Skip to main content
Education23 min read

Best Creative Writing Classes in Singapore (2027): 10 Compared

Written and reviewed by Theon Teo, Founder · editorial policy

We compared 10 creative writing and English composition classes in Singapore using only what each centre publishes, read on 8 November 2026. Fees per hour, class sizes, branches by region, trial terms and what PSLE and SEC writing papers actually test.

The best creative writing class depends on what your child needs from it. For PSLE composition and nothing else, look at Writers at Work's PURE Composition class (P4 to P6) or The Writer's Place. For a child whose drafts need marking and a rewrite every week, Write Edge gives written feedback at the end of each lesson and sets a corrected second draft as homework. For a younger child who simply loves stories, Speech Academy Asia's year-long course ends with a book your child writes, and Julia Gabriel's Think N' Ink moves from creative writing to composition. For secondary situational writing with a visual text, Write Edge and Writers Studio both name it in their secondary programmes. In the north, The Writer's Place has two Woodlands branches and one at Bukit Panjang. The lowest published fee is The Write Tribe, online at S$54 for a 2-hour P5 or P6 lesson, and the lowest centre-based fee is The Writer's Place at S$66 for a P5 or P6 lesson of 1 hour 45 minutes.

How we chose these centres

We started from the centres that rank on Google for "creative writing classes Singapore", "PSLE composition class" and "English composition tuition", and the names that recur on the top comparison pages. From those we kept centres that met four tests.

  1. Writing is the main product. Each one runs a named creative writing or composition programme, not just general English with some writing.
  2. Publishes its programme. Levels, what lessons cover and branches are on its own site, so you can check them.
  3. Active for 2027. Each lists current branches, a current schedule or 2027 registration.
  4. A spread of needs and places. We wanted PSLE composition specialists, story-led classes for younger children, secondary writing, online options, every region and a range of prices.

The order below is not a ranking. Where a centre does not publish a fact, we say "not published". We left out Google ratings because we could not read a dated rating for every centre from a source we opened, and a partial set would not compare fairly. We also left out time-limited offers such as early-bird discounts, and quote standard fees only.

The 10 classes compared

Our per-hour figure is an estimate. We divide the published lesson fee by the lesson length. Where a fee covers several lessons, we divide by the number of lessons first. We use the fee as published, because most of these centres either include GST or do not say.

CentreBest forBranches (area)LevelsClass sizeFees as publishedOur per-hour estimateTrial
Writers at WorkPSLE composition only, P4 to P68 (West, Central, North-East, East)K2 to Sec 4Not publishedP6 PURE Composition S$436 for 4 two-hour lessons, P4 and P5 S$392.40, GST includedS$49 (P5), S$55 (P6)Trial lesson, cost not published
Write EdgeWeekly marked drafts, most branches13 plus online (all regions)P1 to Sec 46 to 8S$85 per 2-hour P5 or P6 lesson, S$95 at Sec 1 to 4S$43 (P5, P6), S$48 (Sec)Bookable, terms not published
The Writer's PlacePrimary composition in the north3 (North, West)P1 to P6Up to 12P5 and P6 S$792 for 12 lessons of 1 h 45 min, GST not statedS$38 (P5, P6)Assessment offered, trial terms not published
The Write ConnectionOriginal writing, widest network12 plus online (all regions)K2 to Sec 4Not publishedS$90 per 2-hour P5 or P6 weekday lesson, S$100 at Sec 1 to 4, GST includedS$45 (P5, P6), S$50 (Sec)Open house with a teacher consultation
Writers StudioStory planning, primary to IP2 (Central, North-East) plus onlineK2 to Sec 4 and IP6 to 8, weekend up to 10Not publishedNot publishedBookable, terms not published
Jan & EllySmall primary classes, central and east5 (Central, North-East, East)P2 to P6 compositionUp to 9Not publishedNot publishedBookable, terms not published
Julia Gabriel CentreYounger readers moving into composition5 (Central, East, North-East)P1 to P6Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedTrial page linked, terms not published
Speech Academy AsiaA year-long course that ends in a book13 (all regions)Ages 6 to 16Not publishedNot publishedNot published90-minute trial at no charge
Big Ideaz EducationOnline composition, monthly feeOnline only (Zoom)P2 to P6Small, number not publishedP5 S$220 and P6 S$230 a month for four 2-hour lessonsS$28 (P5), S$29 (P6)Trial on request, cost not published
The Write TribeLowest fee, online composition and essaysOnline only (Zoom)P1 to upper secondaryMax 8S$54 per 2-hour P5 or P6 lesson, S$66.60 upper secondary essay, listed with no GSTS$27 (P5, P6), S$33 (upper sec)First trial S$36

