All facts were checked on 8 November 2026. Fees often change in January, so confirm the current figure before you pay. No centre paid to appear here. The detail section is in alphabetical order, not a ranking.
The 10 Toa Payoh tuition centres compared
The per-hour figure is our own estimate. We divided the published fee by the published lesson hours. Where a centre does not publish its fee or lesson length, we could not work it out.
| Centre | Best for | Toa Payoh branch (area) | Levels | Class size | Fees as published | Our per-hour estimate | Trial | Google rating (checked 8 Nov 2026) |
|---|
| EduFirst | A published fee for every level | Toa Payoh Central CC, 93 Toa Payoh Central (Central) | Nursery to Sec 4/5 | "Small group", number not published | P1, P2 S$200, P5, P6 S$240, Sec 3, 4 S$320 a month for 4 lessons, first subject, plus GST | About S$33 to S$53 before GST | Not published | Not shown |
| Future Academy | A 1:6 class from PSLE to A-Level, at Braddell MRT | OnePeople.sg, 381 Lorong 1 (Braddell) | P4 to P6, Sec, IP, A-Level, IBDP | Max ratio 1:6 | S$440 (PSLE), S$528 (Sec, IP), S$616 (A-Level, IB) for 4 lessons | S$55 to S$77 | Not mentioned, starts with a 4-lesson package | Not shown |
| Gavin's Tuition | Every level from pre-school to JC | Blk 107 Lorong 1 (Braddell) | K1, K2, P1 to JC2, IP, AEIS | Not published | Not published | Not possible, fee not published | Trial lesson on request, terms not published | Not shown |
| Jan & Elly | Phonics and English for ages 4 to 12 | Toa Payoh Central CC, 93 Toa Payoh Central #05-02 (Central) | N2 to P6 | 8 to 10, by room | Not published | Not possible, fee not published | Not published after 31 Oct 2026 | Not shown |
| Jiang Education Centre | Chinese and Higher Chinese | 600 Lorong 4 Toa Payoh (Lorong 4) | Pre-school, P1 to PSLE, Sec 1 to 4 | Not published | Not published | Not possible, fee not published | Trial class on request, cost not published | Not shown |
| Joyous Learning | PSLE English, Maths, Science and composition | Blk 177 Toa Payoh Central, moving to 7A Lorong 8 on 1 Dec 2026 | P4 to P6, Sec 1 to 4 | Max 9 | S$340 to S$380 for 4 lessons per subject | S$42.50 to S$47.50 | A trial lesson at no charge, one per subject | Not shown |
| Matrix Math | Lowest published hourly fee, maths only | 183 Toa Payoh Central #01-306 (Central) | K1 to Sec 4 | Primary mostly 6, secondary up to 8 | From S$560 (primary) and S$690 to S$720 (Sec) per 10 lessons, nett | About S$28 to S$36 | S$70 primary, S$75 secondary | Not shown |
| Mind Stretcher | A structured weekly class with GST included | Toa Payoh HDB Hub, 530 Lorong 6 #02-06 (Central) | Pre-K to Sec 4 | Average about 8 to 10 | P1 to P3 S$250.70, P4 to P6 S$272.50, Sec S$294.30 a 4-week month (weekday, GST included) | About S$31 to S$40 | Paid trial, price not published | Not shown |
| Orion | O-Level, IP and H2 Maths and sciences | Blk 190 Lorong 6 #04-508 (Central) | Sec 3, 4, IP, JC1, JC2 | Average 8 (A Maths), 10 (H2 Maths) | S$360 a month for 4 lessons (A Maths), S$420 (H2 Maths), GST absorbed | Not possible, lesson length not published | November to March, the first lesson is a trial, waived if you do not continue | 5 from 120 reviewers, shown in the widget on its home page |
| The Science Academy | Sciences and maths from P3 to JC | 192 Lorong 4 #01-674 (Lorong 4) | Primary, secondary, JC | Generally 5 to 11 | Not published | Not possible, fee not published | Paid trial class, price not published | Not shown |
Google ratings appear only where we could read them on the centre's own page. "Not shown" means we did not verify one, not that the centre has none.
