The 10 centres in detail
Ancourage Academy
What is distinctive. Higher Chinese runs as its own course at P5 and P6 and from Sec 1 to Sec 4, in classes of 3 to 6. Primary lessons are 1.5 hours and secondary lessons 2 hours, with all worksheets included. The P5 course covers in-depth reading, idioms and higher-register vocabulary, advanced composition and an introduction to classical Chinese, and each course page sets out the PSLE or SEC K355 paper format. It is an MOE-registered centre.
Suits: a P5 child just starting Higher Chinese who needs close attention, or a secondary student in the north or centre. May not suit: a family that wants to compare fees online first, since fees are quoted on request.
Fees as published: Not published. The pricing page says fees depend on level, subject and class type, with no registration, material or administrative fees, and packages of 4, 12 or 24 lessons. The trial class is S$18 as standard.
Branches: Bishan, 152 Bishan Street 11 #01-215. Woodlands, Vista Point, 548 Woodlands Drive 44 #02-16. Online classes are offered. Nearest MRT is not stated on the pages we read.
Website: ancourage.academy
Ask at the trial: What is the monthly fee for P5 Higher Chinese? Is the class only for HCL students? How much classical Chinese is taught, given it is not a separate PSLE section?
Busy Bees Learning Centre
What is distinctive. A Chinese specialist founded in 2000 with two centres in the Bukit Timah corridor. Its P5 and P6 Advanced course runs 3 hours a session and covers composition, comprehension for both Chinese and Higher Chinese, and oral. Its secondary course combines O-Level Chinese and Higher Chinese in 2-hour sessions, and it runs holiday workshops such as a Sec 4 HCL oral intensive. Teachers are MOE-registered, and the centre states that 76% of its students achieve A1 to B3 for O-Level Higher Chinese.
Suits: a west-side or Bukit Timah family that wants a long-running Chinese specialist and a longer weekly session at P5 and P6. May not suit: a family that wants a class taught only to HCL students or a published fee, since the site shows neither.
Fees as published: Not published. Trial terms are not published.
Branches: HillV2, 4 Hillview Rise #01-15, near Hillview MRT Exit B. Balmoral Plaza, 271 Bukit Timah Road #02-18/19, a short walk from Newton MRT.
Website: bblcchinese.com
Ask at the trial: Are HCL and standard Chinese students in the same class? How many are in it? What does a month cost?
Chen Higher Chinese
What is distinctive. A Higher Chinese specialist run by Ms Chen, who lists 13 years teaching Higher Chinese, Chinese and Chinese Literature at primary, secondary, IB and IP levels, a Master of Education (Chinese Language) from NIE, where she topped her cohort, and Double First Class Honours from NTU. Her site names an Integrated Programme Chinese curriculum, model compositions, a Sec 1 HCL preparation workshop and DSA preparation. Group classes are grouped by standard, and students can join in person or online. Teachers explain hard terms in English and Chinese.
Suits: an IP or secondary HCL student in the north-east who wants a specialist and WhatsApp help between lessons. May not suit: a family that wants fees and class size in writing before calling, since neither is published.
Fees as published: Not published. The 2027 class schedule is posted, and private and group lessons are offered.
Branch: 447 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10, #01-1689. Nearest MRT is not stated on its site. Online classes run alongside.
Website: chenhigherchinese.sg
Ask at the trial: Which 2027 class suits my child's school and year? How many students are in it? What does a month cost, and is there a registration fee?
HAO Chinese Tuition
What is distinctive. The lowest published starting fee here. Its All-in-One programme covers comprehension, composition, oral and listening in each 2-hour lesson, with an average of 6 to 8 students. Unusually, its P1 to P4 classes are Higher Chinese only, P5 and P6 offer both standard and Higher Chinese, and secondary classes cover G3 Chinese and Higher Chinese.
Suits: a lower primary child whose school has offered Higher Chinese early, and a family that wants a starting price before visiting. May not suit: a P1 to P4 child taking standard Chinese, since those classes are pitched at HCL.