A centre hour is shared with a class, so these figures are not like for like with a one-to-one hour. Registration fees, deposits and materials are in each centre's entry below.

The 10 classes in detail

Writers at Work

What is distinctive. A writing centre whose signature method, STORYBANKING®, builds a bank of ideas, vocabulary and examples that a child draws on in the exam. For P4 to P6 it runs a PURE Composition Writing programme that teaches composition only, alongside a Comprehensive English programme from K2 to Sec 4. The P6 course lists question and picture analysis, story plotting and twists, a phrase bank, self-editing and a storybank of 35 to 40 stories, with regular timed practice. The centre states that for 14 years its students have scored full marks in composition, essay and oral exams.

Suits: a P5 or P6 child who freezes at the blank page and needs a ready store of plots to adapt. Less suited to: a child who needs situational writing practice from the same class, since the PURE Composition pages do not mention it.

Fees as published: PURE Composition is S$392.40 for 4 lessons at P4 and P5 and S$436 at P6. Comprehensive English is S$436 for 4 lessons at P6, S$501.40 at Sec 1 and 2 and S$545 at Sec 3 and 4. All lessons are 2 hours and fees include GST. Registration, deposit and materials are not published. The centre says it can open a new class with at least 3 students.

Branches and nearest MRT (our reading of the address): Clementi Avenue 4 (Clementi), King's Arcade on Bukit Timah Road with classrooms at Crown Centre, Djitsun Mall in Ang Mo Kio Central (Ang Mo Kio), Marine Parade Central (Marine Parade), Tampines Junction (Tampines), Ci Yuan Community Club on Hougang Avenue 9, Central Plaza on Tiong Bahru Road (Tiong Bahru) and Bishan Street 22 (Bishan).

Website: writersatwork.com.sg

Ask at the trial: How many students are in the P6 PURE class? How do you stop a child forcing a memorised story onto the wrong picture? Is situational writing taught anywhere in the programme?

Write Edge

What is distinctive. An English and writing centre with 13 branches and an online class. Its Primary Creative Writing class has 6 to 8 students and a full composition is written in class every one or two weeks. Each student gets written feedback at the end of the lesson, and the homework is a corrected second draft. Lessons mix skills such as show-not-tell, the five senses and personification with themed topics, and children practise building a story around one, two or three pictures, as the PSLE asks. Mock assessments run in Term 2 for P1 to P4 and in Terms 2 and 3 for P5 and P6. The centre states that 75% of its students scored AL1 to AL4 in PSLE English over the past 5 years.

Suits: a child who writes plenty but repeats the same errors, and needs each draft corrected and rewritten. Less suited to: a secondary student who also wants oral practice, as the secondary course says it covers everything except listening and oral.

Fees as published (2026): S$70 per 2-hour lesson at P1 and P2, S$80 at P3 and P4, S$85 at P5 and P6 and S$95 at Sec 1 to 4, billed as 12-lesson terms (S$1,020 for P5 and P6). There is an S$80 registration fee and a S$100 refundable deposit, and materials are free. The page says the Tampines and Westgate branches are subject to 9% GST but does not say whether the listed fees include it.

