Skip to main content
Education21 min read

Best IB Physics Tuition in Singapore (2027): 10 HL and SL Options Compared

Written and reviewed by Theon Teo, Founder · editorial policy

Ten places that teach IB Diploma Physics in Singapore, side by side: HL and SL classes, published fees turned into a cost per hour, group sizes, branches with the nearest MRT, IA support, and how Paper 1, Paper 2 and the scientific investigation are weighted in the course first examined in 2025.

The right IB Physics class depends on HL or SL, the exam session and how far your child has to travel.

  • Lowest published group rate: Axiom Education in Holland Village, S$65 an hour, with groups planned around the November session.
  • Groups of 4 with IA guidance: Photon Academy on Tank Road.
  • Three branches, one monthly fee: Future Academy runs 2-hour IB science classes for S$616 a month.
  • East: Ingel Soong in Tampines charges S$720 a month for four 2-hour IB Physics lessons.
  • HL with a single physics specialist: Phang Yu Hon at Physics.com.sg in Bishan has taught physics since 1997.
  • One-to-one with tutors who scored a 7 in HL Physics: IB Lounge.

Each fee below is given in the unit the provider uses. Only five of the ten state a price, so the per-hour column is our own sum for those five and reads "not published" for the rest.

The 10 IB Physics tuition options compared

ProviderBest forBranch or areaLevelsClass sizeFees as publishedOur per-hour estimateTrialGoogle rating
Axiom EducationLowest published group rateHolland Village (Central)HL and SL, Year 5 and 6Not publishedGroup S$65 an hour (four 2-hour lessons a month), one-to-one S$120 an hour or packagesS$65 group, S$90 to S$120 one-to-oneOne-to-one trial S$90 an hour, group trial button says no chargeNot shown with a count
Future AcademyA weekly 2-hour class at three branchesBugis, Bukit Timah, Braddell (Central), onlineIB sciences, HL and SLUp to 6S$616 for 4 lessons of 2 hours, S$1,848 for 13 lessonsAbout S$77Not publishedNot shown with a count
IB LoungeOne-to-one with tutors who scored a 7 in HL PhysicsAddress not published, in person or onlineHL and SL, DP1 and DP2One-to-one or 4Not publishedNot possible, fee not publishedPay per class for the first lesson, price not statedNot shown with a count
IB SuperA multi-subject IB centre at Dhoby GhautSingapore Shopping Centre (Central)IB Physics, HL and SL not split on the pageNot publishedNot publishedNot possible, fee not publishedNot publishedNot shown with a count
Ingel SoongAn east-side tutor for several sciencesTampines (East)IB Physics, HL or SL not statedNot publishedGroup S$720 a month for four 2-hour lessons, private S$1,120 a month for four 2-hour lessonsS$90 group, S$140 privateNot publishedNot shown with a count
Mindlab InternationalIA guidance at an Orchard IB centreFar East Plaza, Scotts Road (Central), onlineHL and SLNot publishedNot publishedNot possible, fee not publishedOffered, price not statedNot shown with a count
Photon AcademyGroups of 4 with IA guidanceTank Road near Fort Canning (Central), onlineHL and SLUp to 4S$480 for 4 group lessons, S$600 for 4 one-to-one lessons, 1.5 hours eachAbout S$80 group, about S$100 one-to-oneOffered with no commitment, price not stated5.0, no count shown
Physics.com.sgHL with one long-serving physics tutorBishan (Central), ZoomHL onlyGroup only, size not publishedIB fee not publishedNot possible, fee not publishedNo trial lessons, says the siteNot shown with a count
Princeton Review SingaporeIA coaching at a central IB site, or onlineTripleOne Somerset (Central), onlineHL and SLSmall, number not publishedS$90 to S$120 an hour in person, S$65 to S$90 onlineS$90 to S$120 in person, S$65 to S$90 onlineExam-style test and consultation at no charge5.0, no count shown
Student's InnGroup or individual lessons in OrchardFar East Shopping Centre (Central)HL and SLNot publishedNot publishedNot possible, fee not publishedConsultation at no chargeNot shown with a count
IB Physics: hourly cost by provider where fee and lesson time are both published (S$)
  • Axiom EducationS$65 to S$120S$65 group, S$90 to S$120 one-to-one
  • Princeton Review SingaporeS$65 to S$120S$90 to S$120 in person, S$65 to S$90 online
  • Future AcademyS$77About S$77
  • Photon AcademyS$80 to S$100About S$80 group, about S$100 one-to-one
  • Ingel SoongS$90 to S$140S$90 group, S$140 private

