All facts were checked on 8 November 2026. Fees often change in January, so confirm the current figure before you pay. No provider paid to appear here, and the detail section is in alphabetical order, not a ranking.
The 10 Literature tuition centres compared
The per-hour figure is our own estimate. We divided the published fee by the published lesson hours. Where a provider does not publish its fee or lesson length, we could not work it out.
| Centre | Best for | Branches (area) | Levels | Class size | Fees as published | Our per-hour estimate | Trial | Google rating (checked 8 Nov 2026) |
|---|
| A Way With Literature | Literature-only specialist, mostly online | Orchard (Central), online | Sec, O Level, IP, IB, H1 and H2 | Not published, 1-to-1, pairs or groups | Not published, priced per 2-hour session, no registration or material fees | Not possible | Not published | Not shown |
| Academia | Sec 4, H2 and IB Literature at one centre | Sin Ming Road, Upper Thomson (Central) | Sec 3 and 4, IP Year 3 and 4, JC, IB | Not published for Literature | Not published, S$115 registration | Not possible | Not published | Not shown |
| Ancourage Academy | Smallest published class, the north | Bishan (Central), Woodlands (North), online | Sec 1 to 4 (G2 and G3), JC1 and JC2 H2 | 3 to 6 | Not published, no registration or material fees | Not possible | Normally S$18 | 5.0 from 66 reviewers, shown on its own page |
| Inspire Education Centre | H2 classes built around set texts | Orchard Towers (Central), online | Sec 1 to 4, JC1 and JC2 H2 | Not published | S$420 for 4 lessons (Sec), S$480 for 4 lessons (H2), registration fee not stated | S$70 (1.5-hour Sec), S$52.50 (2-hour Sec 4), H2 not possible | Not published | Not shown |
| LiteratureTuition.sg (Mdm Yu) | One teacher across every Literature syllabus | Orchard (Central), Tampines (East) | Lower Sec, O and N Level, A-Level, IP, IB, IGCSE | Small groups, number not published | Not published | Not possible | Offered, terms not published | Not shown |
| Literature Tuition Singapore (Mrs Wee) | Ex-MOE teacher in the west | Near Westgate, Jurong East (West), online | Sec, A-Level texts, IB Lang Lit, IGCSE | Not published | Not published | Not possible | Not published | Not shown |
| Sophia Education | Six branches, fees include GST | Dhoby Ghaut, Beauty World (Central), Kembangan (East), Hougang (North-East), Woodlands (North), Jurong East (West) | Sec, IP, JC | Not published | Not published, S$30 registration, no deposit or material fees | Not possible | 14-day money-back policy on the first lesson | Not shown |
| The Pear Tree Education Centre | Former NIE lecturer and RI teacher | Not published | O Level, IP, IB, H1 and H2 | Not published | Not published, first 2 Literature lessons 20% off | Not possible | Not published | Not shown |
| The Write Way | Online lessons with published per-lesson fees | Online only | Lower Sec, Upper Sec, JC | Not published | S$110 (Lower Sec, 1.5 h), S$120 (Upper Sec, 1.5 h), S$140 (JC, 1.5 h) or S$160 (JC, 2 h) | S$73.33 (Lower Sec), S$80 (Upper Sec), S$80 to S$93.33 (JC) | Not published | Not shown |
| Zenith Education Studio | Most branches, lowest published fee | 14 branches across Singapore | Sec 3 to 5, Pure and Combined, G2 and G3 | Not published | S$90 a lesson before GST, S$360 deposit | S$45 before GST | At no charge, limited slots | Not shown |
Google ratings appear only where we could read a rating and a count on the provider's own page. A blank means we did not verify one, not that the provider has none.
The 10 centres in detail
A Way With Literature
What is distinctive. A specialist that teaches only Literature and General Paper, from secondary to JC, including O Level, IP, IB and H1 and H2. The founder, Ken, lists a degree in Political Science and English Literature from NUS with Highest Distinction and First Class Honours, and Distinctions in H1 GP and H2 Literature at Hwa Chong. There are three formats: weekly classes, ad-hoc essay consults, and open classes of 10 or more announced on social media. Every essay comes back with a written feedback report, and mock papers are written in-house before major exams.
Suits: a student who wants a Literature specialist and is happy to learn online. May not suit: a student who needs a fixed in-person class, since in-person slots in Orchard are limited.
Fees as published: Not published. Lessons are 2 hours and priced per session per student, with fees given on WhatsApp. No registration or material fees. A surcharge applies to students who enrol 3 months or less before an exam.