Branches and nearest MRT (our reading of the address): Punggol Central (Punggol), Great World (Great World), Bedok North Street 1 (Bedok), West Coast Community Centre in Clementi West, Woods Square (Woodlands), The Poiz Centre (Potong Pasir), Yishun Street 51, Westgate (Jurong East), Anchorvale Crescent in Sengkang, Beauty World Centre (Beauty World), Brighton Crescent off Upper Serangoon, Lorong Ah Soo, and Tampines Plaza 1 (Tampines), plus live online classes.

Website: write-edge.com

Ask at the trial: Is GST added at my branch? Who marks the second draft, and how quickly does it come back? How is situational writing covered at P5 and P6?

The Writer's Place

What is distinctive. A primary creative writing specialist since 2009 (MOE registration 3287). Each level has a named stage, from Foundations at P1 to PSLE Mastery at P6. Children complete up to 8 guided compositions a term, learn up to 100 new words a term, and practise finishing a composition in 50 minutes. The P6 page sets out the PSLE Paper 1 split of 14 marks for situational writing and 36 for continuous writing, and focuses on continuous writing.

Suits: a P3 to P6 child in the north or Bukit Panjang whose composition is the weak paper. Less suited to: secondary students, or a child who needs very small classes, as P6 classes take up to 12.

Fees as published: P5 and P6 are S$792 for 12 lessons of 1 hour 45 minutes, about S$66 a lesson. There is an annual material fee of S$50 and no deposit. GST is not stated. Fees for other levels were not on the pages we read. The site offers an assessment, but trial terms are not published.

Branches and nearest MRT (our reading of the address): Woodlands Galaxy Community Club on Woodlands Avenue 6, Vista Point at Woodlands Drive 44 (Woodlands South), and Junction 10 at 1 Woodlands Road in Bukit Panjang.

Website: thewritersplace.com.sg

Ask at the trial: How many children are in this class right now? Does the P6 programme teach situational writing or only continuous writing? What do the fees look like below P5?

The Write Connection

What is distinctive. A writing-led centre with 12 branches and an online class. It uses a method developed in Sydney in 2002 and has run in Singapore since 2012. It runs separate Writing Enrichment and English Tuition programmes for P1 to P6, Critical Reading and Writing for Sec 1 to 4, a K2 preparatory class and debate courses.

Suits: a child whose stories are thin or formulaic and who needs to find a voice of their own, with a branch near most homes. Less suited to: parents who want the class size before they enrol, as it is not published.

Fees as published: S$90 per 2-hour P5 or P6 lesson on weekdays and S$95 at weekends. Sec 1 to 4 is S$100 on weekdays and S$105 at weekends. Fees include GST and are collected by the term. There is an S$85 registration fee, a S$100 refundable deposit and S$12.50 of materials a term.

Branches and nearest MRT (our reading of the address): Ang Mo Kio Avenue 6, Bukit Timah (moving to Guthrie House on 28 December 2026), Bishan Community Club (Bishan), SAFRA Choa Chu Kang, City Square Mall (Farrer Park), Parkway Parade (Marine Parade), Tampines CPF Building (Tampines), Woodlands Square (Woodlands), Jurong Gateway (Jurong East), Punggol Plaza, SAFRA Toa Payoh and The Woodleigh Mall (Woodleigh), plus online.

Website: thewriteconnection.com.sg

Ask at the trial: How many students are in the class? Should my child join Writing Enrichment or English Tuition for PSLE? How is the method adapted for situational writing?

Writers Studio

What is distinctive. A two-branch English school with a creative writing programme, STARBRIGHT, for P1 to P6, and an integrated writing programme, STELLAR, that covers the wider English paper. Each STARBRIGHT lesson moves through theme analysis, warm-up tasks, phrases, story planning and independent writing, and children cover at least 40 composition topics a year. Its secondary course, STARDREAM, covers situational writing with the new visual text and discursive and expository essays. Classes are usually 6 to 8 students, with weekend classes capped at 10.

