See our rates for every level, and our Yishun home tuition page for tutors who cover the town.
The 10 centres in detail
AGrader Learning Centre
What is distinctive. A pre-primary, primary and secondary centre that teaches ahead of the school syllabus and records every lesson, so a child can rewatch a class. Every weekly student also gets EverLoop, a bank of after-class resources in five modules: past-year paper packs, basic build-up questions, term revision packs, topical packs and lesson recordings, plus resources from up to three earlier levels. P5 and P6 students get a monthly recap webinar on Zoom.
Who it suits. A primary child near Yishun MRT who benefits from revising at home between classes. Who it may not suit. A family that wants a standard fee and class size in writing before calling, or a JC student.
Fees as published. The only fees on its pages are an AY2027 trial promotion marked as limited, so we leave them out. The standard fee, lesson length and class size are not published.
Branch. Northpoint City North Wing, 930 Yishun Avenue 2, #03-37 and #03-21, Singapore 769098. The page does not state the MRT. By our map check Yishun MRT is about 110 m away in a straight line. Phone 9088 1928. It has 20 outlets in all.
Website. agrader.sg.
Questions to ask. What is the regular monthly fee after the trial? How long is each lesson and how many children are in it? Is there a registration fee or deposit on the regular fee?
Bespoke Learning Centre
What is distinctive. A small-group centre with every class capped at 8, usually 4 to 8, from K1 to Sec 4. Primary covers English, Maths, Science and Chinese, and secondary covers English, E Math, A Math, the three sciences, Principles of Accounts and Combined Humanities. It also runs coding and robotics for ages 7 to 14. The trial comes with a quick assessment so the centre can place your child.
Who it suits. A child near Khatib who goes quiet in a big class, from primary through upper Sec. Who it may not suit. A family that wants to know the lesson length before enrolling, since it is not published, or a JC student.
Fees as published. Monthly, nett, for 4 sessions and pro-rated in 5-session months: P1 to P2 S$200, P3 to P4 S$220, P5 to P6 S$240, Sec 1 to 2 S$300 and Sec 3 to 4 S$320. Lesson length is not published, so we cannot estimate the hourly cost. Registration and material fees are not published. It offers a trial at no charge.
Branch. Khatib Central, 846 Yishun Ring Road, #02-3653, Singapore 760846, "a short walk from Khatib MRT", as the centre states. Open from noon on weekdays and 9am on Saturdays, closed Sundays. Phone +65 8775 5292. Other branches are at Canberra CC in Sembawang, Punggol and Tampines.
Website. bespokelearning.sg.
Questions to ask. How long is each lesson? How many children are in my child's class now? Is there a registration fee?
EduFirst Learning Centre
What is distinctive. A multi-subject centre from nursery to Sec 5 with two Yishun centres and one 2027 fee sheet for all. Classes are 4 to 8, in 1.5-hour slots, with materials and exam papers included. Upper Sec covers English, A and E Maths, Pure and Combined sciences, Principles of Accounts, Social Studies, History, Geography and Chinese. A second, third or fourth subject costs S$10 less each step.
Who it suits. A family that wants several subjects at a mall linked to Yishun MRT, or near Khatib. Who it may not suit. A JC student, since it stops at Sec 5.
Fees as published. For the first subject, a month of 4 lessons: P1 to P2 S$200, P3 to P4 S$220, P5 to P6 S$240, Sec 1 to 2 S$300 and Sec 3 to 5 S$320, plus GST. Our estimate is about S$33 to S$40 an hour at primary and S$50 to S$53 at secondary, before GST. You pay a S$50 registration fee, the first month and a one-month deposit at sign-up. It offers a trial at no charge, with terms not stated.
Branches. Northpoint City South Wing, 1 Northpoint Drive, #02-164, Singapore 768019, connected to Yishun MRT (NS13), phone +65 8811 1445. Wisteria Mall, 598 Yishun Ring Road, #B1-22/23, Singapore 768698, about two bus stops from Khatib MRT (NS14), phone +65 6257 5814. Both as the centre states. It lists 28 outlets, including Canberra CC in Sembawang.
Website. edufirst.com.sg.
Questions to ask. Is the fee sheet the same at both Yishun centres? How many children are in my child's class? Which weekday slots still have places for 2027?
EduZ
What is distinctive. A centre founded in 2010 by two former school teachers, with one fee table for its four centres and online classes, from P1 to JC2. Printed notes and worksheets are included, students use tablets in class, and there is no registration or material fee. It gives S$20 off for two subjects and S$60 off for three or more.