Branch: 545 Orchard Road, Far East Shopping Centre #04-36, with limited slots. Most lessons run on Zoom or Google Meet. The site does not name an MRT station.
Website: awaywithliterature.com
Ask at the trial: What is the fee for a weekly class at my child's level? Is the class online or in Orchard? Does the tutor know my child's school texts?
Academia
What is distinctive. A multi-subject centre with separate Literature classes at Sec 4 level (for O Level, IP and IB Year 3 and 4 students) and at JC level, plus IB Language and Literature. Its Sec 4 course teaches critical theory alongside the usual essay structure, with content notes and individual feedback. Its current timetable lists the Sec 4 class on Saturday mornings and two JC classes on Thursday evenings, all taught by Matthew Low.
Suits: a family that wants secondary, JC and IB Literature under one roof in the Upper Thomson area. May not suit: a family that wants a price before calling, since fees are not published.
Fees as published: Not published. A one-time S$115 registration fee applies to new students. Class size and trial terms for Literature are not published.
Branches: 6 Sin Ming Road #01-15 and 11 Sin Ming Road #B1-11. One IB Language and Literature slot runs at a Bukit Timah location. The site does not name an MRT station.
Website: academia.com.sg
Ask at the trial: What is the monthly fee for Literature? How many students are in the Saturday class? Will the 2027 timetable keep the same teacher?
Ancourage Academy
What is distinctive. The widest level range among the group centres here: G2 and G3 Literature from Sec 1 to Sec 4, and H2 Literature in JC1 and JC2. Every class is capped at 3 to 6 students and runs for 2 hours. Its course pages set out the SEC and H2 paper formats, and lessons cover close reading, unseen poetry, essay writing and timed practice. Classes run on request, so dates are confirmed after you enquire.
Suits: a quiet student who needs to speak and be corrected in every lesson, and families in the north. May not suit: a student who wants a fixed weekly slot now, since classes open when enough students ask.
Fees as published: Not published. Lessons are sold in packs of 4, 12 or 24, and there are no registration, material or admin fees. A trial class normally costs S$18.
Branches: 152 Bishan Street 11 #01-215 (Bishan MRT). Vista Point, 548 Woodlands Drive 44 #02-16 (Woodlands South MRT). Live online classes are also offered.
Website: ancourage.academy
Ask at the trial: What is the per-lesson fee for my child's level? Is there already a group for my child's set texts? Who marks the essays?
Inspire Education Centre
What is distinctive. Its timetable is organised by set text. At H2 level there are separate classes for the unseen paper, the postcolonial texts (Remembering Babylon, Anthills of the Savannah, Wide Sargasso Sea), the Romantic texts (Keats, Coleridge, Percy Shelley, Frankenstein) and the pre-20th century and Paper 1 texts. At Sec 4 there is a class for Romeo and Juliet, The Chrysalids and Lord of the Flies. The named Literature teachers are Mr Andre Ho, with over 19 years of teaching, and Ms Ariel Chew, who holds an NUS degree in English Language and Literature and has over 16 years of experience.
Suits: an H2 student who wants lessons on the exact texts in their exam. May not suit: a family that wants a refund if plans change, since the centre states no refunds or cancellations.
Fees as published: S$420 for 4 secondary Literature lessons (1.5 hours each, or 2 hours for the Sec 4 set-text class). S$480 for 4 H2 Literature lessons, with lesson length not stated. New students pay the first four lessons and a registration fee whose amount is not published. Material fees may apply. No deposit. Fees are effective from 9 December 2025.
Branch: 400 Orchard Road, Orchard Towers #03-41 (Orchard MRT, Exit 5). Several Literature classes run online only.
Website: inspire-edu.sg
Ask at the trial: Which classes run at the centre and which online? How long is each H2 lesson? What is the registration fee?
LiteratureTuition.sg (Mdm Yu)
What is distinctive. A studio led by one teacher, Mdm Yu, who covers lower secondary Literature, O and N Level, A-Level, IP and IGCSE Language Arts and IB Language and Literature, including IB oral workshops. The site describes her as an MOE-trained Literature teacher with more than 15 years of tutoring and more than 350 students. Lessons run in small groups, and regular students can phone her during exam week.
Suits: a student in the east or central area who wants one teacher who knows many syllabuses. May not suit: a family that wants published fees, class sizes or a street address before enquiring.
Fees as published: Not published. A trial session is offered by phone, with terms not published.
Venues: Orchard and Tampines, each described as within 2 minutes of the MRT. Street addresses are not published.
