All facts were checked on 8 November 2026. Fees often change in January, so confirm the current figure before you pay. Nobody paid to appear here. The detail section is in alphabetical order, not a ranking. We kept overlap low with our best IB tuition guide, which covers other IB subjects, and our best chemistry tuition guide, which covers O-Level and IP chemistry.
The 10 IB Chemistry tuition options compared
The per-hour figure is our own estimate. We divided the published fee by the published lesson hours. Where a provider does not publish its fee or lesson length, we could not work it out.
| Provider | Best for | Branches (area) | Levels | Class size | Fees as published | Our per-hour estimate | Trial | Google rating (checked 8 Nov 2026) |
|---|
| Ancourage Academy | Small HL and SL groups in the north | Woodlands (North), Bishan (Central), online | HL and SL, DP1 and DP2 | 3 to 6 | Not published | Not possible, fee not published | 60-minute trial, standard price S$18 | 5.0 from 66 reviewers, on its IB Chemistry page |
| AskMrChan | HL with former ACS(I) teachers | Beauty World (West) | HL, Year 5 and Year 6 | Small, number not published | Not published | Not possible, fee not published | Offered, price not stated | Not shown |
| Axiom Education | Lowest published group fee | Holland Village (Central) | HL and SL, Year 5 and Year 6 | Not published | Group S$520 for four 2-hour lessons, 1-to-1 S$90 to S$120 an hour | S$65 group (stated by the centre), S$90 to S$120 one-to-one | Group trial button says at no charge, 1-to-1 trial S$90 an hour | Not shown |
| EduChem | IA and EE guidance from an IB examiner | Scotts Road, Orchard (Central) | IB Year 5 and Year 6, SL or HL not stated | One-to-one or small group, number not published | Not published | Not possible, fee not published | Not published | Not shown |
| Focus Chemistry | HL classes grouped by school | Balmoral Plaza, Bukit Timah Road (Central), online | HL and SL, HL timetable shown | Small, number not published | Not published, sent on WhatsApp | Not possible, fee not published | Offered, price not stated | Not shown |
| IBChemistry.sg (Mr Prakash) | A centre that teaches only IB Chemistry | Holland Village (Central) | HL, SL and pre-IB | 8 to 10, from the same school | Year 5 and 6: S$510 for 4 sessions | Not possible, lesson length not published | Trial group class, price not stated | Not shown |
| Ingel Soong | An east-side option | Tampines (East) | IB Chemistry, SL or HL not stated | Not published | Group S$720 a month for four 2-hour lessons | S$90 | Not published | Not shown |
| Photon Academy | Groups of 4 with IA support built in | Tank Road near Fort Canning (Central), online | HL and SL | Up to 4 | S$480 for 4 group lessons, S$600 for 4 one-to-one lessons | About S$80 group, about S$100 one-to-one | Offered with no commitment, fee not stated | Not shown with a count |
| Prep Zone Academy | One-to-one in Orchard | Scotts Road, Orchard (Central), online | HL and SL, Year 1 and Year 2 | One-to-one | Not published | Not possible, fee not published | Paid 1-hour trial, price not stated | Not shown |
| Quintessential Education | A multi-subject IB centre with coursework help | Orchard Road (Central) | IB Chemistry, SL or HL not stated | 3 to 6 | Group S$530 a month for four 1 hour 45 minute sessions | About S$76 group, about S$125 to S$180 individual | Not published | Not shown |
Google ratings appear only where we could read the rating and the number of reviewers on the provider's own page. A blank means we did not verify one, not that the provider has none.
The 10 providers in detail
Ancourage Academy
What is distinctive. Ancourage publishes separate IB Chemistry classes for DP1 and DP2 at HL and SL. Groups are 3 to 6 and lessons are 2 hours a week, with all materials included. Its IB Chemistry page sets out the current paper weightings and says IA planning should start in the middle of DP1. Classes are also available online.
Suits: an HL or SL student in the north or central area who wants a small group matched to their year. May not suit: a family that wants to compare a listed fee before calling, since IB fees are not on the page.
Fees as published: Not published. The trial is a 60-minute lesson with a standard price of S$18.
Branches: Woodlands, Vista Point, 548 Woodlands Drive 44, #02-16 (near Woodlands South MRT). Bishan, 152 Bishan St 11, #01-215 (near Bishan MRT).
Website: ancourage.academy
Ask at the trial: What does a month of HL or SL cost? Is the group one level only? When does IA support begin in DP1?
AskMrChan
What is distinctive. AskMrChan's IB programme is built around HL Chemistry and was designed, the site says, by former ACS(I) teachers Mr Chan and Mrs Loh, who have over 10 years in IB schools. The 2026 timetable at Beauty World lists 2-hour HL slots for Year 5 on Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday, and for Year 6 on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. It also runs IP and O-Level chemistry.