Suits: a child who needs a planning routine and plenty of topics, and families who want one school from primary into IP. Less suited to: families who want fees in writing before they call, or who live in the west or east.

Fees as published: not published. Payment is made in full before lessons.

Branches and nearest MRT (our reading of the address): Beauty World Centre on Upper Bukit Timah Road (Beauty World) and Hougang Street 21 (Kovan). From 2026 STELLAR and STARDREAM classes can also run online or hybrid.

Website: writerstudio.com.sg

Ask at the trial: What is the fee per term? Should my child take STARBRIGHT or STELLAR for PSLE? Who marks the writing and when is it returned?

Jan & Elly

What is distinctive. An English language school whose Primary Composition class for P2 to P6 uses visual prompts and story starters, show-don't-tell, structured planning such as mind maps and character sketches, and revision cycles with peer review. The site puts classes at a maximum of 9 students. It also runs Primary English for P1 to P6 and early reading classes.

Suits: a P2 to P4 child who needs to build ideas and vocabulary before PSLE work, near the centre or east. Less suited to: secondary students, as composition classes stop at P6.

Fees as published: not published.

Branches and nearest MRT: iMall at 5 Marine Parade Central (Marine Parade, as the centre states), plus Bukit Timah Plaza, Greenwich V in Seletar, Toa Payoh Community Club and The Woodleigh Mall, whose street addresses were not on the pages we read.

Website: jan-elly.com

Ask at the trial: What is the fee and lesson length? How many children are in the class now? When does PSLE-style picture work start?

Julia Gabriel Centre

What is distinctive. A speech, drama and literacy centre. Its Think N' Ink programme for P1 to P6 (ages 7 to 12) uses a text-type approach, guiding children from creative writing to composition and functional writing. It also covers reading different text types, comprehension, grammar and punctuation, and PSLE strategies.

Suits: a lower primary child who enjoys stories and needs confidence before exam-style writing. Less suited to: a P6 child who needs timed composition drills, or anyone who wants fees and class size up front.

Fees as published: not published. A trial page is linked, with terms not published.

Centres and nearest MRT (our reading of the address): Forum on Orchard Road (Orchard), Tampines Mall (Tampines), Greenwich V on Seletar Road, The Woodleigh Mall (Woodleigh) and New Bahru on Kim Yam Road. The page does not say which centres run Think N' Ink.

Website: juliagabriel.com

Ask at the trial: Which centre runs Think N' Ink at my child's level? What is the fee and class size? How much composition writing is done in each lesson?

Speech Academy Asia

What is distinctive. A speech and communication school that runs a creative writing course for ages 6 to 16 with WriteHaus Asia, led by Ms Durga Poonambalam. It is a 12-month, project-based course: children workshop their writing with peers, present it, and compile their own book by the end.

Suits: a child who loves writing and wants a project, including secondary students up to 16. Less suited to: a child who needs PSLE composition marks soon, as the page does not mention exam formats.

Fees as published: not published. The trial is a 90-minute class at no charge.

Branches and nearest MRT (our reading of the address): JEM (Jurong East), Tampines CPF Building (Tampines), Marina Country Club in Punggol, Goldhill Shopping Centre (Novena), Parkway Centre (Marine Parade), Kensington Park Road in Serangoon, Beauty World Centre (Beauty World), Upper Thomson Road (Upper Thomson), The Woodleigh Mall (Woodleigh), Jalan Malu-Malu in Sembawang, Serene Centre on Jalan Serene, Pearl's Hill Terrace (Outram Park) and Hougang Street 32. Ask which branches run the writing course.

Website: speechacademyasia.com

Ask at the trial: Which branches run this course and when? What does the full year cost? How is the writing marked, and how is it linked to school compositions?

Big Ideaz Education

What is distinctive. An online composition school on Zoom for P2 to P6. Its curriculum builds vocabulary and writing strategies, children scan and submit worksheets, and marked work comes back through shared folders. It also runs English Paper 2 classes for P4 to P6, self-paced writing courses, holiday workshops and a composition marking service.