Fees as published: Primary from S$627.84 and secondary from S$981 for a term of 12 lessons, GST included (S$576 and S$900 before GST). The site says these are starting prices and the fee for each level and class should be confirmed. A trial at no charge is offered. Registration and deposit terms are not published.
Branches: Balestier HQ, Wai Wing Centre, 501 Balestier Road. Jurong East, 2 Venture Drive. Hong Kah North CC, 30 Bukit Batok Street 31. Bukit Batok Central, 638 Bukit Batok Central. Bedok Reservoir, Blk 744 Bedok Reservoir Road. Kovan, Tai Peng Gardens, 1030A Upper Serangoon Road. Nearest MRT is not stated on its contact page.
Website: haochinesetuition.com
Ask at the trial: What is the exact term fee for P6 Higher Chinese? Is there a registration fee or deposit? How much of each lesson goes to HCL composition?
HCL Education Centre
What is distinctive. Founded in December 2006 by Mr Wang Deqing. "HCL" stands for both Happy Chinese Learning and Higher Chinese Language, and it lists separate courses for P1 to P6 HCL, P3 to P6 Elite and Sec 1 to 4 Higher Chinese, alongside standard Chinese. It teaches three methods of its own: a set structure for oral answers, composition by theme, and a named technique for comprehension. Its Sec 4 HCL course lists the summary, forum post, argumentative essay and video-based oral that K355 tests. The centre states that its O-Level graduates' share of A grades is well above the national average.
Suits: a child taking Higher Chinese from lower primary, and a family that wants a branch close to home in any region. May not suit: a parent who needs fees and class size before visiting, since neither is published.
Fees as published: Not published. Trial terms are not published.
Branches: Central: Bishan, Thomson V2, Bukit Timah Plaza, Zhongshan Mall, Central Plaza (Tiong Bahru). East: iMall Marine Parade, Eastpoint Mall (Simei), CPF Tampines Building. North-East: Sengkang, Buangkok, Rivervale Mall, Kovan. West: West Coast, Choa Chu Kang. North: Yishun (Nee Soon East CC), The Woodgrove (Woodlands). The region grouping is ours.
Website: hcleducation.com.sg
Ask at the trial: How many students are in the HCL class at this branch? What does a month cost? Is the oral structure adjusted for children who already speak well?
Jiang Education Centre
What is distinctive. A Chinese specialist running since 1995, with dedicated Higher Chinese classes for each year from Sec 1 to Sec 4. Each runs as two semesters of 20 lessons (January to May and July to November), 2 hours a lesson, with homework built on the MOE Higher Chinese textbook vocabulary. Its course pages work through each paper: writing, comprehension, and oral with reading aloud and video-based conversation. It also runs an O-Level intensive and a short-term exam preparation course.
Suits: a secondary student who wants a semester structure and a branch in the west, east or north-east. May not suit: a primary child needing Higher Chinese, since its primary pages do not list an HCL class, or a family that wants a published fee.
Fees as published: Not published. A trial class can be booked, and its cost is not stated.
Branches: Fu Lu Shou Complex, 149 Rochor Road. Toa Payoh, 600 Lorong 4 Toa Payoh. Beauty World Centre, 144 Upper Bukit Timah Road. West Coast Plaza, 154 West Coast Road. Tengah CC, 119 Plantation Crescent. Mountbatten CC, 87 Jalan Satu. The Anchor at Marine Parade, 101A Marine Parade Road, near the MRT exits. Punggol Coast Mall, Punggol Way. A Jurong West centre at 325 Boon Lay Place is listed as opening in 2027.
Website: jiang.edu.sg
Ask at the trial: What does one semester of Sec 3 Higher Chinese cost? How many students are in the class? Is the trial charged?