The 10 centres in detail
EduFirst Learning Centre
What is distinctive. EduFirst publishes a full 2027 rate card from nursery to Sec 4/5, with a lower fee for each extra subject. Lessons are 1.5 hours, four times a month per subject, and the rate card lists materials and exam papers at no charge. Its 28 branches let a child switch if the family moves.
Suits: a primary or secondary family that wants a clear monthly fee and a discount for a second or third subject. May not suit: a parent who wants a stated class size, as the rate card says only "small group".
Fees as published (2027, per month for 4 lessons, plus GST): P1 and P2 S$200 for the first subject, P3 and P4 S$220, P5 and P6 S$240. Sec 1 and Sec 2 S$300, Sec 3 and Sec 4/5 S$320. Each extra subject is S$10 less than the one before (for example S$310 for a second Sec 3 subject). Registration S$50, plus the first month's fees and one month's deposit at sign-up. Trial terms are not published.
Branch: Toa Payoh Central Community Club, 93 Toa Payoh Central, #01-04. The centre says it is about 5 minutes' walk from Toa Payoh MRT. Phone +65 6612 8074.
Website: edufirst.com.sg
Ask at the trial: How many students are in this slot? Is GST added to the rate card figure? How is the one-month deposit returned?
Future Academy
What is distinctive. Future Academy keeps a maximum teacher-to-student ratio of 1:6 at every level, which is the smallest published ratio on this list. It teaches PSLE English, Maths, Science and Chinese, secondary and IP subjects, A-Level H2 subjects and GP, and IBDP HL and SL. Lessons are 2 hours. Its Braddell branch is 1 to 2 minutes from Braddell MRT, the centre says.
Suits: a PSLE, O-Level, IP or JC student who wants a small group right at the MRT. May not suit: a family on a tight budget, as its hourly fee is the highest published on this list.
Fees as published: PSLE (P4 to P6) S$440 for 4 lessons or S$1,320 for a 13-lesson term. Sec 1 to 4, O-Level and IP S$528 or S$1,584. A-Level and IBDP S$616 or S$1,848. The term package is 13 lessons for the price of 12. Registration S$20 one time and a S$150 refundable deposit. A second subject is 5% off and a third 10% off. One month's notice is needed to stop.
Branch: OnePeople.sg, 381 Lorong 1 Toa Payoh, #01-12, Braddell MRT (NS18). Other branches are at Burlington Square (Bugis) and Bukit Timah Shopping Centre, and classes run online. WhatsApp +65 8457 7888.
Website: futureacademy.sg
Ask at the trial: Which subjects run at the Braddell branch for my child's level? Is there a trial, or do we start with the 4-lesson package? Who teaches the class for the whole year?
Gavin's Tuition
What is distinctive. One centre covering every level from K1 and K2 to JC2, plus IP and AEIS English and Maths. The subject list is wide: Principles of Accounts, Literature, History and Geography at secondary, and GP, Economics and the sciences at JC. Lessons are recorded, and a student app shows the timetable, reminders and invoices. The centre states it has 10+ years of teaching and a Golden Bull Award (2018).
Suits: a family with children at different levels, or a student who wants to replay a lesson. May not suit: a parent who wants fees and class size in writing before calling, as neither is published.
Fees as published: not published. Class size is also not published. A trial lesson can be booked, and the centre recommends a class first.
Branch: Blk 107 Lorong 1 Toa Payoh, #01-252, near Braddell MRT, the centre says. By our map check it is about 100 m from the station. Office +65 6635 8390, WhatsApp +65 8779 4773.
Website: gavintuition.com
Ask at the trial: What is the monthly fee and lesson length for my child's level? How many students are in the class? How long are lesson recordings kept?
Jan & Elly
What is distinctive. An English language school for children aged 4 to 12. Programmes are Phonics (N2 to K2), ReadWrite (K2 to P1), Primary English (P1 to P6) and Primary Composition (P2 to P6), plus holiday classes. Group lessons are 1.5 hours and classes are capped at 8 to 10, depending on the room.
