Twelve tuition centres around Novena, Newton, Balestier and Thomson Plaza: published fees turned into a cost per hour, class sizes, unit numbers and walking distance to the MRT, trial terms and questions to ask, plus the schools and stations around Novena.
Novena is really one building with satellites. United Square holds six of the centres below, from Hua's playgroup Chinese on level 3 to Indigo's H2 classes on the 17th floor of the office tower. For the lowest published hourly fee on a core subject, Mind Stretcher on level 4 works out to about S$31 to S$40 with GST.
Aspire Hub on level 1 keeps groups under 7 from P1 to JC, The Physics Cafe beside it teaches Sec and JC Physics, and The Learning Lab on level 3 runs from N2 to JC2.
Outside the mall, Concept Math at Goldhill Plaza and S.A.M at Novena Regency teach primary maths, Wang at Square 2 and HAO on Balestier Road teach Chinese, GeogCafe at Hotel Royal teaches Geography, and Learning Point serves Thomson Plaza.
Six publish a fee, and three state a lesson length as well. None of the twelve shows a Google rating on its own pages, so that column reads "not shown" throughout.
Novena, Newton and Thomson centres side by side
Centre
Best for
Branch (area)
Levels
Class size
Fees as published
Our per-hour estimate
Trial
Google rating
Aspire Hub
Small groups from P1 to JC, with an Upper Thomson branch too
United Square #01-33/34/35 (Novena), 193A Upper Thomson Road (Thomson)
P1 to JC, IP, IB
"Usually fewer than 7", 4 to 8 in Academic Coaching
12-lesson term: S$1,104 (P1 to P4) to S$1,752 (JC), Academic Coaching
About S$46 to S$73
Personal Learning Review, S$69 to S$146 by level
Not shown
Concept Math
Primary maths with a parent debrief after each lesson
1 Goldhill Plaza #03-01 (Novena)
P1 to P6
Small group, number not published
From S$65 (P1, P2) to S$90 (P6) a lesson
Not possible, lesson length not published
Trial lesson on request, price not published
Not shown
GeogCafe
Geography and Social Studies from one specialist tutor
36 Newton Road #03-17, Hotel Royal (Newton)
Sec, IP, JC, IB, IGCSE
Small class, number not published
Group classes from S$250 a month
Not possible, lessons a month not published
Not published
Not shown
HAO Chinese Tuition
Chinese and Higher Chinese at the lowest published hourly rate
501 Balestier Road, Wai Wing Centre #02-01 and #02-03A (Balestier)
N1 to Sec 4
Average 6 to 8
12 lessons: S$601.68 (pre-school), from S$627.84 (primary), from S$981 (secondary), with GST
From about S$26 to S$41
A trial at no charge
Not shown
Hua Language Centre
Chinese from 18 months to O-Level
United Square #03-25/26 (Novena)
Playgroup to Sec 4
Usually 6 to 8
Not published
Not possible, fee not published
Assessment at no charge
Not shown
Indigo
JC and IP subjects in the United Square office tower
United Square Office Tower #17-01/02 (Novena), Balmoral Plaza #B1-09 (Newton)
Sec, IP, JC at United Square
Not published
Not published
Not possible, fee not published
Trial class at no charge, book 48 hours ahead
Not shown
Learning Point
English, Maths and Science at Thomson Plaza
301 Upper Thomson Road #03-19/20, Thomson Plaza (Thomson)
Pre-school, primary, secondary
Not published
Not published
Not possible, fee not published
Not published
Not shown
Mind Stretcher
A weekly 2-hour class with GST in the fee
United Square #04-20/22 (Novena)
Pre-K to Sec 4
Average 8 to 10
4-week month: S$250.70 (P1 to P3, weekday) to S$316.10 (Sec, weekend), GST included
About S$31 to S$40
Paid trial, price not published
Not shown
S.A.M (Seriously Addictive Mathematics)
Maths and phonics for ages 4 to 12
Novena Regency #01-32, 275 Thomson Road (Novena)
Ages 4 to 12
"Low student-teacher ratio", number not published
Not published
Not possible, fee not published
Assessment booking, cost not published
Not shown
The Learning Lab
One centre from N2 to JC2
United Square #03-03 (Novena)
N2 to JC2
Not published
S$130.80 to S$188.57 a lesson, GST included
Not possible, lesson length not published
Not published
Not shown
The Physics Cafe
Sec, IP and JC Physics a short walk from the MRT
United Square #01-29/30/31/32 (Novena)
Sec 1 to 4, IP, JC
Not published
Not published
Not possible, fee not published
Paid one-off lesson in a real class, non-refundable
Not shown
Wang Learning Centre
Primary and secondary Chinese directly above Novena MRT
Square 2 #04-49/50/51, 10 Sinaran Drive (Novena)
Primary, Sec 1 to 4
12 (primary), 13 to 15 (secondary)
Not published
Not possible, fee not published
Not published
Not shown
"Not shown" says nothing about the centre's reviews, only that its pages carry no rating.