Who it suits. A family between Khatib and Yishun watching cost, or taking two or three subjects, at any level up to JC. Who it may not suit. A family that wants a stated class size, since it is not published.
Fees as published. Per 4 lessons: primary S$150 to S$180 for 1.5-hour lessons, secondary S$220 to S$250 for 1.5 to 2 hours, and JC S$320 for 2 hours. Our estimate is S$25 to S$30 an hour at primary, about S$27.50 to S$42 at secondary and S$40 at JC. The centre confirms the exact fee by subject. New students can book one trial lesson at no charge.
Branch. 658 Yishun Avenue 4, #01-341, a 12-minute walk from Khatib MRT, as the centre states. WhatsApp 8930 8179. The other centres are in Woodlands, Admiralty and Choa Chu Kang.
Website. eduztuition.com.
Questions to ask. Where in the fee band does my child's subject fall? How many students are in the class? Does the Yishun centre run JC classes on weekdays?
HCL Education Centre
What is distinctive. A Chinese-only centre, founded in 2006, with separate Higher Chinese and Chinese tracks from P5 to Sec 4. Its primary composition courses follow a four-part series from P3, oral is practised with videos in the current exam format, and its Sec 3 O-Level Higher Chinese course covers 250 essential idioms. There is also a P3 to P6 Elite course for strong pupils.
Who it suits. A child taking Higher Chinese, or one who needs Chinese composition and oral built up, near Yishun MRT. Who it may not suit. A family that wants to compare fees online, since fees are not published.
Fees as published. Not published. Lesson length, class size and trial terms are not published either. The site says the teacher-to-student ratio is relatively small.
Branch. Nee Soon East Community Club, 1 Yishun Avenue 9, #01-01, Singapore 768893. Phone 6312 8687. The centre does not state the MRT. By our map check Yishun MRT is about 440 m away in a straight line. It lists 16 branches, including The Woodgrove in Woodlands.
Website. hcleducation.com.sg.
Questions to ask. What is the monthly fee for my child's level? Does the Yishun branch run a separate HCL class for my child's year? How many children are in the class?
Jai Learning Hub
What is distinctive. A Tamil-only centre founded in 2007 by Mdm Devi, with its main branch in Yishun. It teaches from nursery to A Level, including Higher Tamil, writing and oral programmes, speech and drama, and DSA preparation. Its PSLE programme keeps classes to 7 or 8 and sets weekly writing tasks and mock exams. The 2027 Yishun timetable has 2-hour slots for P1 to P5 and secondary, and 3-hour slots for P6.
Who it suits. A child taking Tamil or Higher Tamil at any level, with many weekday and weekend slots in Yishun. Who it may not suit. A family that wants the billing period and registration terms in writing before calling.
Fees as published. The 2027 fee list shows P1 to P2 S$155, P3 to P4 S$165, P5 S$175, P6 S$180, Sec 1 to 2 S$184, Sec 3 to 4 S$194, Higher Tamil S$180 to S$204 and A Level S$254. The page does not say whether these are per month or per term, so we cannot estimate the hourly cost. Registration, GST and trial terms are not published.
Branch. 291 Yishun Street 22, #01-363, Singapore 760291. The centre does not state the MRT. By our map check Yishun MRT is about 770 m away in a straight line. Phone +65 9825 4743 (admin) or +65 8479 2537 (registration). Other branches are in Jurong East, Tampines and Choa Chu Kang.
Website. jailearninghub.com.
Questions to ask. Is the listed fee per month? How many lessons does it cover? Is there a trial lesson?
Mind Stretcher
What is distinctive. A large centre with its own materials and a named answering method in each primary subject: the ALP framework in English, the Power Code in Maths, the CCC and AIR frameworks in Science, and a 3-step approach for Chinese comprehension. Upper primary lessons end with a quick quiz. Every class is 2 hours, once a week, and fees include GST.
Who it suits. A primary child who does better with a clear answering method, near SAFRA Yishun. Who it may not suit. A family that wants a stated class size, or a JC student, since classes stop at Sec 4.
Fees as published. Per 4 academic weeks, GST included: P1 to P3 S$250.70 on weekdays or S$272.50 at weekends, P4 to P6 S$272.50 or S$294.30, and Sec 1 to 4 S$294.30 or S$316.10. Months with 5 weeks cost more. Our estimate is about S$31 to S$37 an hour at primary and S$37 to S$40 at secondary. Registration is S$76.30 and the deposit is 5 academic weeks per subject. It offers a one-time paid trial, price not published.