Suits: a pre-schooler learning to read, or a primary child whose compositions need structure. May not suit: a secondary student, or a family that wants a fee table online.
Fees as published: not published. Its assessment and trial offer was listed as available until 31 October 2026, and terms after that date are not published.
Branch: Toa Payoh Central Community Centre, 93 Toa Payoh Central, #05-02. The centre gives Toa Payoh MRT (North-South line) as the nearest station. Phone and WhatsApp 8774 9401. Other branches are at Bukit Timah Plaza, Greenwich V, iMall and The Woodleigh Mall.
Website: jan-elly.com
Ask at the trial: What is the termly fee? Which programme fits my child's reading level? How many children are in this slot?
Jiang Education Centre
What is distinctive. A Chinese specialist that says it has taught since 1995. Secondary classes are split into Higher Chinese and Express Chinese for each year from Sec 1 to Sec 4. Each course runs as two semesters of 20 lessons (January to May and July to November), 2 hours a lesson at secondary and 3 hours at primary. Course pages work through each O-Level paper, including oral reading aloud and the video-based conversation.
Suits: a primary or secondary student who needs steady Chinese or Higher Chinese practice through the year. May not suit: a family that wants a published fee or class size.
Fees as published: not published. A trial class can be booked through the contact page, and its cost is not stated.
Branch: 600 Lorong 4 Toa Payoh, #02-01/02. The page does not give the nearest MRT. By our map check Toa Payoh MRT is about 400 m away. Phone +65 8989 6390. Eight other branches include Fu Lu Shou Complex, Beauty World Centre and The Anchor at Marine Parade.
Website: jiang.edu.sg
Ask at the trial: What does one semester cost at my child's level? How many students are in the class? Is the trial charged, and is it credited if we enrol?
Joyous Learning
What is distinctive. Lessons are led by former MOE-trained teachers using an in-house curriculum, the centre says, with a cap of 9 students. It teaches P4 to P6 English and Maths, Science from P5, a composition class called Thinking Writer, Sec 1 to 4 English and Sec 1 and 2 Maths.
Suits: an upper primary child preparing for PSLE English or composition. May not suit: a lower primary child, or a Sec 3 or Sec 4 student who needs maths, as classes start at P4 and secondary maths stops at Sec 2.
Fees as published (2027, per subject for 4 lessons of 2 hours): P4 to P6 English, Maths or Science S$340. Thinking Writer S$355. Secondary English, or Maths for Sec 1 and 2, S$380. Registration S$50 one time and a S$180 deposit per programme, set against the last month. One trial lesson per subject at no charge.
Branch: Blk 177 Toa Payoh Central, #01-138, about 5 minutes' walk from Toa Payoh MRT, the centre says. From 1 December 2026 it moves to 7A Lorong 8 Toa Payoh, #01-01, Caritas Agape Village. By our map check the new address is about 1.1 km from Braddell MRT. Classes run until end-November, with December as a break. WhatsApp 8905 1533.
Website: joyouslearning.com.sg
Ask at the trial: Which teacher takes my child's level after the move? How are compositions marked and returned? When is the deposit refunded?
Matrix Math
What is distinctive. A maths-only centre that publishes both its 2027 fees and its full Toa Payoh timetable. Primary classes have mostly 6 regular students and secondary classes up to 8. Each lesson covers the concept, guided practice and then exam-style questions. The site states no registration or material fees.
Suits: a primary or secondary student who needs maths only, at the lowest published hourly cost on this list. May not suit: a student who wants other subjects at the same centre, or a JC student, as classes stop at Sec 4.
Fees as published (per 10 weekly lessons, nett): primary from S$560, 2-hour lessons (P1 is 1 hour 45 minutes). Sec 1 and Sec 2 S$690. Sec 3 S$710 and Sec 4 S$720 per subject, with S$15 off each subject when taking both E Math and A Math. Holiday weeks do not count towards the 10. The site does not say whether GST is included. Trial S$70 primary or S$75 secondary, credited as the first lesson if you enrol within 7 days. 2027 classes start on 23 November 2026, Tuesday to Sunday.
