All facts were checked on 8 November 2026. Fees often change in January, so confirm the figure before you pay. No centre paid to appear, and the detail section is alphabetical, not a ranking.
The 10 IB English tuition providers compared
The per-hour figure is our own estimate. We divided the published fee by the published lesson hours. Where a provider does not publish both, we could not work it out.
| Provider | Best for | Branches (area) | IB English courses | Class size | Fees as published | Our per-hour estimate | Trial | Google rating (checked 8 Nov 2026) |
|---|
| Academia | One teacher for Paper 1, Paper 2 and the IO | Upper Thomson, Bukit Timah, Tanglin (Central), online | Language and Literature, Literature | Not published | IB fee not published, S$115 registration | Not possible | Not published | Not shown |
| Ancourage Academy | Small groups in the north | Bishan (Central), Woodlands (North), online | Language and Literature, Literature, SL and HL | Up to 6, usually 3 to 6 | Quote on request, no registration or material fees | Not possible | Trial lesson listed at S$18 | 5.0 from 66 Google reviewers, on its own page |
| Creative Campus | Lowest published hourly fee | Orchard (Central), Marine Parade (East) | Language and Literature (Year 6) | Not published, classes start from 2 | From S$130 per 2-hour lesson, before GST | About S$65 | From S$130 | Not shown as a number |
| Edulab Academy | Group or one-to-one, plus holiday boot camps | Scotts Road (Central) | Language and Literature (HL listed) | Not published | Group S$450 to S$650, one-to-one S$600 to S$1,000 (FAQ: per month) | Not possible | Not charged if the tutor is not a good fit | Not shown |
| Eureka Edvantage | Classes grouped by school (ACS (Independent), SJI International) | Winstedt Road and King Albert Park (Central), mostly online | IB English for Year 5 and 6, course not stated | Not published | S$100 per 1.5-hour lesson, 10 lessons a term | About S$67 | Not published | Not shown as a number |
| Mindlab International | Seven named Lang Lit tutors, long opening hours | Far East Plaza, Orchard (Central), online | Language and Literature, SL and HL | Not published | Not published | Not possible | Offered, cost not published | Not shown |
| Photon Academy | A class led by an IB examiner | Tank Road (Central), lessons online | Language and Literature, SL and HL | Small group, number not published | Group S$480 for 4 lessons, one-to-one S$600 for 4 lessons, 1.5 hours each | About S$80 group, S$100 one-to-one | Offered, cost not published | Not shown with a count |
| Prep Zone Academy | One-to-one only, long lessons | Scotts Road (Central), online | Language and Literature, Literature | One-to-one | Not published | Not possible | Offered, you choose the topics | Not shown |
| Scholars Hall (Scholarly) | One-to-one at home with published hourly rates | Robinson Road office, home-based or online | Language and Literature, SL and HL | One-to-one | S$150 to S$175 an hour online, S$165 to S$190 home-based | S$150 to S$190 (published hourly) | Consultation at no charge | Not shown |
| Young Scholarz | Group classes plus one-to-one top-ups, online | Tanjong Rhu (Central), classes online | Language and Literature, SL and HL | Not published | Not published | Not possible | IB English assessment at no charge | Not shown |
Google ratings appear only where we could read a number and a reviewer count on the provider's own page. A blank means we did not verify one, not that the provider has none.
The 10 providers in detail
Academia
What is distinctive. Academia's Level Five IB course covers both English A: Language and Literature and English A: Literature over Year 5 and Year 6. Its IB page lists 13 Paper 1 text forms (7 visual, such as political cartoons, print ads and street art, and 6 written, such as speeches, blogs and poems), a 2026 Paper 2 list of 20 set texts that varies by school, and 9 global issues for the IO. It also supports an optional extended essay in English. Its 2026 schedule lists one teacher, Azrael Tseng, for all seven IB slots.
Suits: a student who wants one teacher for the whole course and whose school's set texts are on Academia's list. May not suit: a family that wants to compare IB fees before calling, since the IB fee is not on its fee page.
