Ten Chinese centres that teach P1 to P4, compared: printed fees turned into an hourly figure, group sizes, branches by region and trial terms. Plus what MOE's primary Chinese course covers from hanyu pinyin to the P4 banding choice.
The right primary Chinese centre depends on what is going wrong at P1 to P4, because these years carry no PSLE pressure yet but set up the P4 banding choice.
HAO Chinese Tuition (already strong): prints the lowest rate at about S$26 an hour, but below P5 it teaches only Higher Chinese.
Bespoke Learning Centre (standard stream): a flat S$200 a month at P1 and P2 and S$220 at P3 and P4, in groups of up to 8.
MandarinStars (failing or dyslexia): in Bukit Timah, it groups 2 to 5 children by reading level.
Yanzi Mandarin (English at home): caps classes at 6 and teaches many children from English-speaking homes.
Jiang Education Centre (behind on both skills): a 3-hour weekly lesson split into reading and writing halves.
Hua Cheng or MindChamps (close to home): Hua Cheng has 16 centres and MindChamps 22, so a class sits near most homes.
Only three of the ten print a fee for these levels, and the hourly figures in the table below are our own division of that fee by the lesson time it buys.
Primary Chinese centres compared
Centre
Best for
Branches (area)
Levels
Class size
Fees as published (P1 to P4)
Our per-hour estimate
Trial
Berries World of Learning School
Three streams from P1, Elite class from P3
19 outlets, 18 for primary (all regions)
N1 to P6
12 to 14
Not published
Not estimated
Not published
Bespoke Learning Centre
Lowest flat monthly fee for the standard stream
4 (North, North-East, East)
P1 to P6
Max 8
P1 to P2 S$200, P3 to P4 S$220 a month for 4 lessons, nett
S$50 to S$55 a lesson (length not published)
A trial at no charge after a short assessment
EduGrove
Learning through games and drama
7 (East, North-East, Central, West)
Playgroup to Sec
Max 12
Not published
Not estimated
Bookable, terms not published
HAO Chinese Tuition
A strong child already taking Higher Chinese
6 (Central, West, East, North-East)
P1 to P4 Higher Chinese only, P5 and P6 both streams
Average 6 to 8
From S$627.84 a term of twelve 2-hour lessons, GST included
From about S$26
A trial at no charge
Hua Cheng Education Centre
Most Chinese-only branches, separate writing course
16 (all regions)
Preschool to Sec
Not published ("small")
Not published
Not estimated
Enquiry form, terms not published
Jiang Education Centre
Long 3-hour weekly lesson
8, plus Jurong West in 2027 (Central, West, East, North-East)
Preschool to Sec 4
Not published
Not published
Not estimated
Bookable, terms not published
MandarinStars
A child at AL5 to AL7, dyslexia or ADHD
1 address published (Central, Bukit Timah), Novena timetable listed
K2 to P6, Foundation classes at P5 and P6
2 to 5
S$125 weekday or S$135 weekend per 2-hour lesson
S$62.50 to S$67.50
Bookable, price not published
MindChamps
A chain with Chinese beside English, maths and science
22 for P1 to P5 (all regions)
P1 to P5
1 trainer to 15
Not published
Not estimated
Bookable, terms not published
Simply Education
Small groups at a multi-subject centre
3 (East, Central, North-East)
P1 to JC
Average 4 to 8
Not published
Not estimated
Not published
Yanzi Mandarin
Homes where English is the main language
2 (East, West) plus Zoom
K1 to JC
Max 6
Not published
Not estimated
Charged at the pro-rated price of one lesson
A group hour is shared by several children, so compare these figures with a one-to-one hour carefully. Registration fees, material charges and refund terms are in each centre's entry below.
Each of the ten shows three things on its own site.
A lower primary Chinese class. A named P1, P2, P3 or P4 programme, not only preschool Mandarin or PSLE crash courses.
Course content in public view. What each level learns, how long a lesson runs or how big a class is.
Classes still running. A live timetable, 2027 enrolment notice or current branch list.
Two centres that appear on other lists fell out at this step. Little Gems Learning Centre's website has expired, and we could not find an official site for SLC (School of Language and Communication), so neither could be checked. HAO, Jiang and Yanzi also appear in our Higher Chinese centres list, and HAO and EduGrove in our PSLE Chinese centres list, because each runs a full primary course. Here they are judged on their P1 to P4 classes only.
