the 4-lesson block work as a trial?
Happy Tutors
Six neighbourhood branches and groups of no more than six.
- Per-hour estimate
- Not published
- Class size
- Max 6
- Levels
- O-Level and IP
- Suits: a River Valley or Cedar student living in Jurong West, Bukit Batok or Bedok who wants a small science group close to home.
- May not suit: a family that wants an IP-only science class, since the page does not say whether IP and O-Level students are taught apart.
Its secondary page lists Biology, Chemistry and Physics under "O Level and IP" subjects and names IP students from River Valley, Cedar Girls', Nanyang Girls' and NJC. Classes also run online.
Fees as published: Not published. Trial, registration and deposit terms are not stated either.
Branches: 519 Jurong West Street 52. 134 Bukit Batok West Avenue 6. 523 Bukit Batok Street 52 (Bukit Gombak). 609 Bedok Reservoir Road. 872C Tampines Street 86. 4 Jalan Bukit Ho Swee (Tiong Bahru). No MRT stations are named.
Website: happytutors.edu.sg
Ask at the trial:
- Does the IP Chemistry student sit with SEC Pure Chemistry students?
- Which branch runs Year 3 IP science on weekdays?
- Does the tutor know the River Valley or Cedar science order?
Indigo Education Group
Lower Sec IP Science runs on school-specific tracks, taught by concept rather than chapter, in groups of four to six.
- Per-hour estimate
- Not published
- Class size (by subject)
- 4 to 8
- Levels
- Lower and Upper Sec IP
- Suits: a Year 1 or 2 student whose school runs integrated science in its own order.
- May not suit: a Year 3 or 4 Biology student, as IP Biology is not listed.
Its Year 2 topic list already reaches chemical bonding, acids and alkalis and electricity. Upper Sec IP Chemistry (6 to 8 per teacher) and IP Physics are offered too. Mr See Kah Siong, Dean of Science, is the named teacher, with more than 10 years of IP science teaching.
Fees as published: Course fees are not published. The IP science pages state a S$75 registration fee and a S$100 one-time deposit, both non-refundable, with GST added. The main IP page gives S$50 for registration, so confirm. A trial lesson is offered at no charge.
Branches: Six, three of them in the centre: Balmoral Plaza in Newton, the Bukit Timah Shopping Centre and the United Square office tower on Thomson Road. Eastern families can use Parkway Parade or Tampines Plaza 1, and the west has Jurong Summit on Jurong Town Hall Road. The site does not name MRT stations.
Website: indigo.com.sg
Ask at the trial:
- Which school track would my child join?
- Is the registration fee S$50 or S$75?
- Does Mr See teach at the branch we would use?
Ingel Soong
A one-teacher centre in Tampines where Mr Ingel Soong takes every lesson in IP and O-Level Chemistry, Physics and Maths.
- Per-hour estimate
- S$70
- Class size
- Not published
- Levels
- Sec 3 and 4 IP
- Suits: a Year 3 or 4 student in the east who takes both Chemistry and Physics and wants the same teacher for both.
- May not suit: a Biology student, or a family wanting a big centre with many time slots.
Testimonials name students from Dunman High, NJC, RI and Victoria. Private lessons are also offered.
Fees as published: S$560 a month per subject for a group, or S$960 a month for private lessons, both four 2-hour lessons. The page states there are no registration, deposit or material fees. Class size and trial terms are not stated.
Branch: Tampines only, at Blk 432 Tampines St 41, which the site places closest to Tampines East station.
Website: ingelsoong.com
Ask at the trial:
- How many students are in the Sec 3 IP Chemistry group?
- Are IP and O-Level students in the same class?
- Is there a discount for taking Chemistry and Physics together?
Kungfu Physics
IP Physics taught personally by Mr Gabriel Tan, a former Raffles JC physics lecturer and former head of department at Catholic High.
- Per-hour estimate
- S$42.50 to S$45
- Class size
- Small
- Levels
- Sec 3 and 4 IP Physics
- Suits: a Year 3 or 4 IP Physics student who wants one experienced teacher and a clear monthly fee.
- May not suit: a student needing Chemistry or Biology too, as Physics is the only subject.
The IP page covers measurement and data, forces and energy, waves, thermal physics and electricity. The 2026 timetable shows Sec 3 on Tuesday 4pm and Saturday 9am, and Sec 4 on Thursday 5.15pm and Saturday 11.15am. Among its Sec 3 scores, the centre states that a Catholic High IP student reached 85%.