Suits: a P3 to P6 child who works well on screen and needs steady weekly practice at a low fee. Less suited to: a child who needs a teacher beside them, as there is no centre.

Fees as published: per month of 4 lessons, P1 and P2 S$150, P3 S$160 and P4 S$170 (1.5-hour lessons), P5 S$220 and P6 S$230 (2-hour lessons). GST is not mentioned. Fees are collected by the 11-week term. There is a one-time S$30 registration fee, a S$100 refundable deposit and S$10 of materials a term. Monthly payment adds a S$10 monthly admin fee and a deposit of one month's fees.

Location: online only.

Website: bigideaz.sg

Ask at the trial: How many children are in the Zoom class? How fast is marked work returned? How much notice is needed to withdraw?

The Write Tribe

What is distinctive. An online composition and essay school on Zoom with classes capped at 8. It uses in-house markers who mark as an exam would, a rewrite system and a reward system. It runs separate composition and Paper 2 classes for upper primary and essay and Paper 2 classes for secondary. The centre states that 60 to 70% of its students reached AL1 to AL3 in PSLE English over five years.

Suits: a child who works well online and needs a composition marked and rewritten each week, at the lowest fee here. Less suited to: families who want a short trial run, as new primary students commit to 20 lessons.

Fees as published: P1 S$45 per 1.5 hours, P2 S$47.70, P3 and P4 S$50.40 per 2 hours, P5 and P6 composition S$54 per 2 hours, lower secondary essay S$63 and upper secondary essay S$66.60 per 2 hours, all listed with no GST. There is a S$50 deposit and a S$50 registration fee, both non-refundable. The first trial is S$36.

Location: online only.

Website: thewritetribe.com.sg

Ask at the trial: Who marks the scripts and how fast do they come back? What happens if my child stops before 20 lessons? How is situational writing taught?

What the writing papers actually test

A good class teaches to the real paper. Here are the two writing papers these centres prepare for.

PSLE English Paper 1 (Writing)

SEAB's PSLE English syllabus (0001) has applied since the 2025 PSLE. SEAB had not posted a 2027 format page when we checked on 8 November 2026, so check its site early in 2027.

PartWhat the child writesMarksTime
Situational writingA short functional piece, such as a letter, email or report, to suit the purpose, audience and context of a given situation141 h 10 min for both parts
Continuous writingA composition of at least 150 words on a given topic, based on at least one of three pictures36
Paper 1 total50 of 20025% of the grade

Three things follow for choosing a class:

  • Pictures, not memorised stories. The three pictures offer different angles on one topic, and the composition must use at least one. A class that teaches how to read and choose a picture beats one that hands out model essays.
  • Situational writing is 14 marks. Several composition classes above focus on continuous writing, so ask where the situational piece is taught.
  • Time is shared. SEAB said in July 2026 that pupils can move between the two parts within the 1 hour 10 minutes, and that the 150-word guide is there to help them pace themselves. SEAB does not publish a content and language split of the 36 marks.

In 2026 Paper 1 was held on Thursday 24 September. The 2027 date is not yet published, and late September 2027 is expected. Our PSLE composition guide walks through planning, the picture choice and a full example, and our PSLE English paper-by-paper guide covers the rest of the exam.

SEC English Paper 1 (Writing) from 2027

From 2027 the Singapore-Cambridge SEC replaces the O-Level and N-Level. G3 (K300) replaces O-Level English, and G2 (K200) has the same three sections with shorter word limits.