Entries run A to Z, which says nothing about merit. No centre paid to be listed here.
The 10 centres in detail
Berries World of Learning School
Berries has taught Chinese to young children since 1993 and stops at P6, so lower primary is central to what it does.
From P1 each level splits into a core Chinese class and a High Potential class, and an Elite class is added from P3, with entry decided by a review of the child's written work.
Lessons last 2 hours.
Oral work runs through Show-and-Tell and a picture-based speaking routine the centre calls Stick-and-Share, and lower primary writing moves from single picture sentences to a 3-picture composition.
Homework continues on an online portal, Berries Campus, with in-house exercise books in class.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Class size
12 to 14
Levels
N1 to P6
Suits: a P1 or P2 child who is already ahead and would be bored in a standard group, since the High Potential stream starts in the first year.
May not suit: a shy child who needs many turns to speak, as classes hold 12 to 14.
Fees: not published. Trial terms are not published either.
Outlets by nearest MRT (our reading):
Central: Bishan (Bishan Street 11, the only outlet labelled P1 to P6), Farrer Road (Farrer Gardens), Tanjong Pagar (100 AM), Fort Canning (Oxley Edge, River Valley Road) and Toa Payoh (SAFRA Toa Payoh).
North: Yishun (Northpoint City).
North-East: Punggol Coast (Punggol Digital District), Buangkok (Buangkok Square), Hougang (Hougang RiverCourt), Kovan (Simon Road) and Woodleigh (The Woodleigh Mall).
Which stream would you place my child in, and on what evidence?
Does the outlet near us run P1 to P4 classes, or only preschool?
How many Stick-and-Share speaking turns does each child get in a 2-hour lesson?
Bespoke Learning Centre
Bespoke is a neighbourhood centre teaching several subjects, and it is one of only three on this list to print a lower primary Chinese price.
Groups take up to 8 children, and the Chinese course was written in-house by former MOE teachers. Teachers include native Chinese speakers and ex-MOE educators. Lessons cover the four skills, with word pairing (词语搭配), sentence making (造句), composition planning, oral practice on picture prompts and listening drills, plus storytelling and reading material.
A lesson, length not published
S$50 to S$55
Class size
Max 8
Levels
P1 to P6
One of 4 nearest MRTs
Khatib
Suits: a standard-stream P1 to P4 child in the north or east whose parents want a fixed monthly cost.
May not suit: parents who want to know how long each lesson runs before signing up, since the page does not say.
Fees: S$200 a month at P1 and P2 and S$220 at P3 and P4, for 4 lessons, stated as nett. Months with a fifth lesson are charged pro rata. Registration and deposit are not mentioned. A trial lesson at no charge follows a short assessment, after which the centre recommends a class.
Branches by nearest MRT (our reading): Khatib (Khatib Central, 846 Yishun Ring Road), Canberra (Canberra CC, Sembawang), Punggol (SAFRA Punggol) and Tampines (CPF Building, Tampines Central 5).
How long is each lesson, so we can work out the hourly cost?
How does the course teach hanyu pinyin at P1?
How many children are in the P2 group at this branch now?
EduGrove
EduGrove (also called Changemakers) teaches through play from playgroup upwards.
Primary classes take up to 12 children for 2 hours at P1 to P4, and each week focuses on one part of the exam in turn: oral, composition, the main paper, then comprehension.
P1 concentrates on hanyu pinyin, vocabulary and speaking.
P2 adds reading techniques and a first look at picture composition.
At P3 and P4, children act out a picture story before writing it, and new words come in through flashcard games and improvised role play.
Each lesson also has a circle time where children talk in Mandarin.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Class size
Max 12
Levels
Playgroup to Sec
Suits: an active child who switches off during worksheets and remembers words better by acting them out.
May not suit: a child who goes quiet in a group of 12, or parents who want a price before they visit.
Fees: not published. A trial is booked through an online form, with no length or price stated.
Centres by nearest MRT (our reading): Pasir Ris (White Sands), Tampines (Our Tampines Hub), Marine Parade (Parkway Parade office tower), Ang Mo Kio (AMK Hub), Woodleigh (The Woodleigh Mall), Sengkang (Anchorvale Village) and SAFRA Choa Chu Kang.
With a four-week rotation, how often does a P3 child write a full picture composition?
How long does each child speak during circle time?