Mind Stretcher
What is distinctive. The largest network here, with 29 centres and an online option, and published 2027 fees. Higher Chinese 4Cs runs at P5 and P6, and Higher Chinese at Sec 1 to Sec 4 and IP Years 1 to 4, each 2 hours a week. Students use the centre's own materials, and its Chinese lessons use a 3-step approach to open-ended comprehension questions. Higher Chinese can be bundled with other subjects for a discount of up to 20%.
Suits: a family that wants Higher Chinese alongside other subjects at a centre close to home, at a known price. May not suit: a family that wants a published class size, since none is given.
Fees as published (Academic Year 2027): P4 to P6 S$272.50 per subject for 4 weekday weeks or S$294.30 at weekends, rising to S$340.63 and S$367.88 in a 5-week month. Sec 1 to 4 S$294.30 weekday or S$316.10 weekend for 4 weeks, S$367.88 and S$395.13 for 5. GST is included. Registration is S$76.30, and the deposit is 5 academic weeks' fees per subject. A one-time paid trial class is offered. Its P5 and P6 level pages show S$261.60 to S$283.40 a month, which differs from the 2027 fees page, so confirm which applies.
Branches: 29 centres: 8 in the West, 4 Central, 4 North, 10 North-East and 3 East, by the site's own grouping, plus online.
Website: mindstretcher.com
Ask at the trial: How many students are in this HCL slot? Which fee table applies to 2027? Is the class all HCL students, or mixed with standard Chinese?
Ms Li Higher Chinese Tuition
What is distinctive. A secondary-only Higher Chinese studio led by Ms Li, who taught Higher Chinese at a SAP secondary school for eight years before teaching tuition full time. She studied at Raffles Junior College, NUS (Chinese Language and Chinese Studies) and NIE. Lessons are one-to-one or in small groups, use her own worksheets and oral videos, and follow each student's school topics. It covers Sec 1 to Sec 4, O-Level and IP students, with a dedicated Sec 1 course for students new to secondary HCL.
Suits: a secondary student who wants one experienced teacher every week and lessons that track the school's own work. May not suit: a primary child, or a family that wants a published fee.
Fees as published: Not published. Rates are shared on enquiry with the available lesson times. Trial terms are not published.
Location: Mostly face to face near Bartley and Serangoon MRT, with online lessons, and occasional home visits. The exact address is shared once a place is confirmed.
Website: higherchinesetuition.sg
Ask at the trial: Is the slot one-to-one or a group, and how many are in the group? What is the hourly rate? How do you prepare students for the K355 oral with its 2-minute talk?
Ruixing Chinese
What is distinctive. Published fees and a clear account of how Higher Chinese is taught by level. From P1 to P4, HCL students join the standard Chinese class with extra HCL material, in groups of at most 6. From P5, Ruixing opens a separate, dedicated Higher Chinese class. Secondary HCL is taught too, with availability depending on the year. Teachers are bilingual university graduates with at least 6 years of local teaching, and students get a library of over 2,000 Chinese stories one month after enrolling.
Suits: a family near the city that wants a fixed monthly fee, a group of at most 6, and the option of one-to-one lessons. May not suit: a family in the heartlands, since it has one centre, or a lower primary child who needs a class taught only at HCL level.
Fees as published (2026 price list): P5 to P6 group S$318 a month, Sec 1 to 2 S$408 and Sec 3 to 4 S$438, each for 4 lessons of 2 hours, materials included. One-to-one is S$488 a month at primary (S$60 an hour) and S$648 at secondary (S$80 an hour). Registration is S$20, and a S$100 deposit is refunded with one month's notice. A group trial is at no charge, and a one-to-one trial is S$30 for 2 hours. Online group fees are quoted case by case. GST is not mentioned.
Branch: ICB Enterprise House, 116 Middle Road #05-04, a 5-minute walk from Bugis MRT.
Website: ruixingchinese.com.sg
Ask at the trial: Is there a 2027 secondary HCL class for my child's year? Will the 2027 fees change? Are fees inclusive of GST?