SEC English Paper 1 in 2027, from SEAB's K300 and K200 syllabuses
PointG3 (K300)G2 (K200)
Paper 1 overall70 marks, 35% of the grade, 1 h 50 min70 marks, 35% of the grade, 1 h 50 min
Editing10 marks, a passage of up to 250 words10 marks
Situational writing30 marks, 250 to 350 words, based on a visual text30 marks, 180 to 250 words, based on a visual text
Continuous writing30 marks, 350 to 500 words, one of four topics30 marks, 250 to 400 words, one of four topics
How the 30 marks splitTask fulfilment or content 10, language 20Task fulfilment or content 10, language 20

Two thirds of each writing mark rewards language, so a secondary writing class should spend real time on accurate, varied sentences, not only ideas. The situational task always involves a visual text, such as a poster or web page, and the continuous topics may ask for narrative or argument. Our SEC situational writing guide breaks down the visual text task, and the SEC comprehension and summary guide covers Paper 2.

Class, home tutor or online?

Writing class or one-to-one tutor, 2027
PointWriting class at a centre or onlineOne-to-one tutor, at home or online
Cost per hourAbout S$27 to S$55 at P5 and P6 from the published fees above, shared with the classS$30 to S$80 at P5 and P6 and S$35 to S$95 at Sec 3 and 4, from our rate card
Who sets the paceThe class programme and topic listThe tutor, around your child's own drafts
FeedbackWritten comments, often returned the following weekEach draft can be gone through line by line in the lesson
Situational writingVaries, so askCan be covered as often as needed
Best forA child who enjoys writing with peers and is keeping upA child stuck on one problem, such as planning, paragraphing or running out of time

Online classes such as The Write Tribe and Big Ideaz sit at the low end of class prices. A one-to-one tutor costs more per hour but spends the whole hour on one child's writing. Our pricing page has the full TSS rate card.

By area

RegionClasses with a branch there
NorthThe Writer's Place (Woodlands x2), The Write Connection (Woodlands), Write Edge (Woodlands, Yishun), Speech Academy Asia (Sembawang)
North-EastWriters at Work (Ang Mo Kio, Hougang), Write Edge (Punggol, Sengkang, Lorong Ah Soo, Brighton Crescent), The Write Connection (Ang Mo Kio, Punggol), Writers Studio (Kovan), Jan & Elly (Greenwich V), Julia Gabriel Centre (Greenwich V), Speech Academy Asia (Punggol, Serangoon, Hougang)
EastWriters at Work (Marine Parade, Tampines), Write Edge (Bedok, Tampines), The Write Connection (Parkway Parade, Tampines), Jan & Elly (Marine Parade), Julia Gabriel Centre (Tampines), Speech Academy Asia (Tampines, Marine Parade)
WestWriters at Work (Clementi), Write Edge (Clementi West, Westgate), The Writer's Place (Bukit Panjang), The Write Connection (Choa Chu Kang, Jurong East), Speech Academy Asia (Jurong East)
CentralWriters at Work (Bukit Timah, Tiong Bahru, Bishan), Write Edge (Great World, Potong Pasir, Beauty World), The Write Connection (Bukit Timah, Bishan, City Square, Toa Payoh, Woodleigh), Writers Studio (Beauty World), Jan & Elly (Bukit Timah, Toa Payoh, Woodleigh), Julia Gabriel Centre (Orchard, Woodleigh, New Bahru), Speech Academy Asia (Novena, Beauty World, Upper Thomson, Woodleigh, Serene Centre, Pearl's Hill)
OnlineBig Ideaz Education, The Write Tribe, Write Edge, The Write Connection, Writers Studio (some programmes)

How to choose

  1. Find the real problemRead your child's last three marked compositions. Thin ideas, weak language, poor planning and running out of time each need a different class.
  2. Match the class to the ageStory-led classes suit P1 to P3. From P4, look for picture-based PSLE practice and situational writing.
  3. Check the true costAdd registration, deposit and materials to the lesson fee, check GST, and work out the cost per hour.
  4. Bring a marked script to the trialAsk the teacher to look at a real school composition, so you see how they give feedback.
  5. Ask about rewritesProgress in writing comes from redrafting. Ask whether every composition is marked and rewritten.