Is there a Higher Chinese group at P3 and P4, or only from P5?
HAO Chinese Tuition
HAO teaches only Chinese, from age 3 to 16, and it is the one centre here whose P1 to P4 classes are Higher Chinese only.
Standard Chinese classes begin at P5.
Each term is twelve 2-hour lessons with 6 to 8 children on average, covering comprehension, composition, oral and listening.
Two short courses matter for lower primary: a 12-lesson Hanyu Pinyin programme for pronunciation, reading and pinyin typing, and a Read and Recognition (2R) class for primary pupils who are weak in Chinese, which the centre advises for any child scoring below 60% on Paper 2.
Our per-hour estimate
From about S$26
Average class size
6 to 8
P1 to P4 classes
Higher Chinese only
Suits: a P1 to P4 child already in a school Higher Chinese group or heading for one, or a child of any stream who needs the pinyin or 2R short course.
May not suit: a standard-stream child who needs a weekly class before P5.
Fees: from S$627.84 a term including 9% GST (S$576 before GST). HAO calls this a starting price and asks parents to confirm the fee for their child's level. Registration and materials are not listed. The three main programmes offer a trial at no charge.
Centres by nearest MRT (our reading): Novena or Toa Payoh (Wai Wing Centre, 501 Balestier Road), Jurong East (2 Venture Drive), Bukit Batok (Bukit Batok Central), Hong Kah North CC (Bukit Batok Street 31), Bedok Reservoir (Bedok Reservoir Road) and Kovan (Upper Serangoon Road).
What is the actual term fee for P3 Higher Chinese at this centre?
Can a standard-stream P2 child join the Hanyu Pinyin or 2R course alone?
How are the 2R and Higher Chinese groups kept apart?
Hua Cheng Education Centre
Hua Cheng was set up in June 2000 and now lists 16 Chinese-only centres.
Its core primary course, ACE, follows the chapters of the school textbook, revising the tested vocabulary each lesson with flashcards and stories, and it includes one-to-one oral practice on popular exam topics. A separate CCW course (conversation, comprehension and writing) runs from P2 to P6 and focuses on composition technique. Children who are confident in Chinese can take Elite, which combines ACE and CCW in one slot.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Class size
Not published
Levels
Preschool to Sec
Suits: a P1 to P4 child who struggles to keep up with school textbook chapters, or a P2 to P4 child whose writing lags the rest.
May not suit: parents who want a group size or price on paper, since neither is printed.
Fees: not published. The site takes enquiries through a form, and trial terms are not given.
Centres by nearest MRT (our reading): North: Yishun (Junction Nine). North-East: Hougang (The Midtown), Punggol (Oasis Terraces and One Punggol CC), Sengkang (Rivervale CC) and Fernvale. East: Bedok (Heartbeat@Bedok), Tampines (Century Square), Pasir Ris (Loyang Point) and Marine Parade (Parkway Centre). Central: Upper Thomson (Thomson Plaza, the headquarters), Farrer Park (City Square Mall), Botanic Gardens (Serene Centre) and Tiong Bahru (Central Plaza). West: Beauty World (Bukit Timah Plaza) and Jurong East (Vision Exchange).
Does ACE keep pace with my child's school textbook chapter week by week?
How often does the one-to-one oral practice happen?
Should a P3 child take CCW on top of ACE, or Elite instead?
Jiang Education Centre
Jiang has taught Chinese since 1995 and runs the longest weekly lesson on this list: 3 hours, split into two 1.5-hour halves.
At P1 one half works on understanding stories and reading aloud with feeling, and the other trains composition and oral, from four-element sentences to 把 and 被 sentences and short spoken retellings.
Its lower primary pages also cover pinyin, strokes and word cards.
P2 adds silent reading and finding key information.
P3 brings picture-based composition with metaphor and personification, and P4 moves comprehension towards PSLE question types.
Most levels run 20 lessons a semester, and a P1 Chinese Preparation Course runs in the school holidays.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Class size
Not published
Levels
Preschool to Sec 4
Suits: a child who copes with a long lesson and benefits from reading and writing in the same week, near Bugis, Toa Payoh, Marine Parade or Punggol.
May not suit: a young child who tires after an hour or so, or parents who want a price first.
Fees: not published. Class size and trial terms are not given, though each level page has a trial booking button.