A one-to-one option: The Singapore Syllabus
We run The Singapore Syllabus, so this box sits outside the twelve and carries no rank.
Only three Novena centres give both a fee and a lesson length, so only three can be priced by the hour.
Our per-hour estimate, where fee and lesson length are both published
HAO Chinese TuitionS$26 to S$41pre-school to Sec, GST included
Mind StretcherS$31 to S$40P1 to Sec 4, weekday to weekend, GST included
Aspire HubS$46 to S$73P1 to JC, Academic Coaching
04080
Published class sizes, students per class
Aspire Hub Academic Coaching4 to 8usually fewer than 7
Hua Language Centre6 to 8usually
HAO Chinese Tuition6 to 8average
Mind Stretcher8 to 10average
Wang Learning Centre12 to 1512 primary, 13 to 15 secondary
How we chose these centres
The Central Singapore round-ups that rank for Novena searches name centres by area only, with no fees or units, so the facts here come from each centre's own site.
1A branch in Novena, Newton, Balestier or ThomsonThe unit had to appear on the centre's own site, with its distance to the nearest station taken from OneMap.
2A public programmeLevels and subjects at minimum, plus a fee, class size or lesson length where the centre gives one.
3Enrolling for 2027A 2027 fee table, a 2027 timetable or open registration.
4A mix of levels and subjectsPrimary maths, secondary sciences, JC subjects, Geography and three Chinese centres for different ages.
Twelve centres passed. No centre paid to be listed here. Two names from those round-ups did not make it: one Novena economics tutor's site gives no address, and one English school's domain did not load. Centres appear below in alphabetical order.
The 12 centres in detail
Aspire Hub
Small groups from P1 to JC on level 1 of United Square, with a secondary and JC branch at Upper Thomson.
Per hour, our estimate
About S$46 to S$73
Academic Coaching group
Under 7 (4 to 8)
Levels
P1 to JC, IP, IB
From Novena MRT, the centre says
5 min
At United Square: primary English, Maths, Science and Chinese, a long secondary list from Lower Sec Maths to A Math, Physics and Chemistry, and JC General Paper, H1 and H2 Maths and H2 Physics. The branch page notes basement parking.
Upper Thomson: the branch at 193A Upper Thomson Road, 3 minutes from Upper Thomson MRT by its own account, takes only secondary and JC students.
Academic Coaching (2-hour weekly lessons, 12-lesson term, one subject): S$1,104 for P1 to P4, S$1,224 for P5 and P6, S$1,368 for Sec 1 and 2, S$1,428 for Sec 3 to 5, S$1,596 for IP or IB Years 3 and 4, and S$1,752 for JC.
Tutorial Series: up to 12 students in 1.5-hour lessons, from S$828 (P1 to P4) to S$1,284 (JC). Registration is S$80, and 14-lesson terms are adjusted. A Personal Learning Review costs S$69 to S$146 by level. Deposit and GST are not stated.
Branches: 101 Thomson Road, #01-33/34/35, United Square, open weekdays 1pm to 10pm. 193A Upper Thomson Road, open weekdays from 4.30pm.
Suits: a family with children at two or three levels who want one booking desk and a small group.
May not suit: a parent comparing on price alone, as its JC term is the highest published figure in Novena.
Is my child's class Academic Coaching or Tutorial Series, and how many are in it?
Does the S$1,752 JC term include GST?
Is H2 Chemistry taught at United Square or only at Upper Thomson?