Suits: an HL student who wants a weekly 2-hour slot in the west with teachers who know a local IB school. May not suit: an SL student, since only HL is listed, or a family that wants a published fee.
Fees as published: Not published. A trial class is offered, price and length not stated.
Branches: Beauty World Centre, B1-07, 144 Upper Bukit Timah Road (Beauty World MRT is the closest station, our note). The site also lists a learning centre at 37 Tannery Lane, #06-05, but the IB timetable names Beauty World.
Website: askmrchan.com
Ask at the trial: Who teaches my child's slot? How many are in the class? Is there a 2027 timetable yet?
Axiom Education
What is distinctive. Axiom teaches IB Chemistry at HL and SL for Year 5 and Year 6, as group classes or one-to-one. Its IB Chemistry page sets out a topic plan by term, from moles and atomic structure in Year 5 to redox, electrochemistry, organic chemistry and spectroscopy in Year 6. Group classes are planned around the November exam session, while one-to-one lessons can follow a May session. Its 2027 timetable runs from 4 January to 30 May 2027.
Suits: a Year 5 or Year 6 student at a school that sits the November session, or a family that wants a published hourly fee. May not suit: a May-session student who wants a group, unless the timing fits, or a family that wants to see the class size first.
Fees as published: Group S$65 an hour, or S$520 for four 2-hour lessons a month. One-to-one is S$120 an hour, or S$1,120 for 10 hours, S$2,500 for 25 hours and S$4,500 for 50 hours. The one-to-one trial is S$90 an hour, and a button offers a group trial class at no charge. Registration fees are not mentioned.
Branches: 38 Lorong Mambong, Holland Village (Holland Village MRT is the closest station, our note).
Website: axiomeducation.com
Ask at the trial: Does the group follow the May or the November session? How many students are in the slot? Who teaches HL chemistry in 2027?
EduChem
What is distinctive. EduChem is a chemistry studio on Scotts Road whose site says its tutor is an IB Chemistry examiner with 20 years of experience teaching IB Chemistry. It runs weekly classes, one-to-one or in small groups, plus IB Year 5 and Year 6 crash courses from 10am to 3pm over three days, and offers IA and EE consultations from research question to final reflection. The centre states its students score 6s and 7s consistently.
Suits: a student who wants help with the scientific investigation or an extended essay in chemistry, or a short holiday crash course. May not suit: a family that wants a named tutor and a fee before calling, since neither is on the site.
Fees as published: Not published. The site's pricing page lists class passes that do not mention IB, so we treat the IB fee as not published. Crash course dates on the site do not show a year.
Branches: 15 Scotts Road, #08-10 (Orchard MRT is the closest station, our note).
Website: educhem.sg
Ask at the trial: Who is the tutor, and which IB sessions have they examined? What does a weekly class or a crash course cost? When are the 2027 crash courses?
Focus Chemistry
What is distinctive. Focus Chemistry teaches IB Chemistry at HL and SL from Balmoral Plaza with two named tutors. Mr Dion Khoo has a Bachelor's and Master's in Chemical Engineering from NUS and over 31 years of teaching chemistry. Mr Lim Daw Shyan is a former MOE teacher of H1 and H2 Chemistry. Its published HL timetable groups classes by school, for example ACS International, SJII, SJI and SOTA, with 2-hour slots from Monday to Sunday. IA help covers topic choice, lab work, data processing and evaluation, and lessons are available online with recordings. The centre states more than 88% of its IB students score a 6 or 7.
Suits: an HL student at one of the schools on the timetable who wants classmates on the same school schedule. May not suit: an SL student who wants to see an SL slot before calling, since only HL slots are shown.
Fees as published: Not published. Fees depend on HL or SL and group or one-to-one, and are sent on WhatsApp. Trial availability is checked on WhatsApp.
Branches: 271 Bukit Timah Road, #04-04 Balmoral Plaza. The nearest MRT is not published.
Website: focuschemistry.com
Ask at the trial: Is there an SL group, or does SL join an HL class? Which school groups have space for 2027? What does a month cost?
IBChemistry.sg (Mr Prakash)
What is distinctive. This centre, run by MPC Education, teaches only IB Chemistry, at HL and SL, plus pre-IB classes. All classes are physical group classes of 8 to 10 students from the same school, so lessons follow that school's pacing and exam dates. The tutor, Mr Prakash, has a BSc (Hons) in Chemistry from NUS, IBO chemistry certification from 2016 and 2023, and has tutored since 2009. Students get recordings of every class, a worksheet after each topic, bi-weekly tests outside class time and WhatsApp help. The centre states 91% of its students scored a 7 in the November 2025 exams. Directories list it as Chemyst, but we use the name on its own site.