Fees as published: the IB fee is not shown on the fee schedule. New students pay a one-time S$115 registration fee, fees are billed termly about every 12 weeks, and a late fee of S$50 applies to unpaid invoices. Class size, lesson length for every slot and trial terms are not published.
Branches: IB slots are listed at Upper Thomson (Tuesday 7.15pm to 9.15pm, Thursday 5pm, Friday 5pm to 7pm and Friday 7.15pm), Bukit Timah (Wednesday 7.15pm to 9.15pm) and Tanglin (Wednesday 7.15pm), plus online. The only address published is 6 Sin Ming Road #01-15. Branch addresses and MRT stations are not published on the schedule page.
Website: academia.com.sg
Ask at the trial: Are my child's Paper 2 texts on your list this year? Is the slot Language and Literature or Literature, and are HL and SL students together? How is IO practice done without working on the real oral script?
Ancourage Academy
What is distinctive. Ancourage runs separate DP1 and DP2 English classes covering English A: Literature and English A: Language and Literature at SL and HL. Its DP2 page lists Paper 1, Paper 2, the IO and the HL essay for HL students. Classes are capped at 6 and usually run with 3 to 6 students, as weekly 2-hour lessons, with materials included. The founder and academic director is Min Hui.
Suits: a student in the north or around Bishan who wants a small group and an HL essay strand. May not suit: a family that wants a published fee, since fees are quoted on request.
Fees as published: not published. Fees depend on level, subject and group or one-to-one, sold in packages of 4, 12 or 24 lessons, with no registration fee and no material fees. The 4 and 12 lesson packages are paid in full up front, and unused lessons become credits valid for 6 months (365 days for 24-lesson packages). The trial lesson is listed at S$18.
Branches: 152 Bishan Street 11, #01-215 (our note: Bishan MRT is the closest station). Vista Point, 548 Woodlands Drive 44, #02-16 (our note: Woodlands South MRT is the closest station). Online classes are offered.
Website: ancourage.academy
Ask at the trial: What is the fee per lesson for HL in a 12-lesson package? Is the HL essay taught in class or one-to-one? Are Literature and Language and Literature students in the same group?
Creative Campus
What is distinctive. Creative Campus runs an IBDP Language and Literature class for Year 6, covering the IO, Paper 1 guided textual analysis and Paper 2 comparative essays, and an IB Language Arts class for Year 3. Its IB page says both are built for ACS (Independent) students. Classes are hybrid, in person or on Zoom, and can start with 2 students. Its founding director, Ms Geraldine Chew, was English curriculum lead at another English centre from 1999 to 2011 and earlier practised law.
Suits: an ACS (Independent) Year 6 student who wants a Saturday class at Orchard. May not suit: a Literature student, or a Year 5 student, since the published IB timetable is for Year 3 and Year 6 Language and Literature only.
Fees as published: IB tuition from S$130 per 2-hour lesson, before GST. The page says fees change in January, so ask for the 2027 figure. Trial classes are listed from S$130. Registration fee and deposit are not published.
Branches: Campus Orchard, 545 Orchard Road, #14-07/08 Far East Shopping Centre (our note: Orchard MRT is the closest station), Year 6 IB on Saturday 4.15pm to 6.15pm. Campus East, 80 Marine Parade Road, #14-06 Parkway Parade (our note: Marine Parade MRT is the closest station), times on enquiry.
Website: creativecampus.com.sg
Ask at the trial: Is there a Year 5 class in 2027? What is the 2027 fee per lesson? Does the class follow my child's school texts if they are not at ACS (Independent)?
Edulab Academy
What is distinctive. Edulab lists IB Language and Literature under Higher Level, with coaching for the IO, Paper 1 analysis and Paper 2 comparative essays. It offers weekly regular lessons, topical courses of about 4 to 8 lessons, and holiday boot camps of 1 to 3 months, plus IA, EE and TOK consultations. Lessons are one-to-one or in small groups. Tutors are not named.