Concept Math
One primary maths concept a lesson, and a 10-minute parent debrief afterwards.
Per hour, lesson length not published
Not possible
Number not published
Small group
Levels
P1 to P6
From Novena MRT, the centre says
About 5 min
Method: each lesson takes one concept, mistakes are marked for review, and every student can rewatch lessons and solution videos on its eClassroom. The P4 page adds the 10-minute debrief to parents after every session.
Fees: from S$65 a lesson for P1 and P2, S$75 for P3, S$80 for P4, S$85 for P5 and S$90 for P6, with materials, replays and progress tracking included. Lesson length, registration and trial price are not published, and the centre asks parents to contact it for a full breakdown.
Branch: 1 Goldhill Plaza, #03-01, Singapore 308899. Other branches are at Beauty World Centre, Parkway Parade Office Tower and JTC Summit.
Suits: a primary child who needs a single topic nailed each week, with a parent who wants to hear what happened in class.
May not suit: a secondary student, or a family that needs the lesson length before comparing prices.
Is the debrief given in person, by call or by message?
GeogCafe
Geography taught by its founder in every class, a former RI Senior Teacher and Hwa Chong Subject Head.
Group classes, per-hour not possible
From S$250 a month
Number not published
Small class
Levels
Sec, IP, JC, IB, IGCSE
Walk from Novena MRT, the centre says
About 10 min
Teacher: Mr Eric Goh has taught Geography since 2003 and was a Senior Teacher at Raffles Institution and Subject Head at Hwa Chong.
Classes: Sec 4 Pure and Elective students sit in separate classes, Elective Geography is taught together with Social Studies, and physical and online seats run at the same time.
Fees: group classes from S$250 a month, varying by level and format. Lessons a month, lesson length and trial terms are not published. Registration is through a form that asks for level, school and latest grade.
Branch: 36 Newton Road, #03-17, Hotel Royal, Singapore 307964. A second centre is near Kembangan MRT.
Suits: an O-Level, IP, JC or IB Geography student who wants one experienced teacher for the whole course.
May not suit: a student who needs any other subject, or a parent who wants the class size and lesson count before registering.
How many lessons does S$250 buy, and how long is each?
How many students are in the Sec 4 Pure class?
Can a JC student switch between online and Newton Road week to week?
HAO Chinese Tuition
Chinese with a clear term fee on Balestier Road, the lowest published Chinese rate around Novena.
Per hour, GST included
From about S$26 to S$41
Class size
Average 6 to 8
Levels
N1 to Sec 4
From Toa Payoh MRT (730 m from Novena) on OneMap
About 710 m
Programme: P1 to P4 are Higher Chinese only, P5 and P6 have standard and Higher Chinese, and secondary covers G3 Chinese and Higher Chinese. Pre-school lessons last 1.5 hours and the rest 2 hours.
Fees (12-lesson term, GST included): pre-school S$601.68 (S$552 before GST), primary from S$627.84 (S$576 before GST) and secondary from S$981 (S$900 before GST). Primary and secondary fees are starting prices. A trial at no charge is offered for these programmes.
Branch: 501 Balestier Road, Wai Wing Centre, #02-01 (pre-school) and #02-03A (primary and secondary). Open Monday and Wednesday to Friday 1pm to 7.30pm, weekends 9am to 6.30pm. Other centres are in Jurong East, Bukit Batok, Bedok Reservoir, Kovan and Hong Kah North.
Suits: a Balestier or Whampoa family wanting Chinese with a clear term fee and a small group.
May not suit: a family who needs a class near Novena MRT itself, or a Tuesday slot, as the centre is closed that day.
What is the actual term fee for P5 Higher Chinese, given the S$627.84 is a starting price?
Which unit will my child use?
Does the trial cover oral practice?
Hua Language Centre
Chinese only, from an 18-month playgroup to O-Level, on level 3 of United Square.
Per hour
Not published
Class size
Usually 6 to 8
Levels
Playgroup to Sec 4
Named on its locations page
Novena MRT
Programme: playgroup, pre-school, primary and Sec 4 with O-Level preparation, an Elite Chinese Programme at primary, Chinese as a foreign language, holiday camps, Hanyu Pinyin courses and PSLE bootcamps.