Centres by nearest MRT (our reading): Bugis (Fu Lu Shou Complex), Toa Payoh (600 Lorong 4 Toa Payoh), Beauty World (Beauty World Centre), Mountbatten (Mountbatten CC), Marine Parade (101A Marine Parade Road), Punggol Coast (Punggol Coast Mall), plus West Coast Plaza and Tengah CC. A Jurong West centre at Boon Lay Place is listed as opening in 2027.
Is there a break between the two halves of a 3-hour P1 lesson?
How many children share a P3 class?
What does the holiday P1 Preparation Course cover, and is it worth taking before Term 1?
MandarinStars
MandarinStars is built for children who are failing or close to it.
It names its target group as pupils scoring AL5 to AL7, and it supports dyslexia, ADHD and other learning needs with help from a child psychologist.
Groups hold 2 to 5 children sorted by reading and writing level, and lessons follow the school textbook in small steps, with memory aids, writing templates, storytelling and role play.
After each lesson the teacher posts a summary to a parent portal.
Separate composition and comprehension classes run at P3 and P4.
Our per-hour estimate
S$62.50 to S$67.50
Class size
2 to 5
Levels
K2 to P6
Nearest MRT
Sixth Avenue
Suits: a P1 to P4 child who has fallen behind, dislikes Chinese, or has a diagnosed learning need.
May not suit: a child who is already scoring well, since the pace is deliberately slower, or families far from Bukit Timah.
Fees:
S$125 per 2-hour lesson on weekdays and S$135 at weekends for P1 to P6, with a one-time S$50 registration fee and S$40 a term for materials.
GST is not mentioned.
The FAQ puts a term at S$1,000 to S$1,500 depending on level and number of lessons, and terms run 10 or 12 lessons.
Fees are paid before the term and are not refundable or transferable, and each term allows up to 2 make-up lessons with a medical certificate or school letter.
A trial class is booked through the contact form, with no price given.
Branch: 733 Bukit Timah Road, Second Avenue Junction, nearest MRT Sixth Avenue by our reading. The timetable also lists P2 to P5 classes at a Novena location whose address is not published.
How do you decide which group of 2 to 5 my child joins?
Does the child psychologist see each new pupil?
Is a P2 lesson 1 hour 45 minutes or 2 hours, since the FAQ and fee table differ?
MindChamps
MindChamps runs Chinese as one of four subjects in its enrichment programme for P1 to P5, alongside English, maths and science.
Each class is 2 hours a week for 10 lessons a term, with one trainer to 15 children, the largest group on this list.
Its Chinese goals include spotting key ideas in a passage, using common idioms in compositions, applying new phrases in daily situations and giving opinions aloud.
The centre states that its students have achieved up to 6 grade improvements across the four subjects, a figure it says an audit firm checked.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Trainer to children
1 to 15
Levels
P1 to P5
Suits: a family that wants Chinese and other subjects under one roof, with 22 centres to pick from.
May not suit: a child who needs a teacher's close attention, given the 1 to 15 ratio, or parents who want a Chinese specialist.
Fees: not published. A trial lesson is booked online, with terms not stated.
Centres:
22 run the P1 to P5 programme.
By our count of the list, 7 are in the centre (including Toa Payoh Central, Square 2 at Novena and Central Plaza at Tiong Bahru), 4 in the east (Tampines Junction, Pasir Ris Mall, The Flow on East Coast Road and Bedok South), 4 in the west (Clementi, Jurong West Street 51, West Coast Plaza and Bukit Timah Plaza), 4 in the north-east (The Woodleigh Mall, Lorong Chuan, Greenwich V and Marina Country Club at Punggol) and 3 in the north (Woodlands, Sembawang Shopping Centre and Yishun).
Is Chinese taught by a Chinese specialist or a general trainer?
With 15 in a class, how often does each child speak in Mandarin?
Can my child take Chinese on its own, without the other subjects?
Simply Education
Simply Education teaches maths, science, English and Chinese across three centres, and it is unusually clear about what each lower primary year learns.
P1 reads with hanyu pinyin, practises pronunciation on textbook words and writes simple sentences. P2 adds role play and recognising radicals and strokes. P3 rewrites and expands sentences and fills in cloze passages, and P4 moves to short essays, picture compositions, idioms, poems and riddles. Classes average 4 to 8 children, and a missed lesson can be made up when a slot is free, with the notes handed over.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Average class size
4 to 8
Levels
P1 to JC
Suits: a child who needs small-group attention and a parent who wants a year-by-year plan to check against school work.