Fees as published: S$340 for four 2-hour lessons in Sec 3 IP Physics and S$360 in Sec 4, plus S$50 registration and a S$100 refundable deposit.
Branch: One classroom, at Blk 503 Bishan St 11 (unit 01-456), described as one minute on foot from Bishan station and near RI.
Website: kungfuphysics.com
Ask at the trial:
- Are the 2027 slots the same days as 2026?
- How many are in the Saturday Sec 3 class?
- Does Mr Tan follow my child's school order or his own?
Overmugged
The most detailed IP science menu on this list, with named tutors per subject and some courses built for single schools: IP Lower Sec Science (general and Nanyang Girls'), IP Physics for RGS and for Nanyang Girls', IP Chemistry and IP Biology.
- Per-hour estimate
- Not published
- Class size
- 4 to 12
- Levels
- IP 1 to 4
- Nearest MRT
- Tan Kah Kee
- Suits: a Nanyang Girls' or RGS student who wants a class written for her school's science order.
- May not suit: a family that wants a fixed group size, since classes range from 4 to 12.
Each runs over four terms. Tutors listed include Felicia Er, Claire Cai, Abigail Tan, Pamela Low, Jason Phang and Glendon Phua.
Fees as published: IP 1 and 2 cost S$85 a lesson on weekdays and S$90 at weekends. IP 3 and 4 cost S$95 and S$100. The IP page does not give lesson length, so we cannot work out an hourly rate. Registration and deposit are not stated, and a trial class can be booked.
Branches: 617A Bukit Timah Road (Tan Kah Kee MRT). 1011 Upper Serangoon Road, The Old House (Kovan MRT). 185A Thomson Road, Goldhill Shopping Centre (Novena MRT). 121 Bishan Street 12 (Bishan MRT). 21 Jurong Gateway, CPF Jurong Building (Jurong East MRT). Parkway Centre, 1 Marine Parade Central (Marine Parade MRT). CPF Tampines Building, 1 Tampines Central 5 (Tampines MRT).
Website: overmugged.com
Ask at the trial:
- How long is each IP 3 lesson?
- Which branches run the RGS or Nanyang Girls' courses?
- Which tutor takes IP Biology at your branch?
Singapore Learner
A Bukit Batok centre with its own science lab, open 9am to 9pm daily, for IP Physics, Chemistry and Biology practicals booked ad hoc.
- Per-hour estimate (group)
- S$60
- Class size
- 1 to 4
- Levels
- Year 1 to 4
- Nearest MRT
- Bukit Batok
- Suits: a student who needs hands-on practice before a school practical test, or two friends who want a shared tutor.
- May not suit: a family wanting a fixed weekly class with other students already in it.
Coaching for Year 1 to 4 science is one-to-one or in a group you form yourself of 2 to 4. Teachers include Mr Ilyas (Raffles Institution alumnus, NIE trained, more than 10 years of IP coaching) and Ms Tang (IP and O-Level sciences since 2009). Students named come from NJC, TJC, Victoria, RI, RGS, Hwa Chong, Nanyang Girls', River Valley and Dunman High.
Fees as published: One-to-one S$90 an hour. Own group S$60 an hour per student. Supervised self-study S$45 an hour. Practical fees are not listed, though current students are offered reduced rates. Trial terms are not stated.
Branch: Blk 644 Bukit Batok Central #01-68, by appointment. The site names no MRT, and Bukit Batok MRT is the nearest.
Website: singaporelearner.com
Ask at the trial:
- What does one IP Chemistry practical session cost outside the holiday period?
- Does Mr Ilyas take Year 3 Biology too?
- Can a group of two keep a weekly slot?
SmartLab Education Centre
A science centre running since 1999, with groups of up to six and a lab for O-Level and A-Level practicals.
- Per-hour estimate
- Not published
- Class size
- Max 6
- Levels named
- IP Chemistry
- Nearest MRT
- Kovan
- Suits: a family in Bishan, Kovan, Marine Parade or Woodlands who wants IP Chemistry at a long-running local centre.
- May not suit: a family that wants IP Physics or Biology spelt out, or a published fee, as neither is on the site.
Its Chemistry page has an IP section saying the order and depth of IP Chemistry "can vary by school", and aims at deeper understanding rather than test drilling.