None of the ten shows a Google rating together with a reviewer count on its own page, so no rating appears here as a score.

Our own service: a one-to-one IB Physics tutor at home

The Singapore Syllabus is the agency publishing this page. It is set apart here and not ranked among the ten.

LevelPart-timeFull-timeEx-MOE or MOE
IB Physics, HL or SLS$45 to S$60S$65 to S$90S$90 to S$130

See our IB Physics tuition page, our IB tuition page and our rates.

How we chose these ten

Three of theirs were left out:

  • Edulab Academy's IB page lists no physics.
  • Tutor Next Door has no IB Physics page or own website that we could find.
  • Quintessential Education lists physics among its IB subjects, but is left out to keep this page from repeating our other IB lists.
  1. IB Physics by nameThe provider has a page, programme or subject listing for IB Diploma Physics, not only A-Level, O-Level or IGCSE physics.
  2. Something you can checkThe page gives at least one of a fee, tutor, class size, timetable or topic plan for IB Physics.
  3. A live operationIt shows a current address or an online class, and a 2026 or 2027 timetable or enrolment link.
  4. A spread of choicesGroup and one-to-one, physics specialists and multi-subject IB centres, and more than one region.

No centre paid to be listed here. Entries below run in alphabetical order, not in rank order.

The 10 IB Physics providers in detail

Axiom Education

Axiom publishes the most detailed IB Physics plan of any provider here.

Hourly, our working
S$65 group, S$90 to S$120 one-to-one
Group size
Not published
Levels
HL and SL, Year 5 and 6
MRT
Holland Village
  • Good fit: a Year 5 or Year 6 student at a school that sits the November exams, since the group classes are planned around that session.
  • Less of a fit: a May-session student who wants a group class, or a family that wants to know the group size before enrolling, since none is given.
  • Year 5 HL: measurements, kinematics and momentum in Term 1, then circular motion, rigid body mechanics, circuits and simple harmonic motion, then waves, gas laws and thermodynamics, ending the year on gravitational, electric and magnetic fields.
  • Year 6 HL: electromagnetic induction, atomic structure, quantum physics, radioactive decay, fission, fusion and stars, and relativity, before two terms of revision.
  • SL plan: leaves out rigid body mechanics, simple harmonic motion, thermodynamics, quantum physics and relativity.
  • Tutors: named tutors include Amir Rahman, who holds a BSc in Physics from NUS.

Cost: a month of group physics is four lessons of 2 hours, billed at S$65 per hour. Single one-to-one hours cost S$120, and bundles bring that down. S$1,120 buys 10 hours, S$2,500 buys 25 and S$4,500 buys 50, so the 50-hour rate is S$90. The trial for one-to-one is charged at S$90 an hour, yet the page also carries a button for a group trial at no charge. The page says nothing about a registration fee.

Where: Lorong Mambong in Holland Village, at number 38, a short walk from Holland Village MRT by our reckoning. Its 2027 physics timetable covers 4 January to 30 May 2027.

Site: axiomeducation.com

Questions to bring:

  • Who teaches the HL group in 2027, and how many students are in it?
  • Does a May-session student fit the group pace?
  • Is the group trial really at no charge?

Future Academy

Future Academy teaches IB Physics as part of its IB sciences programme, with core content plus HL extensions, in groups capped at a 1 to 6 teacher ratio.