Suits: an HL student who wants a short topical course before the IO or mocks. May not suit: an SL student, since only HL is listed for Language and Literature, or a family that wants a named tutor before signing up.
Fees as published: the pricing block lists one-to-one S$600 to S$1,000 and group S$450 to S$650, and its FAQ says fees run from S$450 to S$1,000 a month depending on tutor level and session type. Lesson length and class size are not published, so the hourly cost cannot be worked out. The FAQ says a trial is not charged if the tutor is not a good fit.
Branch: 15 Scotts Road, #06-10 (our note: Orchard MRT is the closest station).
Website: edulab.sg
Ask at the trial: How many lessons and hours does the monthly fee cover? Do you teach SL Language and Literature? Who teaches English, and what IB English experience do they have?
Eureka Edvantage
What is distinctive. Eureka Edvantage runs IB English classes for Year 5 and Year 6 grouped by school: separate slots for ACS (Independent) IB students and for SJI International Grade 11 and 12 students, plus a joint ACS and HCI International slot at King Albert Park. Its 2027 timetable starts on 4 January 2027, and most IB slots are online. The founder is Ms Diana Tham, and the site describes its teachers as having decades of experience in MOE and independent schools. A testimonial on its home page mentions a 6 in IB Literature.
Suits: an ACS (Independent) or SJI International student who wants a class paced to their own school. May not suit: a student at another IB school, or one who wants to know the course and HL or SL split in advance, since the page does not say whether classes are Language and Literature or Literature.
Fees as published: S$100 per 1.5-hour lesson for IB Year 5 and Year 6, collected termly, with 10 lessons a term (S$1,000 a term). Class size, registration fee and trial terms are not published.
2027 IB slots: Year 5 ACS (Independent) online on Thursday 5.30pm to 7pm and Saturday 2.30pm to 4pm, SJI International Grade 11 online on Thursday 4pm to 5.30pm. Year 6 ACS (Independent) online on Friday 4pm to 5.30pm, Saturday 10.30am to 12pm and Saturday 4pm to 5.30pm, ACS and HCI International at King Albert Park or online on Wednesday 5.30pm to 7pm, SJI International Grade 12 online on Friday 5.30pm to 7pm.
Branches: Blk A, #03-01, 10 Winstedt Road, and 9 King Albert Park #02-22 (our note: Newton MRT and King Albert Park MRT are the closest stations).
Website: eurekaedvantage.com
Ask at the trial: Is the class Language and Literature or Literature, and are HL and SL together? How many students are in the slot? Can my child join a slot for another school?
Mindlab International
What is distinctive. Mindlab's IB English Language and Literature page covers SL and HL, Paper 1 textual analysis, Paper 2 comparative essays, the IO, the HL essay and English EE support, plus a bridging course for students moving from IGCSE to IB. It names seven Language and Literature tutors: Ms Lyn, Mr Sean, Mr Cedric, Mr Haikal, Sharanya, Mr Jesper and Mr Gurprit. Sessions last at least 1.5 hours, usually once or twice a week. The centre states a 100% passing rate for May 2026 IBDP students, based on its post-exam survey.
Suits: a student coming from IGCSE, or one who needs late weekday slots. May not suit: a Literature student who wants a course built around that syllabus, since the site lists Language and Literature only, or a family that wants published fees.
Fees as published: not published. Class size and trial cost are not published. A trial class can be booked.
Branch: 14 Scotts Road, Far East Plaza #06-02 (our note: Orchard MRT is the closest station). Open Monday 12pm to 9pm, Tuesday to Thursday 1pm to 10pm, Friday 1pm to 9.30pm, and weekends 8.30am to 6pm.
Website: mindlab-international.com
Ask at the trial: Which of the seven tutors would teach my child all year? Is this one-to-one or a group, and how many students? What is the fee per hour?
Photon Academy
What is distinctive. Photon calls itself an IB and pre-IB specialist centre. It teaches English A: Language and Literature (Paper 1, Paper 2, IO and HL essay) and English B at SL and HL, all online. The only English tutor named is Mr Bahador Shirazian (Mr B), described as a certified IBDP English teacher and active IB examiner with over 15 years of experience. The centre states that over 90% of its students score a 6 or 7, counting students who attended regular weekly lessons.