Fees as published: Not published. Lesson length, trial and registration are not stated.
Branches: Blk 228 Bishan Street 23 (registration, opposite Catholic High), plus classrooms at Blk 243 and Blk 250 Bishan Street 22. Blk 204 Hougang Street 21, beside Kovan MRT. Parkway Centre, 1 Marine Parade Central, Marine Parade MRT exit 1. Blk 818 Woodlands Street 82.
Website: smartlab.com.sg
Ask at the trial:
- Is there a class only for IP students?
- Can IP students use the lab before school practical tests?
- What is the monthly fee for Year 3 Chemistry?
Thinkscience
Classes of at most five, 2 hours a week, for Sec 1 to 4 IP science, with Biology, Chemistry and Physics taught within one class.
- Per-hour estimate
- Not published
- Class size
- Max 5
- Levels
- Sec 1 to 4 IP
- Nearest MRT
- Upper Thomson
- Suits: a Year 1 or 2 student in an integrated science course, or a Year 3 student who wants all sciences covered together near Thomson.
- May not suit: a Year 4 student who needs a single science taught in depth.
The 2027 timetable lists two slots per level. Most are labelled for both IP and SEC G3 students, apart from a Sec 3 class marked IP only, on Sunday at 11am. Lessons stress hypothesising, evaluating and data-based answers.
Fees as published: Not published. A starter lesson can be booked by WhatsApp, price not stated.
Branch: 215G Upper Thomson Road, second floor, about 5 minutes from Upper Thomson MRT exit 4, or 10 minutes from Marymount MRT.
Website: thinkscience.sg
Ask at the trial:
- Is the Wednesday Sec 1 class mostly IP or G3 students?
- How are Year 3 students taking two sciences taught in one class?
- What is the monthly fee?
How IP science runs, school by school
Each IP school sets its own science syllabus. MOE says every IP school's programme "is unique", and that compulsory subjects "vary across schools". IP students skip the Sec 4 national exam, which from 2027 is the Singapore-Cambridge Secondary Education Certificate (SEC). So no outside exam fixes what is taught when, and a centre class can only match your child's school if it groups by school or works from school notes.
- Years 1 and 2One science subjectAt Raffles Institution, Science is taught as an integrated subject covering Biology, Chemistry and Physics. Other IP schools use their own versions.
- End of Year 2Choosing sciencesSchools ask students to pick which sciences they will take in Years 3 and 4.
- Years 3 and 4Separate sciencesACS (Independent) makes one science compulsory, with Physics, Chemistry and Biology as options.
- Year 4School exam, not nationalAt Victoria School the Year 4 end-of-year exam counts for 70% of the year's result.
- Years 5 and 6H2 or IB sciencesThe A-Level sciences assume O-Level knowledge of the subject. ACS (Independent) moves into the IB Diploma.
Often ahead of the SEC order. Because each school writes its own scheme, some move faster. Indigo's Year 2 topic list already includes chemical bonding and acids, and Eclat's Year 4 Chemistry class is built around H2-style calculations. Ask your child's teacher for the term's topic list before choosing a class.
Year 3 and 4 split into separate sciences. Raffles Institution says Year 3 and 4 students choose "the specific science(s)" they will study. ACS (Independent) has students take 8 subjects in those years, one of them a compulsory science, with Physics, Chemistry and Biology among the options. Computer Studies does not count as the science for promotion there.
Science counts towards promotion. At Victoria School, the IP grade point average for every year includes one Mathematics and one Science. Years 2 to 4 need a GPA of 3.0 or better, and IP students need 3.2 to take four H2 subjects at Victoria JC.
Practical work matters from Year 3. School science courses include lab work, and at A-Level the practical becomes its own paper. In SEAB's 2027 H2 Chemistry, Physics and Biology syllabuses, Paper 4 is a 2 hour 30 minute practical worth 50 marks and 20% of the grade, with 4% for planning and 16% for handling apparatus, recording data and drawing conclusions.
| IP science, Years 1 to 4 | SEC track science, Sec 1 to 4 | |
|---|---|---|
| Who sets the course | Each IP school | The national syllabus, examined by SEAB |
| End of Sec 4 or Year 4 | School exam, no national paper | SEC Pure Sciences or Science |
| Year 3 science choice | School-set combinations | Pure or combined sciences under national syllabuses |
| Practical work | School lab tests, different by school | Assessed within the national papers |
| Leads to | Year 5 at the same school or a partner JC | JC, polytechnic or other routes |
The Year 5 to 6 H2 subject choice
SEAB's 2027 syllabuses state the starting point for each A-Level science. H2 Chemistry (9476) and H2 Physics (9478) assume O-Level knowledge of the subject, as a single science or as part of a balanced science course. H2 Biology (9477) assumes O-Level Biology in the same way.