Hourly, our working
About S$77
Group size
Up to 6
Levels
IB sciences, HL and SL
MRT
Rochor and Beauty World
  • Good fit: a student at one of the schools near its branches who wants a fixed weekly class and a clear monthly price.
  • Less of a fit: a family that wants a physics-only centre, or a named HL physics tutor before signing up.

Each lesson is 2 hours. The IB page names Ms Chen, a former Raffles Girls' School maths and physics teacher with more than 15 years of teaching, among its tutors. It also offers help with internal assessments and the extended essay, and runs online classes on ClassIn.

Cost: S$616 for a 4-lesson month or S$1,848 for a 13-lesson term, for A-Level and IB Diploma students alike. There is a one-time S$20 registration fee and a refundable S$150 deposit, with no material fees. Trial terms are not published.

Where: three centres, each close to a Downtown or North-South Line stop. Burlington Square at 175A Bencoolen Street (unit #06-05) is a minute or two from Rochor MRT. Bukit Timah Shopping Centre, unit #10-02 at 170 Upper Bukit Timah Road, is about 3 minutes from Beauty World MRT. OnePeople.sg at 381 Lorong 1 Toa Payoh (unit #01-12) sits a minute or two from Braddell MRT.

Site: futureacademy.sg

Questions to bring:

  • Is the physics group all HL, or mixed with SL?
  • Will Ms Chen teach physics at my branch?
  • Is there a trial lesson, and what does it cost?

IB Lounge

Every physics tutor listed on IB Lounge's physics page took IB Physics as a student and scored a 7, with diploma totals from 41 to 44.

Hourly, our working
Not published
Group size
One-to-one or 4
Levels
HL and SL, DP1 and DP2
MRT
Not published
  • Good fit: a student who wants a recent IB graduate who sat the same papers, and who works well with a near-peer tutor.
  • Less of a fit: a family that wants a career teacher or a published fee.

They come from schools such as ACS (Independent), SJI, UWCSEA East and German European School Singapore, and the page marks which tutors teach HL, SL or both. Lessons are one-to-one or in groups of four, face to face or online, using handwritten notes, paper-structure drills and past papers. WhatsApp access to the tutor through the week is included.

Cost: not published. The first lesson is paid per class, with no contract and no registration fee, says the site.

Where: no address is published. Lessons are in person in Singapore or online.

Site: iblounge.org

Questions to bring:

  • What does one lesson cost, one-to-one and in a group of four?
  • Has my child's tutor sat the course first examined in 2025?
  • Where do in-person lessons take place?

IB Super

IB Super is a multi-subject IB centre at Dhoby Ghaut with an IB Physics programme taught by Mr Peng, whose page lists an MSc, a BSc and engineering experience.

Hourly, our working
Not published
Group size
One-to-one or 4
Levels
HL and SL, DP1 and DP2
MRT
Dhoby Ghaut
  • Good fit: a student who takes several IB subjects and wants one centre near Dhoby Ghaut.
  • Less of a fit: a family that wants a fee, class size or timetable before calling.

The centre says its tutors are trained at the National Institute of Education. Its IB Physics page still sets out the syllabus examined up to 2024, with option topics such as astrophysics and engineering physics, so it is worth asking how classes follow the current guide.

Cost: not published. The page links to a shop but shows no IB Physics price. Trial terms are not published.

Where: unit #05-33 of Singapore Shopping Centre, 190 Clemenceau Avenue, which by our reckoning is closest to Dhoby Ghaut MRT.

Site: ibsuper.com.sg

Questions to bring:

  • Are lessons built on the course first examined in 2025, without options?
  • How many students are in an HL class?
  • What does a month cost?

Ingel Soong

Ingel Soong teaches physics, chemistry and maths across IB, A-Level and IP from Tampines, and every lesson is taught by Ingel himself.