Fees: not published, and lesson length is not stated. The centre offers an assessment of the child's Chinese level at no charge.
Branch: 101 Thomson Road, #03-25/26, United Square. Open weekdays 9am to 7.30pm and weekends 8.30am to 7pm. Other centres are at Parkway Parade, Greenwich V and Causeway Point.
Suits: a family who wants a toddler or pre-schooler to start Chinese early and stay with one centre to O-Level.
May not suit: a JC student, or a parent who wants to see a fee before visiting.
Which class does the assessment place my child in, and what does a term cost?
How long is a primary lesson?
Is the Elite Chinese Programme taught at United Square?
Indigo
Seven classrooms on the 17th floor of United Square Office Tower, built around IP and JC subjects.
Per hour
Not published
Class size
Not published
Levels at United Square
Sec, IP, JC
Walk from Novena MRT, its page says
About 7 min
Subjects here: Sec English, Lower Sec Maths, A Math and the sciences, IP Language Arts, Maths and sciences, and JC General Paper, H2 Maths, H2 Chemistry, H2 Physics and H2 Economics.
Space and access: 2,500 sq ft. Visitors get a QR code from staff or the security counter downstairs to go up.
Fees: not published, and neither is lesson length. Trial classes are at no charge, subject to availability and booked at least 48 hours ahead.
Branches: 101 Thomson Road, #17-01/02, United Square Office Tower. 271 Bukit Timah Road, #B1-09, Balmoral Plaza, 368 m from Newton MRT (DT11) on OneMap. Others are at Bukit Timah Shopping Centre, Parkway Parade, Tampines Plaza 1 and JTC Summit.
Suits: an IP or JC student who wants GP and an H2 subject at one address near Novena.
May not suit: a primary child at United Square, as primary is not on this branch's list, or a family that needs fees upfront.
What does a month of H2 Economics cost at United Square, and how many sit in the class?
Is the trial teacher the one who would teach all year?
Which days is the branch open, as the page lists Monday and Thursday to Sunday?
Learning Point
English, Maths and Science under one roof at Thomson Plaza, starting before P1.
Per hour
Not published
Class size
Not published
Levels
Pre-school to Sec
From Upper Thomson MRT (TE8) on OneMap
222 m
Programme: English, Maths and Science at primary and secondary, plus pre-school courses in N2 phonics, reading and a P1 head start in English. The centre states 30 years of experience.
Hours: open late on Thursday and Friday and closed on Sunday.
Fees: not published, and lesson length and trial terms are not stated on the branch page.
Branch: 301 Upper Thomson Road, #03-19/20, Thomson Plaza, Singapore 574408. Other branches are at Bukit Timah Plaza, Parkway Centre, Oasis Terraces and Century Square.
Suits: a family in Upper Thomson or Bright Hill who wants English, Maths and Science under one roof, starting before P1.
May not suit: a family in Novena proper, as Thomson Plaza is about 4 km north, or anyone needing a fee before calling.
How many children are in a P4 Science class at Thomson Plaza?
How long is each lesson and what does a term cost?
Is the P1 head start taught here or at another branch?
Mind Stretcher
One 2-hour class a week per subject, with GST already in every fee, the easiest Novena fee to compare.
Per hour, GST included
About S$31 to S$40
Class size
Average 8 to 10
Levels
Pre-K to Sec 4
About 335 m from Novena MRT
United Square L4
Fees (AY2027, one subject, GST in): four weeks of weekday lessons run from S$228.90 for pre-K up to S$294.30 for any secondary level, and every weekend slot adds S$21.80 to the month.
Other charges: registration S$76.30, and a deposit of 5 academic weeks per subject. A one-time paid trial is offered, price not stated.
Branch: 101 Thomson Road, #04-20/22, United Square Shopping Mall, Singapore 307591. Other centres include Toa Payoh HDB Hub, Bishan and Woodleigh.
Suits: a primary or secondary student who does well in a steady weekly class, and a family that likes a fixed monthly bill.
May not suit: a JC student, or a child who needs a group under 8, as popular slots can run larger than the average.
How long is each weekly lesson, and how many children share a teacher?
Can my child take maths and English on the same day?
The Learning Lab
One centre from N2 to JC2, teaching since 2001, with a published per-lesson fee at every stage.