May not suit: parents who want a Chinese-only centre or a printed fee.
Fees: not published. Trial terms are not given.
Centres by nearest MRT (our reading): Tampines (Tampines Street 21), Tiong Bahru (18 Jalan Membina) and Hougang (Hougang Central).
How many children are in the P1 class at our nearest centre?
How do you check that a P1 child is reading pinyin correctly?
Is make-up teaching a full lesson or the notes only?
Yanzi Mandarin
Yanzi has taught Chinese since 1997, from K1 to JC, and caps every class at 6.
Lessons last at most 1.5 hours, and the centre explains that it spends less time on copying and more on heading off common character errors.
Its curriculum is written by an author of Chinese assessment books.
Its FAQ speaks directly to families who speak mostly English at home: teachers are bilingual and use English to bridge meaning while building the child's Mandarin.
The centre states that 90% of its PSLE students reach AL1 to AL3.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Class size
Max 6
Levels
K1 to JC
Suits: a child from an English-speaking home who needs explanations in English at first, and who does better in a very small group.
May not suit: parents who want a full fee schedule online, since fees are given on request.
Fees: not published. Fees are billed monthly in advance and pro-rated to the lessons in that month, and a lesson missed for personal or medical reasons is refunded or carried forward. A trial class is charged at the pro-rated price of one lesson.
Centres by nearest MRT (our reading): Katong Park (Katong Shopping Centre, 865 Mountbatten Road) and Beauty World. The contact page gives two Bukit Timah addresses, Bukit Timah Shopping Centre and Beauty World Plaza, both near Beauty World MRT, so confirm which one before you go. Classes also run live on Zoom.
How much English does the teacher use with a P1 child, and when does that taper off?
What does one lesson cost, so we know the trial price?
Which Bukit Timah address are P1 to P4 classes held at?
What P1 to P4 Chinese covers in school
Knowing what the school teaches in these four years makes it easier to judge any centre's course.
Core, bridging and the other modules
MOE's primary Chinese course is modular. Every child takes the core module from P1 to P6, and Yumin Primary puts it at about 80% of Chinese lesson time.
1Bridging, lower primaryChildren who start P1 with little or no Chinese first get a bridging module in lower primary, which builds listening and speaking and supports character recognition before they move fully into the core work.
2Reinforcement, P3 and P4Extra help in middle primary.
3Enrichment, upper primaryModules that stretch strong pupils.
Schools arrange this in their own way. Mayflower Primary regroups P1 to P4 pupils at the end of each year into bridging, core and Higher Chinese groups. St Anthony's Primary shows Higher Chinese classes from P3. So a P2 child may already be in a support group or a stretch group at school. That is worth asking the school about before you choose a tuition level.
The course itself was refreshed for the P1 cohort of 2024, with more games, animation and technology, and MOE says it uses differentiated resources for school and home. The children starting P1 in 2027 are the fourth cohort on it.
Hanyu pinyin, oral and reading from P1
Pinyin is the reading aid that lets a young child sound out words before they know the characters. It is also tested at the end of primary school: the language use section of PSLE Chinese, 15 multiple-choice items worth 30 marks, includes hanyu pinyin along with characters, words and sentences. That is why several centres here make pinyin a P1 focus, among them EduGrove, Jiang and Simply Education, while HAO sells a separate 12-lesson pinyin course.
Speaking comes first in lower primary. St Anthony's Primary describes oracy as the base for reading and writing in these years. Reading has its own time too. MOE's MTL SOAR reading programme, introduced to all P1 and P2 pupils in 2025, gives 30 minutes of Chinese lesson time to reading and library activities, and MOE plans to extend it to every primary level by 2029.
The PSLE oral that these skills lead to has two parts: reading a passage aloud, then a conversation based on a short video, after 10 minutes of preparation. A centre that only does worksheets at P1 to P4 is skipping the skills that matter most later.