Hourly, our working
S$90 group, S$140 private
Group size
Not published
Levels
IB Physics, HL or SL not stated
MRT
Not published
  • Good fit: an IB Physics student in the east who also needs help in chemistry or maths from the same tutor.
  • Less of a fit: a family that wants to know the HL and SL split, group size or IA support before calling, since none is on the page.

His page says he holds a Bachelor's degree and was offered a place at Caltech for PhD study. IB Physics runs as a group class of four 2-hour lessons a month, and the page states there are no registration fees, deposits or material fees.

Cost: group IB Physics S$720 a month for four 2-hour lessons. Private lessons in any IB subject are S$1,120 a month for four 2-hour lessons. Trial terms are not published.

Where: Block 432 Tampines Street 41. The nearest station is Tampines East on the Downtown Line.

Site: ingelsoong.com

Questions to bring:

  • Do HL and SL students share a group?
  • How many are in it?
  • Does the class cover the scientific investigation?

Mindlab International

Mindlab is an Orchard IB centre whose physics page names four physics tutors, Ms Jenn, Ms Shasha, Mr Enrico and Mr Jonathan, and calls them IBO certified.

Hourly, our working
Not published
Group size
Not published
Levels
HL and SL
MRT
Orchard
  • Good fit: a student who wants IA guidance and a choice of physics tutors at one centre.
  • Less of a fit: a family that wants a published fee or group size.

It offers internal assessment guidance for the 20% investigation, and lessons in person or online. For the May 2026 IB exams, the centre states a 100% pass rate and an average of 6 to 7 per subject, based on its own post-exam survey.

Cost: not published. A trial class can be booked, but its price is not stated.

Where: 14 Scotts Road, Far East Plaza #06-02, the address on its physics page (Orchard MRT, by our reckoning). Some directories give a Far East Shopping Centre address instead, so check before you go.

Site: mindlab-international.com

Questions to bring:

  • Which of the four tutors teaches HL, and which SL?
  • Is the lesson group or one-to-one, and how long is it?
  • What does the trial cost?

Photon Academy

Photon is an IB centre whose founder, Mr Ejaz, is its lead IB Physics tutor, with an NUS mechanical engineering degree and IBO certification.

Hourly, our working
About S$80 group, about S$100 one-to-one
Group size
Up to 4
Levels
HL and SL
MRT
Fort Canning
  • Good fit: an HL or SL student who wants a very small group and help with the investigation built in.
  • Less of a fit: a family looking for the lowest hourly rate, or a student who needs 2-hour lessons.

A second tutor, Mr Dileep, teaches IB maths and physics. Groups hold no more than 4 and lessons are 1.5 hours. IA guidance is part of the lessons, from topic choice and experimental design to data analysis and write-up structure, and the page lists the collaborative sciences project under its experimental programme. The centre states that 95% or more of students who complete a full term score a 6 or 7.

Cost: a month of four 1.5-hour lessons is S$480 in a group or S$600 one-to-one, and a part month is prorated. You can try a lesson without committing, though the page gives no trial price and lists no registration charge.

Where: the Nagarathar Building at 5 Tank Road, unit #04-03, a few minutes from Fort Canning MRT. Lessons also run over Zoom.

Site: ibtuition.sg

Questions to bring:

  • Will Mr Ejaz or Mr Dileep teach my child's group?
  • Is the group one level only?
  • What does the trial cost?

Physics.com.sg

Physics.com.sg is the class of Phang Yu Hon, who holds first class honours in electrical engineering from NUS, worked at DSO National Laboratories from 1991 to 1996 and has tutored physics since 1997.

Hourly, our working
Not published
Group size
Group only, size not published
Levels
HL only
MRT
Bishan
  • Good fit: an HL student who wants a physics specialist and does not mind a timetable whose published fees list only Sec and JC classes, with extra HL lessons in Year 6.
  • Less of a fit: an SL student, a student who wants one-to-one lessons, or anyone who wants a trial first.