Per hour, lesson length not published
Not possible
Class size
Not published
Levels
N2 to JC2
About 335 m from Novena MRT
United Square L3
Subjects: English, Maths and Science from N2 to Sec 4, and General Paper, H2 Maths and JC1 Chemistry at JC. The centre runs 10 physical centres plus online classes.
Per-lesson fees (2026 to 2027, GST included): S$130.80 to S$140.61 at N2 to K2, S$143.88 to S$156.42 at P1 to P4, S$158.60 to S$171.13 at P5 and P6, S$166.77 to S$179.85 at secondary, and S$175.49 to S$188.57 at JC.
Monthly and term: a 4-lesson month is S$575.52 on a weekday for P1 to P4 and S$701.96 for JC, more at weekends. Terms have 12 to 14 lessons and are billed by term. Registration is S$98.10, plus a S$150 refundable deposit per subject.
Branch: 101 Thomson Road, #03-03, United Square, Singapore 307591. Open weekdays 1pm to 9pm and weekends 9am to 6pm.
Suits: a family who wants one centre to carry a child from pre-school to JC, with a published fee at every stage.
May not suit: a parent who needs lesson length or class size before enrolling.
Is JC1 Chemistry taught at United Square or online?
The Physics Cafe
A Physics specialist three sheltered minutes from the MRT, with enquiries by WhatsApp only.
Per hour
Not published
Class size
Not published
Levels
Sec 1 to JC, IP
Sheltered walk from Novena MRT, the centre says
3 min
Subjects: JC, secondary and IP Physics and Lower Secondary Science, plus Maths and Chemistry classes, in 2-hour weekly lessons.
Policy: no walk-ins, no call-ins and no trial lesson at no charge.
Fees: not published. Regular fees are set on the date of online registration. A paid ala carte lesson lets a student sit in the same class once, with no commitment afterwards and no refund even if they join. Consultations with the Head of Academic, Mr Dave Sim, are S$50 per 30 minutes at the Paya Lebar flagship.
Branch: 101 Thomson Road, #01-29/30/31/32, United Square, Singapore 307591. Other branches are at Bishan North and Singapore Post Centre, with a digital HQ near Marymount MRT.
Suits: a Sec 3 to JC2 student who wants a Physics specialist next to the station.
May not suit: a primary child, or a parent who prefers to phone or drop in.
What does the ala carte lesson cost for JC1 Physics?
How many students are in the United Square class?
Which tutor teaches it?
Wang Learning Centre
Chinese right above Novena MRT, including a single 3-hour primary course for reading, oral and essays.
Per hour
Not published
Class size
12 primary, 13 to 15 Sec
Levels
Primary, Sec 1 to 4
From Novena MRT on OneMap
41 m
Primary courses: a 3-hour course covering reading, speaking, listening and essays, a 2-hour reading comprehension course, and a 2-hour speaking, listening and essay course, each capped at 12.
Secondary: 2-hour classes with 13 to 15 students.
Fees: not published, and trial terms are not stated. The branch is closed on Monday.
Branch: 10 Sinaran Drive, #04-49/50/51, Square 2, Singapore 307506. Other branches include Bukit Timah, Ang Mo Kio, Serangoon and Marine Parade.
Suits: a primary child who needs Chinese composition and oral in a single long lesson, right at the station.
May not suit: a student who wants a small group at secondary.
Which primary course suits a P4 child weak in composition?
What does a term of the 3-hour course cost?
How many are in the Sec 2 class this year?
Tuition in Novena
Novena sits between Toa Payoh and Newton on the North-South line, with Thomson Road running north past United Square towards Thomson Plaza. Most centres cluster within a few hundred metres of Novena MRT.
Novena MRT, under Velocity and Square 2 on Thomson Road
NS20
Newton MRT, for Newton Road, Balmoral Plaza and the Barker Road schools
NS21 and DT11
Toa Payoh MRT, the nearest station to Wai Wing Centre on Balestier Road
NS19
Stevens MRT, for the schools along Dunearn Road and Whitley Road
DT10 and TE11
Upper Thomson MRT, beside Thomson Plaza about 4 km north
TE8
Six centres, 335 m from Novena MRTUnited SquareOne mall and office tower at 101 Thomson Road. Aspire Hub and The Physics Cafe on level 1, Hua and The Learning Lab on level 3, Mind Stretcher on level 4, Indigo on the 17th floor of the office tower.