Chinese residents who spoke mainly English at home in 2025, up from 47.6% in 2020
57.1%
PSLE marks for language use, which includes hanyu pinyin
30
Chinese lesson time for reading under MTL SOAR in P1 and P2
30 min
the year-end results that decide banding for P5 and P6
P4
School assessments from P1 to P4
Level
What the school does
What you see
P1 and P2
No weighted assessments and no exams, a change MOE made in 2019
Qualitative descriptions of learning, not marks
P3 and P4
No more than one weighted assessment per subject each term, plus a year-end exam in most schools
Marks and grades in the report book, with no class or level position
End of P4
Results feed the subject-based banding recommendation
An option form for the P5 and P6 combination
Because P1 and P2 have no marks, parents often only learn a child is behind when P3 tests begin. Ask the school teacher how your child reads aloud and recognises characters, and look at the qualitative descriptors at the end of each term.
Schools set their own P3 and P4 plans. Ferngreen Primary, for example, counts termly class tests and the year-end exam as weighted assessments, and lets oral exams be the only papers that can be made up after an absence.
The P4 decision: Higher, standard or Foundation Chinese
At the end of P4 the school recommends a subject combination for P5 and P6 based on the P4 results, and you fill in an option form. The rules MOE sets out are below.
The school checks again during P5 and can adjust the levels at the end of that year. At P6 your child sits the combination the school recommends.
For the PSLE Score, Foundation Chinese grades A, B and C count as AL6, AL7 and AL8. MOE notes that taking a Foundation subject is not a disadvantage in itself. Higher Chinese does not change the PSLE Score, but a Distinction or Merit is one route to Higher Chinese in secondary school, as is AL1 or AL2 in standard Chinese. HCL grades also break ties for places in SAP schools.
So P3 and P4 decide more than they seem to. A child heading for Higher Chinese at P5 needs strong P4 results, which is where centres such as Berries (Elite from P3) or HAO (Higher Chinese only below P5) fit. A child at risk of Foundation needs help early in P3, where MandarinStars or HAO's 2R course are aimed.
When Chinese is not spoken at home
The 2025 General Household Survey found that 57.1% of Chinese residents spoke English most often at home, while 36.0% spoke Mandarin most often, a shift from 47.6% and 40.2% in 2020. Most of those English-speaking homes still use some Mandarin as a second language. For many P1 children, the Chinese lesson in school is the main time they hear the language at all.
Three things help in these homes:
Pick a centre whose teachers will explain in English at first, such as Yanzi, which says so in its FAQ.
Look for lots of speaking and reading aloud rather than copying, since oral and reading are where English-speaking children fall behind first.
Give your child a few minutes of Mandarin a day at home, from a read-along e-book or a recorded passage, because a weekly class alone cannot make up for a week of silence.
Primary Chinese group class or one-to-one tutor for P1 to P4, 2027
Point
Group class at a Chinese centre
One-to-one Chinese tutor
Hourly cost
About S$26 (HAO, Higher Chinese only) to S$67.50 (MandarinStars) where a fee and lesson length are printed, shared across the group
S$25 to S$35 part-time, S$35 to S$45 full-time, S$50 to S$70 current or ex-MOE on our P1 to P4 rate card
Speaking time
Split between 2 and 15 children, depending on the centre
Your child speaks for most of the lesson
Pace
Set by the centre's weekly plan or the school textbook
Matched to your child's school chapter and weak spots
English support
Varies, so ask how much English the teacher uses
You choose a tutor who explains in English where needed
Suits
A sociable child who learns from hearing classmates speak
A shy child, a child far behind, or one from an English-speaking home
For a P1 or P2 child, speaking time matters more than anything else, and that is the main difference between the two. A centre group is cheaper per hour because the hour is shared. Our pricing page has the full rate card for every level.
Berries (Jurong East, Clementi, Bukit Batok, West Coast), EduGrove (Choa Chu Kang), HAO (Jurong East, Bukit Batok, Hong Kah North), Hua Cheng (Beauty World, Jurong East), Jiang (Beauty World, West Coast, Tengah), MindChamps (4 centres), Yanzi (Bukit Timah)
Central
Berries (Bishan, Farrer Road, Tanjong Pagar, River Valley, Toa Payoh), HAO (Balestier), Hua Cheng (Thomson, Farrer Park, Serene Centre, Tiong Bahru), Jiang (Bugis, Toa Payoh), MandarinStars (Bukit Timah, Novena), MindChamps (7 centres), Simply Education (Tiong Bahru)
Online
Yanzi (Zoom)
How to choose
1Find out where your child standsAsk the school teacher about reading aloud, character recognition and speaking, since P1 and P2 report books carry no marks.