Raffles Institution applies this directly. Students who want H2 Biology, Chemistry or Physics "should have knowledge of the O-level curriculum" of that science, and those without it "will have difficulty keeping pace". An IP student who drops Biology after Year 2 may therefore find H2 Biology closed or very hard in Year 5. Check your school's own rules before the Year 2 choice.
JC-level centres are compared in our guides to H2 Chemistry and Chemistry tuition centres.
If IP is not working out
MOE told Parliament that about 200 students, roughly 5% of each IP cohort, left before finishing Year 4. Most moved to the O-Level track, usually before the end of Year 3, and receiving schools provide academic bridging. A student who moves then sits the SEC, so the gap to check is any part of the national science syllabus the IP school taught later or skipped. Our IP or O-Level guide covers that switch.
Centre, home tutor or online?
The lowest published IP science hours are at Kungfu Physics (S$42.50 to S$45). A private tutor can cost less or more depending on experience, and spends every minute on your child's school.
| Point | IP science centre class | Private IP science tutor |
|---|---|---|
| Year 1 and 2 | Indigo, Thinkscience and Overmugged (S$85 a lesson) run Year 1 and 2 classes. Axiom teaches Year 1 and 2 one-to-one at S$120 an hour | S$30 to S$45 (part-time), S$45 to S$60 (full-time), S$60 to S$85 (ex-MOE or MOE) an hour |
| Year 3 and 4 | S$42.50 to S$70 an hour at the six centres with enough fee detail | S$35 to S$45, S$45 to S$65 or S$65 to S$95 an hour |
| Practical work | Lab sessions at Eclat and Singapore Learner | Only at home or online, so no lab |
| Group size | 2 to 12 by centre | One student |
| Syllabus match | Best where the centre groups by school | Your child's own school notes |
| Best for | A student keeping up who wants weekly practice and lab access | A student behind in one science, or at a school no centre groups for |
- A worked example for a Year 3 student taking Chemistry and Physics.
- Kungfu Physics (S$340 a month) and Ingel Soong for Chemistry (S$560) add up to S$900 a month for 16 hours, plus S$150 in one-off fees at Kungfu.
- At Future Academy both subjects come to S$528 plus S$501.60 after the 5% second-subject discount, or S$1,029.60 a month, plus S$170 at the start.
- A full-time home tutor from our card for the same 16 hours costs S$720 to S$1,040 a month.
IP science centres by area
| Region | Centres |
|---|---|
| North | SmartLab (Woodlands), Thinkscience (Upper Thomson, closest to the north) |
| North-East | Overmugged (Kovan), SmartLab (Kovan) |
| East | Ingel Soong (Tampines), Indigo (Parkway Parade, Tampines Plaza), Overmugged (Marine Parade, Tampines), SmartLab (Marine Parade), Happy Tutors (Bedok Reservoir, Tampines) |
| West | Eclat (Jurong East), Singapore Learner (Bukit Batok), Happy Tutors (Jurong West, Bukit Batok, Bukit Gombak), Indigo (Jurong Summit), Overmugged (Jurong East) |
| Central | Kungfu Physics (Bishan), Axiom (Holland Village), Future Academy (Bugis, Bukit Timah, Braddell), Overmugged (Tan Kah Kee, Novena, Bishan), Indigo (Newton, Bukit Timah, United Square), SmartLab (Bishan), Eclat (Henderson lab, Orchard), Happy Tutors (Tiong Bahru) |
| Online | Future Academy, Overmugged, Happy Tutors |
How to choose an IP science centre
- Get the school's topic listBring this term's science scheme and the last test paper to every enquiry.
- Match the scienceYear 1 and 2 need an integrated science class. Year 3 and 4 need the exact science, and IP Biology is the hardest to find.
- Ask about groupingBy school, by IP year, or mixed with SEC students.
- Ask about practicalsWho teaches lab skills, and whether lab sessions cost extra.
- Price the hourTurn each fee into an hourly figure, then add registration, deposit and GST.