Three centres within 310 mNovena MRT and GoldhillWang at Square 2 (41 m), S.A.M at Novena Regency (265 m) and Concept Math at Goldhill Plaza (308 m). No centre from this list is inside Velocity @ Novena Square.
Geography and IP to JCNewtonGeogCafe at Hotel Royal, 457 m from Novena MRT, and Indigo's Balmoral Plaza branch near Newton MRT.
Chinese from N1BalestierHAO at Wai Wing Centre, about 700 m from both Toa Payoh and Novena stations.
About 4 km northUpper ThomsonLearning Point at Thomson Plaza and Aspire Hub at 193A Upper Thomson Road, each about 250 m from Upper Thomson MRT.
Schools in and around Novena (named only, from MOE's general information of schools)
Level
In the Novena planning area
Nearby, towards Balestier, Braddell and Thomson
Primary
Anglo-Chinese School (Primary), St. Joseph's Institution Junior, Singapore Chinese Girls' Primary School
Hong Wen School, Marymount Convent School, Ai Tong School
Secondary
Anglo-Chinese School (Barker Road), Singapore Chinese Girls' School, St. Joseph's Institution
Northlight School, Raffles Girls' School (Secondary), Whitley Secondary School
JC
Catholic Junior College, St. Joseph's Institution (to JC2)
For a JC student at Catholic JC or SJI, the H2 options on this list within walking distance of Novena MRT are Indigo, Aspire Hub, The Physics Cafe and The Learning Lab, with GeogCafe for Geography. Families just north or west can also see our Toa Payoh, Bishan and Bukit Timah home tuition pages.
Centre, home tutor or online?
How a Novena class compares with a tutor at home, using centre fees as published and our rate card bands:
Point
Novena centre class
Tutor at your Novena home
Cost per hour
About S$26 (HAO primary Chinese) to S$73 (Aspire Hub JC), where a fee and length are both published
Primary S$25 to S$80, secondary S$30 to S$95, JC S$45 to S$130, by tutor type
Group
6 to 8 at Hua and HAO, under 7 at Aspire Hub, up to 15 at Wang secondary
One student
Getting there
United Square, Goldhill, Balestier or Thomson Plaza
No travel, the tutor comes to you
Pace
Set by the centre's term plan
Set by your child's weak topics and school test dates
Best for
A child who keeps pace in a class and likes peers
A child who has fallen behind, or who needs one paper fixed fast
A worked JC example:
Centre: Aspire Hub's JC Academic Coaching is S$1,752 for twelve 2-hour lessons, about S$146 a week for one subject in a group.
Home tutor: one 90-minute lesson a week costs S$67.50 to S$90 with a part-time JC tutor (S$45 to S$60 an hour), or S$97.50 to S$135 with a full-time tutor (S$65 to S$90).
Some families near Catholic JC keep a centre class for one H2 subject and use a tutor for the one that is slipping.
Novena centres by area and level
Area
Primary
Secondary
JC
Languages and enrichment
United Square
Aspire Hub, Mind Stretcher, The Learning Lab
Aspire Hub, Indigo, Mind Stretcher, The Learning Lab, The Physics Cafe
Aspire Hub, Indigo, The Learning Lab, The Physics Cafe
Hua (Chinese, playgroup to Sec 4)
Novena MRT, Goldhill and Thomson Road
Concept Math, S.A.M
None on this list
None on this list
Wang (Chinese), S.A.M (phonics)
Newton
None on this list
GeogCafe, Indigo (Balmoral Plaza)
GeogCafe, Indigo
None on this list
Balestier
HAO
HAO
None on this list
HAO (Chinese, from N1)
Upper Thomson
Learning Point
Aspire Hub, Learning Point
Aspire Hub
Learning Point (pre-school phonics)
How to choose a tuition centre in Novena
1Name the subject firstPrimary maths points to Concept Math or S.A.M, Physics to The Physics Cafe, Geography to GeogCafe, Chinese to Hua, HAO or Wang, and several subjects at one desk to Aspire Hub, Mind Stretcher or The Learning Lab.