Website: literaturetuition.sg
Ask at the trial: Which venue holds my child's group? How many students are in it? What does a month cost?
Literature Tuition Singapore (Mrs Wee)
What is distinctive. A one-teacher studio in the west run by Mrs Wee, who describes herself as an ex-MOE teacher of English, Literature and General Paper. She teaches secondary Literature and English, A-Level Literature texts, IB Language and Literature and IGCSE English, in her classroom near Westgate in Jurong East or online. Her site also hosts free Literature resources and study notes on set texts.
Suits: a secondary student in the west who wants English and Literature help from the same former school teacher. May not suit: a family comparing prices online, since fees, class size and lesson length are not published.
Fees as published: Not published. Trial terms are not published.
Venue: Near Westgate, Jurong East (Jurong East MRT is the nearest station to Westgate). Online lessons are also offered.
Website: literaturetuitionsingapore.com
Ask at the trial: Is the lesson one-to-one or a group? Which of my child's set texts have you taught? What is the fee?
Sophia Education
What is distinctive. A multi-subject centre with a Literature page for secondary, IP and JC students and six branches across the central, north, north-east, east and west areas. Its stated tutors have 7 to 20 years of teaching, and students can message for help on WhatsApp at any hour. Fees are billed every 4 lessons and the published fee includes GST, with no materials fee and no deposit.
Suits: a family that wants a branch close to home and a simple bill. May not suit: a family that wants Literature-specific detail, since the page does not name the Literature tutor or the class size.
Fees as published: Literature fee not published. A S$30 non-refundable registration fee applies to a new student's first subject. The centre states a 14-day money-back policy if the first lesson is unsatisfactory.
Branches: 190 Clemenceau Avenue #01-23/24/25 (Dhoby Ghaut MRT, Exit B). Kembangan Plaza, 18 Jalan Masjid #01-03 (Kembangan MRT). Beauty World Plaza #01-16 (Beauty World MRT). The Midtown #02-07, 1187 Upper Serangoon Road, Hougang. 12 Woodlands Square #02-81. Jurong East CPF Building #04-03 (beside Jurong East MRT).
Website: sophiaeducation.sg
Ask at the trial: Which branch runs Literature at my child's level? Who teaches it, and how many students are in the class? What is the fee per 4 lessons?
The Pear Tree Education Centre
What is distinctive. Led by Dr Mary Delfin Pereira, a former Assistant Professor at the National Institute of Education and an English and Literature teacher, mainly at Raffles Institution. She lists over 20 years as a teacher, teacher-educator and researcher. The centre teaches O Level, IP, IB and H1 and H2 Literature, and General Paper, and runs holiday workshops.
Suits: a strong student who wants a teacher with teacher-training and top-school experience. May not suit: a family that wants a known venue, fee or class size first, since none is published.
Fees as published: Not published. The first 2 Literature lessons are offered at 20% off.
Venue: Not published. Contact is by phone, WhatsApp or email.
Website: thepeartreeeducation.com
Ask at the trial: Where are lessons held, and are they one-to-one or group? What is the full fee after the first two lessons? Which set texts are taught this year?
The Write Way
What is distinctive. An online Literature service with a published fee for each level. The lead tutor, Michelle, holds a Master of Arts and a Bachelor of Arts with Distinction in Literature from NTU, and lists over nine years of tutoring. Materials include structured notes, quote banks and character and theme guides, updated each year. The site says pacing and workload are adapted for students with ADHD, anxiety or depression.
Suits: a student who needs gentler pacing, or a family that wants a clear price for online lessons. May not suit: a student who wants in-person lessons, since only online students are accepted for now.
Fees as published: S$110 a 1.5-hour lesson (Lower Secondary), S$120 a 1.5-hour lesson (Upper Secondary), and S$140 a 1.5-hour or S$160 a 2-hour lesson (JC). Registration and trial terms are not published.
Venue: Online only.
Website: thisisthewriteway.com
Ask at the trial: Is the lesson one-to-one? Which of my child's set texts do your notes cover? How quickly are essays returned?
Zenith Education Studio
What is distinctive. The largest network here, teaching Pure Literature and the Literature half of Combined Humanities at G2 and G3. Its page lists all nine 2027 SEC set texts and teaches through close reading, essay planning, timed practice and model answers. Lessons are 2 hours weekly, with extra lessons usually added before major exams. Zenith does not list Literature at JC level.
Suits: a Sec 3 or Sec 4 student who learns well in a structured class and wants a branch near home. May not suit: an H2 student, since JC Literature is not offered.