Branch. SAFRA Yishun, 60 Yishun Avenue 4, #01-08, Singapore 769027. Phone 6257 0100. The centre does not state the MRT. By our map check Yishun MRT is about 840 m away in a straight line. It has 29 centres, including Sembawang Way.
Website. mindstretcher.com.
Questions to ask. How much is the trial? How many children are in the class? What is the deposit for one subject?
My English School
What is distinctive. An English specialist from age 3 to P6 that places children by ability, not age. Its Reading Programme for nursery to K2 uses structured phonics, and its Primary Programme for P1 to P5 and PSLE Preparation at P6 follow MOE's 2020 English syllabus. Classes are capped at 10, and every child starts with a placement assessment by a teacher.
Who it suits. A preschooler learning to read, or a primary child who needs reading, writing and oral built together, with two centres in Yishun. Who it may not suit. A secondary student, since classes stop at P6.
Fees as published. From S$59 a lesson, billed by term. Lesson length is not published, so we cannot estimate the hourly cost. Registration and material fees are not published. The placement assessment is at no charge, by appointment.
Branches. Northpoint City South Wing, 1 Northpoint Drive, #02-163, Singapore 768019, phone 6817 8377, and Wisteria Mall, 598 Yishun Ring Road, #B1-12, Singapore 768698, phone 6817 8378. The centre does not state the MRT. By our map check Yishun MRT is about 150 m from Northpoint City and Khatib MRT about 920 m from Wisteria Mall, in a straight line.
Website. myenglish.com.sg.
Questions to ask. What is the term fee for my child's class? How long is each lesson? Can my child sit in on a lesson after the placement?
Orion Tuition
What is distinctive. A Maths and science centre for upper Sec, IP and JC, with two branches, Yishun and Toa Payoh, and live online access for its classes. It teaches O Level A Math, E Math, Pure Physics and Pure Chemistry, IP Maths and sciences, and H1 and H2 Maths, H2 Physics and Chemistry. Fees absorb GST and there is no deposit.
Who it suits. A Sec 4 or JC student in Yishun who needs A Math or H2 Maths. Who it may not suit. A primary or lower Sec child, or a family that wants the lesson length in writing.
Fees as published. A Math S$360 a month for 4 lessons, with an average class of 8. H2 Maths S$420 a month for 4 lessons, with an average class of 10. Lesson length is not published, so we cannot estimate the hourly cost. From November to March the first lesson is a trial, and its fee is waived if your child does not continue. From April to October it offers a 3-lesson pack at S$270 for O Level and S$315 for A Level.
Branch. Blk 101 Yishun Avenue 5, #02-95, Singapore 760101. The centre does not state the MRT. By our map check Yishun MRT is about 840 m away in a straight line. WhatsApp +65 9271 9276. Its 2027 Yishun timetable shows Sec 4 A Math on Sunday at 10am, and JC1 and JC2 H2 Maths on Saturdays.
Website. oriontuition.com.sg.
Questions to ask. How long is each lesson? Which Yishun slots still have places? Can my child switch to online on some weeks?
Stalford Learning Centre
What is distinctive. A large centre founded in 1998, with three units at Northpoint City among 23 branches, which it describes as next to MRT stations. It teaches primary, lower and upper Sec, and JC, including GP, Economics, Chinese Literature and Principles of Accounts, plus holiday crash courses for the PSLE, SEC and A Levels. A second, third or fourth subject costs less each.
Who it suits. An upper Sec or JC student who wants several subjects at the mall next to Yishun MRT. Who it may not suit. A family that wants the class size, lesson length or trial terms in writing, since they are not published.
Fees as published. Upper Sec S$340 per 4 lessons for one subject, falling to S$289 each for four. JC S$460 per 4 lessons for one subject, falling to S$400 each for four. GST is added, and the deposit is 4 lesson fees per subject. Primary fees are not published on the pages we read.
Branch. Northpoint City, 930 Yishun Avenue 2, Singapore 769098, at #02-29 (6481 3233), #02-166 (6353 3233) and #03-11 (6757 3233), with Yishun MRT (NS13) the nearest station, as the centre states. Admiralty Place is its other northern branch.
Website. stalford.edu.sg.
Questions to ask. Which of the three Northpoint units runs my child's level? How long is each lesson? Is there a trial lesson, and what does it cost?