Its IB page covers HL Physics, and says that in Year 6 there are extra lessons at no charge on HL topics that A-Level H2 Physics does not cover. All classes are groups, with two time slots per level and about 8 classes a week.

Cost: no IB fee is published. The fees page states that Mr Phang does not give one-to-one or trial lessons.

Where: Blk 507 Bishan Street 11 #01-398 (Bishan MRT, by our reckoning), or Zoom.

Site: physics.com.sg

Questions to bring:

  • Which class do IB HL students join in Year 5?
  • What does it cost per 4 lessons?
  • How are IB-only topics and the scientific investigation covered?

Princeton Review Singapore

Princeton Review runs its IB tuition from a separate site, where IB Physics is offered at SL and HL in small sessions, online or in person.

Hourly, our working
S$90 to S$120 in person, S$65 to S$90 online
Group size
Small, number not published
Levels
HL and SL
MRT
Somerset
  • Good fit: a student who wants IA-focused help near Somerset or online, priced by the hour. Ask first whether lessons are one-to-one or small group, since the physics page does not say.
  • Less of a fit: a family that wants a named physics tutor or a fixed group timetable.

Its physics page says coaches take students through every stage of the IA, from choosing a topic to structuring the report and checking the analysis. The site says its IB tutors average 6 years of experience and averaged 42 points in the IB themselves.

Cost: the IB site lists S$90 to S$120 an hour in person and S$65 to S$90 an hour online. Its FAQ gives lower single figures, S$90 in person and S$45 online, so ask for a written quote. An exam-style test and a consultation are offered at no charge.

Where: 111 Somerset Road #03-09, TripleOne Somerset (Somerset MRT, by our reckoning), and online on Zoom, Teams or Google Classroom.

Site: ib-dp.com

Questions to bring:

  • Which hourly rate applies to HL in person?
  • Who will teach, and have they taught the 2025 course?
  • How many sessions does IA coaching usually take?

Student's Inn

Student's Inn is an Orchard centre for IB and IGCSE students.

Hourly, our working
Not published
Group size
Not published
Levels
HL and SL
MRT
Orchard
  • Good fit: a student who wants ad hoc sessions before a test or IA deadline rather than a weekly class.
  • Less of a fit: a family that wants a named tutor or fee before getting in touch.

Its home page says all its IB tutors are current IB examiners in the subjects they teach. The IB Physics page covers both SL and HL, offers regular or ad hoc sessions in a group or one-to-one, and mentions help with physics investigations and the Group 4 project, the earlier name for what is now the collaborative sciences project.

Cost: not published. A consultation is offered at no charge.

Where: 545 Orchard Road, Far East Shopping Centre #04-08 (Orchard MRT, by our reckoning).

Site: studentsinn.com.sg

Questions to bring:

  • Which physics tutor would teach my child, and which sessions have they examined?
  • Is the lesson group or one-to-one?
  • What does an ad hoc session cost?

What does the IB Physics exam actually test?

The current IB Physics course was first examined in 2025. Standard Level (SL) takes 150 teaching hours and Higher Level (HL) takes 240. The content sits in five themes, and HL spends more time on each. For a fuller topic list at HL, see our IB Physics HL topic guide.

ThemeSL hoursHL hours
A. Space, time and motion2742
B. The particulate nature of matter2432
C. Wave behaviour1729
D. Fields1938
E. Nuclear and quantum physics2339
Practical work2040
Collaborative sciences project1010
Scientific investigation1010
Total150240

School course outlines built on the IB guide list five subtopics as HL only: rigid body mechanics, Galilean and special relativity, thermodynamics, induction, and quantum physics. We could not open the IB guide itself to confirm that list.

The papers. Every paper is sat with a clean copy of the physics data booklet.

ComponentSLHLWeighting
Paper 1 (1A multiple choice, 1B data-based questions)1 hour 30 minutes, 45 marks2 hours, 60 marks36%
Paper 2 (short-answer and extended-response)1 hour 30 minutes, 55 marks2 hours 30 minutes, 90 marks44%
Scientific investigation (IA)About 10 hours, 24 marksSame as SL20%

On the HL specimen paper, Paper 1A carries 40 of the 60 Paper 1 marks. The SL Paper 2 tests SL material only, while the HL Paper 2 adds the higher level content.