At the trial, check these five things:

CheckA good answer looks like
MarkingComments that name a problem and show a fix, not just a mark
RewritesA corrected second draft the following week
Picture choiceThe child is taught to pick and interpret one of three pictures
Situational writingTaught for PSLE and, at secondary, with a visual text
TimingTimed writing to the real limits: 1 h 10 min at PSLE, 1 h 50 min for SEC Paper 1

One warning sign is a pile of model compositions to memorise. The PSLE composition must use one of three fresh pictures and SEC essays offer four new topics, so a learned essay rarely fits. A centre teaching 10 or more students should appear in MOE's private schools search, though registration is not a mark of quality.

If one-to-one sounds right, tell us your child's level and what goes wrong in their writing. Our composition tuition page explains how we match writing tutors, and our O-Level and SEC English tuition page covers secondary writing.

Common questions

Which is the best creative writing class in Singapore?

It depends on the need. From our comparison, Writers at Work and The Writer's Place focus on PSLE composition, Write Edge gives feedback and a rewrite every lesson, and The Write Tribe has the lowest published fee.

How much do creative writing classes cost in Singapore?

From the published fees we read on 8 November 2026, P5 and P6 composition classes cost about S$27 to S$55 per hour. Online classes are cheapest, and four of the 10 centres do not publish fees.

What age should my child start creative writing classes?

Story-led classes such as Speech Academy Asia's start at 6, and most composition classes start at P1 or P2. Many families move to PSLE-style composition in P4 or P5, when picture-based writing gets harder.

What is the difference between creative writing and composition tuition?

Creative writing classes build imagination, vocabulary and voice, often through projects. Composition tuition trains the PSLE or SEC task to time, including picture choice and situational writing, and most centres here mix the two.

Does a PSLE composition class cover situational writing?

Not always. Situational writing is 14 of the 50 Paper 1 marks, but some composition-only programmes focus on continuous writing, so ask before you enrol.

How long is the PSLE composition?

At least 150 words, based on at least one of three pictures. Situational and continuous writing share 1 hour 10 minutes.

How many words is SEC English continuous writing in 2027?

350 to 500 words at G3 and 250 to 400 at G2, on one of four topics. Situational writing is 250 to 350 words at G3 and 180 to 250 at G2, based on a visual text.

Are online creative writing classes worth it?

They can be, for a child who works well on screen. The Write Tribe and Big Ideaz both mark submitted work, and their published fees are the lowest here.

What class size is best for creative writing?

Smaller classes leave more time to mark and discuss each draft. Of the centres that publish a size, Write Edge and Writers Studio run 6 to 8, The Write Tribe caps at 8, Jan & Elly at 9 and The Writer's Place up to 12.

How much is one-to-one composition tuition through TSS?

From our rate card, S$25 to S$70 an hour at P1 to P4, S$30 to S$80 at P5 and P6 and S$35 to S$95 at Sec 3 and 4, by tutor type. The first lesson is a paid trial at the tutor's rate.

Official sources

Centres' own pages, read 8 November 2026:

Theon Teo

Written by Theon Teo, Founder and Mathematics Tutor, The Singapore Syllabus. DigiPen Institute of Technology Singapore, Game Development & Computer Science · 3 years' Mathematics teaching (Primary & Secondary). More about Theon

For 2027. Free to ask.

PSLE 2027 English home tutor

Tell us about your child in P6 in 2027. 3 to 12 tutor profiles on WhatsApp within 16 hours, and you choose.

No contract and no minimum number of lessons. The first lesson is a paid trial at the tutor's rate. Rated 4.9 on Google.

Tell us about your child

We use your number only to send your shortlist on WhatsApp, and you choose the tutor. Privacy

Add level, subjects, budget (optional)

Optional, helps us match faster. We can also ask you on WhatsApp.

Subjects
Lessons
Budget per hour

Pick a level to see our rates for it.

Tutor preferences

Prefer to talk first? WhatsApp +65 8971 7546