Suits: a Language and Literature student who wants to be taught by someone who marks IB papers. May not suit: a student who wants in-person lessons, since English is taught online, or a Literature student, since only Language and Literature is listed for English A.
Fees as published: group lessons S$480 for 4 lessons and one-to-one S$600 for 4 lessons (subject to Mr B's availability), each 1.5 hours, pro-rated with no hidden charges, as the page puts it. Group size and trial cost are not published.
Address: 5 Tank Road, #04-03 Nagarathar Building, near Fort Canning MRT.
Website: ibtuition.sg
Ask at the trial: How many students are in the group? Which IB English paper and session do you examine? How is HL essay feedback given without editing the real draft?
Prep Zone Academy
What is distinctive. Prep Zone is better known for test preparation and admissions advice, and its IB subject tutoring is one-to-one only, with no group classes. Its trial form lists both English Language and Literature and English Literature, and the student picks the topics for the trial. Lessons usually run 2 to 3 hours. A student testimonial thanks an English tutor named Michelle.
Suits: a Literature student, or one who wants a long one-to-one block before the IO or HL essay deadline. May not suit: a student who prefers a group, or a family that wants to compare fees before calling.
Fees as published: not published. SL and HL levels for English are not stated.
Branch: Orchard Campus, 15 Scotts Road, #07-05 (our note: Orchard MRT is the closest station). Open daily from 10am to 6pm. A testimonial mentions lessons on Zoom.
Website: prep-zone.sg
Ask at the trial: What is the hourly fee for IB English? Can lessons be shorter than 2 hours? Has the tutor taught my child's course, Literature or Language and Literature?
Scholars Hall (Scholarly)
What is distinctive. Scholars Hall, run by Scholarly Pte Ltd, offers one-to-one IB English and maths mentorship at home or online, covering Language and Literature at HL and SL, with help on IOs and IAs. Each lesson is at least 2 hours. Its IB page names three English mentors, Cynthia Su, Durgashini S. and Xuan Ruan, with no qualifications listed.
Suits: a student who wants a tutor at home and a family that wants a published hourly rate before talking to anyone. May not suit: a family on a tight budget, since it has the highest published hourly rates here.
Fees as published: per hour, a mentor costs S$160 online or S$175 at home for single lessons, S$155 or S$170 in a 4-lesson package, and S$150 or S$165 in a 12-lesson package. A senior mentor is S$15 more per hour (S$165 to S$190). Home rates include a S$15 commute charge. A specialist mentor for ADHD, ASD or SEN is S$160 online or S$175 at home. A consultation is offered at no charge.
Office: 160 Robinson Road, #14-04 SBF Center (our note: Shenton Way and Tanjong Pagar MRT are nearby). Lessons are at home or online.
Website: scholarshall.sg
Ask at the consultation: Which mentor would we get, and what IB English have they taught or studied? Is the 2-hour minimum fixed? Is the S$15 commute charge per lesson?
Young Scholarz
What is distinctive. Young Scholarz teaches IB English Language and Literature at SL and HL for Grade 11 and 12 students, through a mix of timetabled group classes and one-to-one lessons, currently online. Its course page lists guided literary analysis, the comparative essay, the HL essay of 1,200 to 1,500 words and the individual oral, and paper marking is sold separately. The founder and CEO is Sunita Sharma. The centre states that it guarantees an improvement in grades, with most students improving by an average of 2 bands.
Suits: a student who wants a group class with one-to-one top-ups, from home. May not suit: a family that wants in-person lessons or published fees.
Fees as published: not published. Class size, lesson length and teacher names are not published. The site offers an IB English assessment at no charge.
Address: The Waterside, Tanjong Rhu Road. Classes are currently online.
Website: youngscholarz.com
Ask at the trial: What does a month of group classes cost, and how long is each lesson? How many students are in the group? Who teaches it?