The scientific investigation. This is the internal assessment. Your child frames a research question, designs and runs the investigation, and writes it up in no more than 3,000 words. The teacher marks it out of 24 and the IB moderates the marks. Four criteria carry 6 marks each: research design, data analysis, conclusion and evaluation. A tutor can teach uncertainties, graphing and what each criterion asks for, but the investigation itself must be your child's own.

The collaborative sciences project. Every Diploma science student spends about 10 hours on this project, working with students from other sciences on a real-world problem. It is required, but it earns no marks in the physics grade, which comes only from the two papers and the investigation.

SL or HL. The weightings are identical, so the difference is depth and stamina. HL has 90 more teaching hours, the HL-only subtopics above, and 1 hour 30 minutes more in the exam hall. Papers from 2024 and earlier come from the previous course, which had a Paper 3 and options, so practise with the specimen papers and papers from May 2025 onward.

  1. 23 Apr 2027May 2027 exams begin (provisional)The window the IB has published, subject to confirmation
  2. 19 May 2027May 2027 exams end (provisional)The subject timetable comes later
  3. 5 to 6 Jul 2027Results (expected)Schools on 5 July and students on 6 July, the same pattern as 2026

Some Singapore schools take the May session and others take November, which changes when a class should peak. Axiom's groups, for example, follow November.

Centre, home tutor or online?

The five published IB Physics fees, set against the IB bands on our rate card:

PointCentre or group classOne-to-one home tutor
Cost per hourAbout S$65 to S$90 for the five that publish a group feeS$45 to S$60 part-time, S$65 to S$90 full-time, S$90 to S$130 ex-MOE or MOE (our IB rate card)
GroupFrom 4 to 6, by provider, sometimes HL and SL togetherOne student, one level
PaceSet by the group plan and its exam sessionSet by your child's school order and session
Investigation helpBuilt in at Photon, Mindlab and Princeton Review, by their pagesLessons can go to uncertainties, graphs or evaluation whenever needed
SuitsA student on track who wants weekly structureA student behind, switching from SL to HL, or chasing a 7 from a 5

A worked example: Future Academy charges S$616 for four 2-hour lessons, which is S$154 a week. Two hours a week with a part-time IB tutor at S$45 to S$60 an hour costs S$90 to S$120 a week, and with a full-time tutor at S$65 to S$90 it costs S$130 to S$180. Some HL families keep a group for the syllabus and add a few one-to-one hours before the investigation is due.

Which IB Physics options are near me?

RegionProviders teaching IB Physics
CentralAxiom Education (Holland Village), Future Academy (Bugis, Bukit Timah, Braddell), IB Super (Dhoby Ghaut), Mindlab International and Student's Inn (Orchard), Photon Academy (Tank Road), Physics.com.sg (Bishan), Princeton Review Singapore (Somerset)
EastIngel Soong (Tampines)
NorthNone found. Future Academy in Braddell and Physics.com.sg in Bishan are the nearest
North-EastNone found. Physics.com.sg in Bishan is the nearest
WestNone found. Future Academy at Beauty World and Axiom in Holland Village are the nearest
OnlineFuture Academy, IB Lounge, Mindlab International, Photon Academy, Physics.com.sg, Princeton Review Singapore

IB Physics teaching clusters in the city, around Orchard and Bukit Timah. Families in the north, north-east and west usually choose between travelling in, online lessons and a home tutor.