Fees as published: S$90 a lesson for Sec 3 to Sec 5 before GST, so S$360 for four lessons. A S$360 deposit per subject is refunded after a month's notice. No registration or material fees. A trial class is offered at no charge, with limited slots.
Branches: Bishan, Bukit Panjang, Bukit Timah, Buona Vista, Jurong East, Jurong Point, King Albert Park, Kovan, Marymount/Upper Thomson, Paya Lebar, Potong Pasir, Serangoon, Tampines and Woodlands. The Literature page does not say which run Literature, so check the timetable.
Website: zenitheducationstudio.com
Ask at the trial: Which branch runs Literature for my child's texts? How many students are in this slot? Who marks the essays?
What does the Literature exam actually test?
Literature in English is taught at upper secondary in two forms. Pure Literature is a full subject on its own. Elective Literature is the Literature half of Combined Humanities, taken with Social Studies. From 2027 the national exam is the Singapore-Cambridge Secondary Education Certificate (SEC), which replaces the O-Level for school candidates. Our guide to SEC from 2027 explains the change, and our SEC Literature exam guide works through each paper with model paragraphs.
| Pure: G3 Literature in English (K331) | Elective: G3 Humanities, Literature part (K337) |
|---|
| Papers | Paper 1 Prose and Unseen Poetry, Paper 2 Drama, separate sittings | Paper 2 Prose and Unseen Poetry only (Paper 1 is Social Studies) |
| Time and weight | 1 hour 40 minutes (50%) plus 1 hour 30 minutes (50%) | 1 hour 40 minutes, 50 marks, 50% of the subject |
| Questions | Four in total: one prose, one unseen poem, and a compulsory passage-based question plus an essay on one play | Two: one prose, one unseen poem |
| Prose | One question on one of five set texts, from a passage-based question and two essays per text | Same five set texts and format |
| Unseen poetry | A choice of two unseen poems, one question each. One question uses a Singapore text every year | Same |
G2 Literature (K228) and G2 Humanities with Literature (K231) have their own 2027 syllabuses, so check your child's subject level with the school.
SEC 2027 set texts (the same for Pure and Elective prose)
- Prose: How We Live Now (edited by Yu-Mei Balasingamchow), All the Light We Cannot See (Anthony Doerr), Lord of the Flies (William Golding), Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Mildred D Taylor) and The Chrysalids (John Wyndham).
- Drama (Pure only): "Master Harold"...and the boys (Athol Fugard), The Royal Hunt of the Sun (Peter Shaffer), Romeo and Juliet (William Shakespeare) and Everything but the Brain (Jean Tay).
- SEAB states that all these texts stay set in 2028 for Sec 5 students and for 2027 candidates who resit. Schools are not allowed to use screenplays or abridged versions.
Each school picks its own texts from this list, so ask any centre which texts it teaches before you book. Grades run on the SEC scale explained in our SEC grading system guide.
H2 Literature in English (9539) is taken in JC. Every student sits the compulsory Paper 1 and one elective paper. Each paper is 3 hours, 75 marks and 50%, with three 25-mark questions, one from each section.
| Paper 1: Reading Literature | Paper 2 or Paper 3 (elective) |
|---|
| Section A | Compare two unseen poems. At least one question features a Singaporean poem | Unseen prose and drama passages |
| Section B | One prose set text: Arthur and George, Jane Eyre, Hard Times or The Garden of Evening Mists | Compare two set texts: the English Romantic Period 1785 to 1832 (Paper 2) or Postcolonial Literature (Paper 3) |
| Section C | One drama set text: The Changeling, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, The Winter's Tale, or O'Casey's two Dublin plays | One pre-20th century text, such as King Lear, Heart of Darkness or the poems of John Donne |
Two features surprise many JC students. The exam is open book, but only one original printed copy of each set text is allowed, with no notes or study guides inside. And answers are typed in a digital answer booklet, so students should practise timed essays on a keyboard. H1 Literature (8841) is a separate, shorter syllabus. H2 Literature counts for up to 20 of the 70 University Admission Score points, as our A-Level grading guide shows, and our H1 and H2 subject combination guide covers where it fits.
A good Literature centre should do three things for these papers: teach your child's actual set texts in depth, practise unseen poems (and at H2, unseen prose and drama) every few weeks, and mark full timed essays against the band descriptors. Our Literature tuition page explains how we approach this one-to-one.
Centre, home tutor or online?
The cheapest Literature hour is usually a group class at a large centre. The most tailored hour is one-to-one, where every minute goes on one student's own texts and essays. Here is how the published fees above compare with the secondary and JC rates on our rate card.