- Think ahead to Year 5Make sure the sciences your child keeps leave the H2 or IB subjects they want open.
IP science trial checklist
- Is my child the only student from their school in this class?
- Which chapters is the class on this month, and does that match school?
- How does the teacher handle data-based and experiment-planning questions?
- Is any lab or practical work included?
- How many students are in this slot today?
- What happens to a missed lesson?
- What notice is needed to stop, and is the deposit returned?
Common questions
How much does IP science tuition cost at a centre?
Among the six centres whose fees can be turned into an hourly rate, a group IP science class costs S$42.50 to S$70 an hour. Kungfu Physics is lowest and Ingel Soong highest, before registration and deposit.
Which centres teach IP Biology?
Future Academy, Overmugged, Eclat Institute and Singapore Learner list IP Biology, and Happy Tutors lists Biology for IP students. Indigo and Axiom list only Chemistry and Physics at Year 3 and 4.
Is there tuition for Year 1 and 2 IP Science?
Yes. Indigo, Overmugged, Eclat, Thinkscience, Future Academy and Singapore Learner run lower secondary IP science, and Axiom teaches it one-to-one. These classes cover Biology, Chemistry and Physics together, as most IP schools do in those years.
Do IP students need tuition for practicals?
Not always, but practical work counts in school tests and becomes a 20% paper in H2 sciences. Eclat and Singapore Learner run lab sessions, and Eclat links its Year 3 Chemistry practicals to titration and qualitative analysis.
Is IP science harder than SEC science?
Each IP school sets its own pace, and some centre topic lists put chemical bonding in Year 2. The main difference is that no national exam checks the work at the end of Year 4.
Which science should my child choose for Year 3?
Keep the sciences your child may want at H2. Raffles Institution expects O-Level knowledge of a science before a student takes it at H2, so dropping Biology or Physics in Year 3 can close it later.
Can my child take H2 Biology without IP Biology?
SEAB's H2 Biology syllabus assumes O-Level Biology knowledge, and RI warns that students without it will struggle to keep pace. Check your school's Year 5 rules before deciding.
What if my child fails Year 4 IP science?
Promotion rules belong to each school. At Victoria School, one science counts in the GPA, which must be 3.0 or above, and students who miss it may repeat the year or move to the SEC track.
Which centres group IP science students by school?
Future Academy groups by school where possible, Overmugged runs courses for RGS and Nanyang Girls', and Indigo uses school-specific tracks for Lower Sec IP Science.
Is a home tutor better than a centre for IP science?
A tutor can follow your child's own school notes and lab write-ups, which suits a student behind in one science. A centre with a lab, such as Eclat or Singapore Learner, is better for hands-on practical work.
Official sources
- MOE: what the Integrated Programme is
- MOE: IP as a specialised curriculum
- MOE: how many students leave the IP before Year 4 (reply of 30 Nov 2022)
- SEAB: the SEC from 2027
- SEAB: list of 2027 A-Level syllabuses
- SEAB: H2 Chemistry 9476 syllabus, 2027 (PDF)
- SEAB: H2 Physics 9478 syllabus, 2027 (PDF)
- SEAB: H2 Biology 9477 syllabus, 2027 (PDF)
- Raffles Institution (ask.gov.sg): Science in Years 1 to 4
- Raffles Institution (ask.gov.sg): Requirements for H2 subjects
- ACS (Independent): IP curriculum overview
- Victoria School: IP GPA and promotion rules
IP science centres' own pages
- Axiom Education: IP Chemistry, IP Physics, home and pricing
- Eclat Institute: home and IP Upper Sec Chemistry
- Future Academy: IP schools, pricing and locations
- Happy Tutors: secondary and IP and home
- Indigo: IP tuition, IP Science, IP Chemistry and home
- Ingel Soong: IP Chemistry, Physics and Maths
- Kungfu Physics: IP Physics, home and contact
- Overmugged: IP tuition and branches
- Singapore Learner: IP tuition and home
- SmartLab: Chemistry tuition and home
- Thinkscience: IP science and contact
For 2027. Free to ask.
IP home tutor for 2027
Tell us about your child in the IP in 2027 and the subjects. 3 to 12 tutor profiles on WhatsApp within 16 hours, and you choose.
No contract and no minimum number of lessons. The first lesson is a paid trial at the tutor's rate. Rated 4.9 on Google.
Tell us about your child
Prefer to talk first? WhatsApp +65 8971 7546