2Match the class to the gapA play-based class for a child who resists Chinese, a long reading and writing lesson for one who is behind on both, a tiny group for one who is failing.
3Check the streamHAO teaches only Higher Chinese below P5, and Berries splits by stream from P1, so confirm the class matches your child's school group.
4Work out the real costAdd registration, materials and any deposit, then divide by the hours a month buys. Ask how long a lesson runs where the site does not say.
5Watch a trial with school work in handBring the latest school worksheet or spelling list and see whether the teacher can work from it.
What to look for in a P1 to P4 trial lesson:
What to check
What you want to see
Speaking turns
Your child speaks Mandarin several times, not just once at the end
Pinyin and tones
The teacher corrects tones as your child reads aloud
Characters
New words are taught in sentences and stories, not only copied in rows
English use
Enough English to explain, with Mandarin as the language of the lesson
Link to school
The teacher asks which textbook chapter your child is on
Any centre that teaches classes of 10 or more children should appear on MOE's private schools register, which you can search online. A listing says nothing about teaching quality, but a missing one is worth asking about.
Common questions
When should my child start Chinese tuition, at P1 or later?
There is no fixed age, but P1 and P2 have no exams, so a gap in reading or speaking often goes unnoticed until P3 tests begin. If your child struggles to read aloud or recognise characters in P1, starting then is easier than catching up in P3 or P4.
Which primary Chinese centres suit a child from an English-speaking home?
Yanzi Mandarin says its bilingual teachers use English to bridge meaning and that many of its pupils come from English-dominant homes. MandarinStars also names children from non-Chinese-speaking homes among those it serves, in groups of 2 to 5.
Which centres teach hanyu pinyin at P1?
EduGrove and Simply Education name pinyin in their P1 course outlines, and Jiang's lower primary pages cover it too. HAO runs a separate 12-lesson Hanyu Pinyin programme that also covers typing Chinese with a pinyin keyboard.
What does a P1 to P4 Chinese class cost per hour?
From about S$26 at HAO (Higher Chinese only) to S$62.50 to S$67.50 at MandarinStars, the only two centres here that print both a fee and a lesson length. Bespoke charges S$50 to S$55 a lesson but does not state how long a lesson runs.
Which centres keep lower primary Chinese classes smallest?
MandarinStars groups 2 to 5 children, Simply Education averages 4 to 8 and Yanzi caps classes at 6. HAO averages 6 to 8, Bespoke caps at 8, EduGrove at 12, Berries runs 12 to 14 and MindChamps has one trainer to 15.
What happens with Chinese at the end of P4?
The school uses P4 results to recommend standard, Foundation or Higher Chinese for P5 and P6, and you state your preference on an option form. Higher Chinese may be offered if your child passes all four subjects and does very well in Chinese.
Can my child take Higher Chinese before P5?
Some schools run Higher Chinese groups earlier, such as St Anthony's Primary from P3. Among centres, HAO teaches only Higher Chinese from P1 to P4, Berries has a High Potential stream from P1, and Berries adds an Elite class from P3.
My child is failing Chinese or has dyslexia. Which centre fits?
MandarinStars is built for children scoring AL5 to AL7 and those with dyslexia or ADHD, with a child psychologist supporting its teachers. HAO's Read and Recognition course is aimed at primary pupils scoring below 60% on Paper 2.
Which centres run more than one Chinese class type at P3 and P4?
Hua Cheng adds a conversation, comprehension and writing course from P2, MandarinStars has separate P3 and P4 composition and comprehension classes, and Berries offers three streams at P3 and P4.
How much is a one-to-one P1 to P4 Chinese tutor through TSS?
Our lower primary bands are S$25 to S$35 (part-time), S$35 to S$45 (full-time) and S$50 to S$70 (current or ex-MOE) per hour, and the first lesson doubles as a paid trial.
Written by Theon Teo, Founder and Mathematics Tutor, The Singapore Syllabus. DigiPen Institute of Technology Singapore, Game Development & Computer Science · 3 years' Mathematics teaching (Primary & Secondary). More about Theon
For 2027. Free to ask.
P1 Chinese home tutor for 2027
Tell us about your child in P1 in 2027. 3 to 12 tutor profiles on WhatsApp within 16 hours, and you choose.
No contract and no minimum number of lessons. The first lesson is a paid trial at the tutor's rate. Rated 4.9 on Google.