Branch: 183 Toa Payoh Central, #01-306 (2nd floor). The page does not give the nearest MRT. By our map check Toa Payoh MRT is about 170 m away. WhatsApp +65 8779 9633.
Website: matrixmath.sg
Ask at the trial: Is GST included in the nett fee? How many students are in this slot? Which teacher takes the class for the term?
Mind Stretcher
What is distinctive. Mind Stretcher publishes its full 2027 fee table with GST included. Classes are 2 hours, once a week per subject, with an average of about 8 to 10 students. It has 29 physical centres, so a child can switch branch if the family moves.
Suits: a primary or secondary family that wants a predictable fee and a structured weekly class, steps from the bus interchange. May not suit: a JC student, as classes stop at Sec 4.
Fees as published (AY2027, per subject, GST included): P1 to P3 S$250.70 weekday or S$272.50 weekend for a 4-week month. P4 to P6 S$272.50 or S$294.30. Sec 1 to 4 S$294.30 or S$316.10. Five-week months cost more (for example S$340.63 for P4 to P6 weekday). Registration S$76.30, plus a deposit of 5 academic weeks per subject. A one-time paid trial is offered, price not published.
Branch: Toa Payoh HDB Hub, 530 Lorong 6 Toa Payoh, #02-06, above the bus interchange. By our map check Toa Payoh MRT is about 75 m away. Phone +65 6258 0200. Its student care arm, Mind Sparks, also runs Mind Stretcher classes at 500 Lorong 6 #04-31.
Website: mindstretcher.com
Ask at the trial: How many students are in this exact slot? What does the deposit cover and when is it refunded? Are lessons recorded if my child misses one?
Orion
What is distinctive. Orion teaches O-Level A Maths, E Maths, Pure Physics and Pure Chemistry, IP Maths and sciences, and A-Level H2 and H1 Maths, Physics and Chemistry. Every class can be joined live online. The A Maths class average is 8 and H2 Maths 10. The site states GST is absorbed with no deposits.
Suits: a Sec 3, Sec 4, IP or JC student who wants maths or science tuition in Toa Payoh with a clear monthly fee. May not suit: a primary or lower secondary student, as no classes are listed below Sec 3 outside IP.
Fees as published: O-Level A Maths S$360 a month for 4 lessons. H2 Maths S$420 a month for 4 lessons. Lesson length is not published. From November to March the first lesson is a trial, and the fee is waived if the student does not continue. From April to October a 3-lesson trial pack costs S$270 (O-Level) or S$315 (A-Level). 2027 classes at Toa Payoh: Sec 3 A Maths Friday 5pm, Sec 4 Friday 7pm, JC1 H2 Maths Sunday 3pm and JC2 Sunday 1pm.
Branch: Blk 190 Lorong 6 Toa Payoh Central, #04-508, in the HDB Branch Office block. The site does not name the MRT. By our map check Toa Payoh MRT is about 150 m away. WhatsApp +65 9271 9276. A second branch is in Yishun.
Website: oriontuition.com.sg
Ask at the trial: How long is each lesson? Who teaches my child's class for the year? Can my child switch between the centre and live online?
The Science Academy
What is distinctive. A science and maths centre from primary to JC. Sec 1 and 2 follow a curated syllabus that cycles between Chemistry, Biology and Physics, while Sec 3 to JC2 follow the O and A-Level syllabus. JC classes cover Chemistry, Physics, Biology and Maths. Classes are generally 5 to 11 students, and permanent online students can join by live stream. Holiday programmes run in March, June and September.
Suits: a student who wants one science centre from P3 Science through to H2 Biology or Chemistry. May not suit: a family that wants to compare fees online, as fees are not published.
Fees as published: not published. Lesson length and registration fee are also not published. Students can take a paid trial class, price not stated.
Branch: 192 Lorong 4 Toa Payoh, #01-674. The site gives no MRT for this branch. By our map check Toa Payoh MRT is about 350 m away. WhatsApp +65 8655 5068. Other branches are at Our Tampines Hub and Woodlands MRT.
Website: thescienceacademy.sg
Ask at the trial: What is the monthly fee and lesson length? What does the trial cost? How many students are in this slot?