Suits: an HL or SL student who wants an IB-only chemistry class with schoolmates. May not suit: a student who wants one-to-one lessons, which the centre no longer offers, or a very small group.
Fees as published: S$510 for 4 sessions for Year 5 and Year 6, and S$480 for 4 sessions for Year 3 and Year 4. Lesson length, registration and trial fees are not published. The 2027 schedule appears only as images.
Branches: 23A Lorong Mambong, Level 2, Holland Village (3 minutes from Holland Village MRT, says the site).
Website: ibchemistry.sg
Ask at the trial: How long is each session? Is there a class for my child's school in 2027? Does the trial cost anything?
Ingel Soong
What is distinctive. Ingel Soong is a Tampines tutor who teaches chemistry, physics and maths across IB, A-Level and IP. Every lesson is taught by Ingel himself, who holds a Bachelor's degree. The IB page lists a group IB Chemistry class of four 2-hour lessons a month, and says there are no registration fees, deposits or material fees.
Suits: an IB Chemistry student in the east who wants a published monthly fee and one tutor for several sciences. May not suit: a family that wants to know the level split, class size or IA approach before calling, since none is on the page.
Fees as published: Group IB Chemistry S$720 a month for four 2-hour lessons. Private IB lessons are listed at S$1,120 a month for any IB subject, but the page does not state how many private lessons that covers. Trial terms are not published.
Branches: Block 432 Tampines Street 41 (nearest MRT Tampines East, on the Downtown Line).
Website: ingelsoong.com
Ask at the trial: Are HL and SL taught in the same group? How many students are in it? Is there a trial lesson?
Photon Academy
What is distinctive. Photon Academy is an IB centre whose founder, Mr Ejaz (NUS B.Eng, IBO certified), is its lead IB Chemistry tutor. Groups have at most 4 students and lessons are 1.5 hours. IA support is part of the programme, from topic choice and experimental design to data analysis, evaluation and the write-up, and the page notes that SL and HL hours include the collaborative sciences project. The centre states that 90% or more of its students score a 6 or 7, though different parts of the page give 90% and 95%.
Suits: a student who wants a very small group and structured IA guidance. May not suit: a family looking for the lowest hourly fee.
Fees as published: S$480 for 4 group lessons and S$600 for 4 one-to-one lessons a month, prorated. A trial needs no commitment, but its fee is not stated. Registration fees are not mentioned.
Branches: 5 Tank Road, #04-03 Nagarathar Building (near Fort Canning MRT). Online lessons are also offered.
Website: ibtuition.sg
Ask at the trial: Is the group all HL or all SL? Is the trial charged? How much feedback on an IA draft is allowed under IB rules?
Prep Zone Academy
What is distinctive. Prep Zone is an Orchard centre that has taught IB students since 2006. Every IB Chemistry lesson is one-to-one, in person or online, at SL or HL for Year 1 and Year 2, and parents receive feedback after each lesson. Its chemistry page advises using only the data booklet issued for the 2025 course and starting past-paper practice with papers from May 2025 onward.
Suits: a student who wants one-to-one lessons at a centre in town rather than at home. May not suit: a family that wants a group class or a published fee.
Fees as published: Not published. The trial is a paid 1-hour lesson, price not stated.
Branches: 15 Scotts Road, #07-05, opposite Far East Plaza (Orchard MRT is the closest station, our note). Open 10am to 6pm daily.
Website: ib.edu.sg
Ask at the trial: What is the hourly rate after the trial? Will the same tutor teach all year? Has the tutor taught the course first assessed in 2025?
Quintessential Education
What is distinctive. QE is a multi-subject IB centre on Orchard Road that lists Chemistry among its IB subjects. Groups are 3 to 6 and meet four times a month for 1 hour 45 minutes. It runs separate IA, extended essay and crash course programmes. The centre states that all its graduating IB students scored 6s and 7s in the 2023 exams.
Suits: a student taking several IB subjects who wants one centre for chemistry and coursework help. May not suit: a family that wants a chemistry specialist or a named chemistry tutor, since neither is shown.
Fees as published: Group S$530 a month. Individual lessons are four 1.5-hour sessions a month at S$750 (junior tutor), S$910 (senior tutor) or S$980 to S$1,080 (master tutor). Trial and registration terms are not published.
Branches: 545 Orchard Road, #14-06/09 (Orchard MRT is the closest station, our note).
Website: qeducation.sg
Ask at the trial: Who teaches IB Chemistry, and is the group HL or SL? Is there a trial lesson? How does IA help work within IB rules?