Yanzi Mandarin
What is distinctive. A Chinese specialist running since 1997 with a Higher Chinese programme for P5 and P6, secondary and IP students, in classes of at most 6. Its curriculum is written by an author of Chinese assessment books, and lessons cover composition, comprehension, oral and vocabulary. Fees are billed monthly and charged only for lessons attended, so a missed lesson is refunded or carried forward. The centre states that 90% of its Higher Chinese students achieve a Distinction.
Suits: a strong student in the east or Bukit Timah area aiming for a Distinction or A1 in a small group. May not suit: a family that wants a published fee or lesson length, since neither is on its site.
Fees as published: Not published. Fees are settled on the 1st of each month, in advance, pro-rated to the lessons attended. A trial class is charged at the pro-rated price of one lesson.
Branches: Katong Shopping Centre, 865 Mountbatten Road #02-31 and #05-15. Bukit Timah Shopping Centre, 170 Upper Bukit Timah Road #04-39/40. Online lessons on Zoom. Nearest MRT is not stated on its site.
Website: yanzimandarin.com
Ask at the trial: What does one lesson cost, and how long is it? Is the class all HCL students? How do you prepare P6 students for a paper with no oral?
What the exam actually tests
Higher Chinese is examined twice: at PSLE in Primary 6 and at the SEC in Secondary 4. The papers are different in shape, and so is what the grade is used for. Our guide to Higher Mother Tongue covers the decision to take it, and Higher Chinese from PSLE to Sec 1 covers the move between the two.
PSLE Higher Chinese (0015)
SEAB has not yet posted its 2027 PSLE formats, so this is the format examined in 2026, which has applied since 2017. There is no oral and no listening paper. The oral and listening your child sits are part of standard PSLE Chinese.
| Paper | Time | Marks | Weighting | What it contains |
|---|
| Paper 1 Writing | 50 minutes | 40 | 40% | One narrative of at least 200 characters. Choose 1 of 2: a set-title composition or completing a passage |
| Paper 2 Language use and comprehension | 1 hour 20 minutes | 60 | 60% | Cloze, 5 multiple-choice questions (10 marks). Character and word correction, 5 questions (10). Comprehension 1, 6 questions (16). Comprehension 2, 7 questions (24) |
Higher Chinese is graded Distinction, Merit or Pass, and is not added to the PSLE Score. Primary schools publish the mark bands as Distinction 80 and above, Merit 65 to 79, Pass 50 to 64, and Ungraded below 50. Comprehension 2 alone is worth 24 of the 100 marks, and writing 40, so a tutor who works only on vocabulary is missing most of the paper. Our PSLE Chinese composition guide covers the narrative skills both papers share.
SEC Higher Chinese (K355) from 2027
The 2027 Sec 4 cohort sits the new Secondary Education Certificate. Higher Chinese is syllabus K355, which replaces O-Level 1116, and is worth 200 marks.
| Paper | Time | Marks | Weighting | What it contains |
|---|
| Paper 1 Writing | 2 hours | 80 | 40% | Practical writing, an email or a forum post of at least 220 characters (20 marks). Composition of at least 500 characters, narrative, expository or argumentative, speeches included (60). A dictionary approved by SEAB may be used |
| Paper 2 Language use and comprehension | 1 hour 45 minutes | 80 | 40% | Passage cloze (10), sentence correction (10), comprehension 1 (10), comprehension 2 on two passages (38) and a summary of about 80 characters (12). 25 questions |
| Paper 3 Oral | About 20 minutes | 40 | 20% | 10 minutes to watch a video clip and make notes, then a talk of up to 2 minutes (20) and a discussion with the examiner (20) |
There is no listening paper in K355. SEC subjects are graded A1 to 9, with A1 to C6 counted as passes. Our guide to Mother Tongue under the SEC covers the full timeline, and SEC grading explains the grades.
What a Higher Chinese grade is used for