How to choose IB Physics tuition

  1. Pin down level and sessionConfirm HL or SL, and whether the school sits in May or November. Ask every provider which one its class follows.
  2. Find where the marks goCheck the last test. Paper 1A multiple choice, 1B data questions, long Paper 2 answers and the investigation each need different help.
  3. Check the course versionAsk whether lessons and notes follow the course first examined in 2025, with no options and no Paper 3.
  4. Turn every fee into an hourly figureDivide the fee by the hours it buys, then add registration, deposit and trial costs.
  5. Book one trialAsk what it costs first. Some are charged, some are not, and one provider here gives none.
  6. Review after a monthCompare the next school test with the last. If nothing has moved after 6 to 8 lessons, ask for a plan or change.

Trial-lesson checklist

  • Is the tutor teaching from the current guide, without option topics?
  • Is the group all HL or all SL, and how many students are in this slot?
  • Does the lesson practise Paper 1B data-based questions, not just multiple choice?
  • How are uncertainties and gradient errors taught, since they run through Paper 1B and the investigation?
  • How does the tutor help with the investigation while keeping it your child's own work?
  • Is the clean data booklet used in timed practice?
  • Can your child ask questions between lessons?
  • What happens if a lesson is missed?

Common questions

How much is IB Physics tuition in Singapore?

Of these providers, the five that publish a group fee charge about S$65 to S$90 an hour. One-to-one ranges from about S$90 an hour at Axiom to S$140 at Ingel Soong, and S$65 to S$90 an hour online at Princeton Review.

Which IB Physics class has the smallest groups?

Photon Academy caps groups at 4 and IB Lounge teaches one-to-one or in fours. Future Academy works to a teacher ratio of 1 to 6.

Is IB Physics HL much harder than SL?

HL has 240 teaching hours against 150, five extra subtopics such as rigid body mechanics and quantum physics, and 4 hours 30 minutes of papers against 3 hours. The weightings of 36%, 44% and 20% are the same at both levels.

What is the IB Physics IA worth?

The scientific investigation is worth 20% at SL and HL. It is a write-up of up to 3,000 words on the student's own research question, marked out of 24 across research design, data analysis, conclusion and evaluation.

Can a tutor help with the IB Physics IA?

Yes, within limits. A tutor can teach uncertainties, graphing and the marking criteria, but the research question, data and writing must be the student's own, and the school checks this.

Is there still a Paper 3 in IB Physics?

No. Since the 2025 exams, the grade comes from Paper 1 (36%), Paper 2 (44%) and the investigation (20%). Papers from 2024 and earlier include a Paper 3 and option topics that are no longer examined.

Does the collaborative sciences project count towards the grade?

No. It is a required 10-hour project with students from other sciences, but it carries no marks in IB Physics.

When are the May 2027 IB Physics exams?

The IB's provisional window runs from 23 April to 19 May 2027. Subject dates come out later, so check with the school.

Can an H2 Physics tutor teach IB Physics?

Much of the physics overlaps, but IB has its own data booklet, Paper 1B data questions and a 20% investigation that H2 does not. Ask whether the tutor has taught the 2025 IB course, and see our H2 Physics guide if your child is on the A-Level route.

Official sources

Theon Teo

Written by Theon Teo, Founder and Mathematics Tutor, The Singapore Syllabus. DigiPen Institute of Technology Singapore, Game Development & Computer Science · 3 years' Mathematics teaching (Primary & Secondary). More about Theon

For 2027. Free to ask.

IB Physics home tutor for 2027

Tell us about your child taking the IB in 2027. 3 to 12 tutor profiles on WhatsApp within 16 hours, and you choose.

No contract and no minimum number of lessons. The first lesson is a paid trial at the tutor's rate. Rated 4.9 on Google.

Tell us about your child

We use your number only to send your shortlist on WhatsApp, and you choose the tutor. Privacy

From S$45 an hour for IB.

Add level, subjects, budget (optional)

Optional, helps us match faster. We can also ask you on WhatsApp.

Subjects
Lessons
Budget per hour

Our rates for IB: part-time S$45 to S$60, full-time S$65 to S$90, Ex-MOE S$90 to S$130 an hour.

Tutor preferences

Prefer to talk first? WhatsApp +65 8971 7546