2Decide how far your child will walkSquare 2 and Novena Regency are steps from the station. United Square is a short sheltered walk. Balestier and Thomson Plaza mean a bus or another line.
3Price an hour, not a monthMind Stretcher includes GST. The Learning Lab charges by the lesson and bills by term. Aspire Hub quotes a 12-lesson term. Ask the others for a fee and a lesson length.
4Count every upfront costRegistration runs from S$76.30 (Mind Stretcher) to S$98.10 (The Learning Lab), and deposits from S$150 a subject to 5 weeks of fees.
5Pick the right kind of trialIndigo and HAO offer one at no charge, Hua assesses at no charge, and The Physics Cafe sells a single non-refundable lesson.
6Check progress after one school testIf marks have not moved after 6 to 8 lessons, ask the centre for a plan, or change.
What to check at a Novena trial
Is this the room and teacher my child would have every week?
How many students are already in this exact slot?
Is the class pitched at my child's stream, such as G3 or IP, or Higher or standard Chinese?
How are mistakes in my child's work marked and followed up?
What happens after a missed lesson: a recording, a replacement class or nothing?
How much notice ends enrolment, and when is the deposit returned?
Common questions
How much does a tuition centre in Novena cost per hour?
Using the three Novena centres that publish both a fee and a lesson length, the range runs from about S$26 an hour for primary Chinese at HAO to S$73 for JC at Aspire Hub, before registration and deposits.
Which tuition centres are in United Square?
Six on this list: Aspire Hub and The Physics Cafe on level 1, Hua Language Centre and The Learning Lab on level 3, Mind Stretcher on level 4, and Indigo on the 17th floor of the office tower.
Which Novena centre is cheapest for primary maths?
Mind Stretcher in United Square, at S$250.70 for four 2-hour weekday lessons for P1 to P3, about S$31 an hour with GST. Concept Math at Goldhill Plaza starts at S$65 a lesson but does not give the lesson length.
Is there a tuition centre at Novena MRT itself?
Wang Learning Centre is at Square 2, 41 m from the station, and S.A.M is at Novena Regency, 265 m away. Concept Math at Goldhill Plaza is about 310 m away.
Where can a JC student near Novena take H2 subjects?
Indigo in United Square Office Tower lists GP and H2 Maths, Chemistry, Physics and Economics. Aspire Hub, The Learning Lab and The Physics Cafe in United Square also teach JC, and GeogCafe on Newton Road teaches H1 and H2 Geography.
Is there a tuition centre at Thomson Plaza?
Learning Point is at Thomson Plaza #03-19/20 for pre-school to secondary English, Maths and Science. Aspire Hub's secondary and JC branch is nearby at 193A Upper Thomson Road.
Where can my child learn Chinese around Novena?
Hua in United Square teaches from 18 months to Sec 4 in classes of about 6 to 8. Wang at Square 2 teaches primary and secondary, and HAO at Wai Wing Centre on Balestier Road publishes term fees from S$601.68.
Which Novena centres offer a trial at no charge?
Indigo offers trial classes booked 48 hours ahead, and HAO offers one for its programmes. Hua gives an assessment at no charge, while Mind Stretcher and The Physics Cafe charge for a trial.
Who teaches Geography near Novena?
GeogCafe at Hotel Royal, 36 Newton Road, where founder Mr Eric Goh teaches every class for O-Level, IP, JC, IB and IGCSE. Group classes start from S$250 a month.
When does a home tutor make more sense in Novena?
When only one subject is slipping, or when the centre that teaches it keeps its fee private. Our rates start at S$25 an hour for lower primary and go up to S$130 for an ex-MOE JC tutor.
Written by Theon Teo, Founder and Mathematics Tutor, The Singapore Syllabus. DigiPen Institute of Technology Singapore, Game Development & Computer Science · 3 years' Mathematics teaching (Primary & Secondary). More about Theon
Free to ask.
Chinese home tutor for 2027
Tell us your child's level and subjects. 3 to 12 tutor profiles on WhatsApp within 16 hours, and you choose.
No contract and no minimum number of lessons. The first lesson is a paid trial at the tutor's rate. Rated 4.9 on Google.