Ten tuition centres in Sembawang and Canberra, from Sun Plaza and Sembawang Way to Canberra Community Club, Canberra Plaza and Sembawang Shopping Centre, compared on published fees, our hourly estimate, class size, unit address, walking distance to the MRT and trial terms.
In Sembawang, most tuition sits within a short walk of two North-South Line stations: Sun Plaza and Sembawang Way by Sembawang MRT, and Canberra Plaza and Sembawang Shopping Centre on the Canberra side. Mind Stretcher on Sembawang Way has the lowest published hourly fee for mainstream subjects once GST is counted. EduFirst and Bespoke, both inside Canberra Community Club, cover pre-school to Sec 4 or 5 in small groups.
KRTC at Sun Plaza is the only centre on this list that names JC subjects. Tamilcube, Beijing Language School and I Can Read cover Tamil, Chinese and early reading, and Geniebook, MindChamps and AGrader add three different takes on primary tuition.
Ten centres confirm a Sembawang or Canberra unit on their own pages. Distances to the nearest MRT are straight-line figures from OneMap.
Sembawang and Canberra centres compared
Centre
Best for
Branch (area)
Levels and subjects
Class size
Fees as published
Our per-hour estimate
Trial
Google rating
AGrader
Primary with a bank of revision packs after class
Sun Plaza, Sembawang Drive
K1 to Sec 4: English, Maths, Science, Chinese, creative writing
Not published
Standard fee not published (only a promotional rate)
Cannot estimate
Promotional trial only
Not shown
Beijing Language School
Chinese from nursery to Sec 4
Canberra Plaza, Canberra View
N1 to Sec 4 Chinese and Higher Chinese
12 (Sec Higher Chinese)
Not published
Cannot estimate
Trial offered, terms not stated
Not shown
Bespoke Learning Centre
Groups of 8 or fewer
Canberra CC, Sembawang Crescent
K1 to Sec 4, most subjects including POA and Humanities
Up to 8
P3 to P6 Science S$220 to S$240, Sec E Math S$300 to S$320 a month for 4 sessions, nett
Cannot estimate (length not published)
At no charge, with a short placement check
Not shown
EduFirst Learning Centre
A printed fee sheet for several subjects
Canberra CC, Sembawang Crescent
Nursery to Sec 5, most subjects
4 to 8
P S$200 to S$240, Sec S$300 to S$320 a month for 4 lessons of 1.5 h, plus GST
P S$33 to S$40, Sec S$50 to S$53
At no charge, terms not stated
Not shown
Geniebook CAMPUS
Tablet and smartboard classrooms
Sembawang Shopping Centre, Sembawang Road
P1 to P6, and S1 to S4 on the Sembawang page
Not published
Not published
Cannot estimate
Strength analysis at no charge
Not shown
I Can Read
Learning to read, age 2.5 to primary
Sun Plaza, Sembawang Drive
Literacy from age 2.5 to 8, K2 prep, Primary English
Not published
Not published
Cannot estimate
Placement assessment at no charge
Not shown
KRTC
The only JC option on this list
Sun Plaza, Sembawang Drive
N1 to JC2, sciences, Maths, languages, POA, GP
Group or 1-to-1, size not published
Not published
Cannot estimate
Not published
Not shown
Mind Stretcher
Lowest mainstream fee with GST in
Sembawang Way, beside Sun Plaza
Pre-K to Sec 4: English, Maths, Science, Chinese
Not published
P S$250.70 to S$294.30, Sec S$294.30 to S$316.10 per 4 weeks of 2 h, GST included
P about S$31 to S$37, Sec about S$37 to S$40
Paid trial, price not published
Not shown
MindChamps
P1 to P5 in a set 2-hour weekly format
Sembawang Shopping Centre, Sembawang Road
P1 to P5: English, Maths, Science, Chinese
1 teacher to 15
Not published
Cannot estimate
Trial offered, terms not stated
Not shown
Tamilcube
Tamil from K1 to P6
Sun Plaza, Sembawang Drive
K1 to P6 Tamil
Up to 8
K1 to P4 S$559, P5 to P6 S$624 per 13-lesson term of 1.5 h
K1 to P4 about S$28.70, P5 to P6 S$32
Trial offered, terms not stated
Not shown
We worked out the hourly column ourselves, from each published fee and lesson length, without registration, deposits or materials. EduFirst adds GST on top, Mind Stretcher includes it and Tamilcube does not say. None of the ten Sembawang pages shows a Google rating.
Level
Part-time
Full-time
Ex-MOE or MOE
P1 to P4
S$25 to S$35
S$35 to S$45
S$50 to S$70
P5 and P6
S$30 to S$40
S$40 to S$55
S$60 to S$80
Sec 1 and 2
S$30 to S$45
S$45 to S$60
S$60 to S$85
Sec 3 and 4
S$35 to S$45
S$45 to S$65
S$65 to S$95
JC
S$45 to S$60
S$65 to S$90
S$90 to S$130
The full card is on our pricing page. Tutors who cover the area are listed on our Sembawang and Canberra home tuition pages.
Published hourly costs in Sembawang
Our per-hour estimate, where fee and lesson length are both published
TamilcubeS$28.7 to S$32K1 to P6 Tamil
Mind StretcherS$31 to S$40pre-K to Sec 4, GST included
EduFirst primaryS$33 to S$40before GST
EduFirst secondaryS$50 to S$53before GST
03060
How we chose these centres
Sembawang is a small town for tuition, and the pages that rank for it name only one or two centres. Of 17 names, we kept a centre only if its own site gave a unit in Sembawang or Canberra and said what it teaches there. Seven fell out:
Oodles Math at Sembawang Shopping Centre, whose website showed a suspended account.
Edumore Learning Centre at Sembawang Mart and The Eton Academy at Canberra Plaza, found only in directories and mall listings, with no centre page of their own.
Speech Academy Asia on Jalan Malu-Malu, whose site does not say which programmes run at Sembawang.
George Tuition, Hannah Tuition and Kiasu Maths, which directories link to Sembawang but list at Woodlands, Yishun or no stated address.
No centre paid to be listed here, and the order is alphabetical. The ten give at least two primary-led options, a JC-capable centre, a Tamil centre, a Chinese centre and a reading centre. No secondary-only specialist inside the town could be confirmed, so for Sec students we point to the Sec menus at EduFirst, Bespoke, KRTC and Geniebook.
The 10 centres in detail
AGrader
Primary and Sec at Sun Plaza, with its EverLoop revision system included for every student.
Standard fee (only a promotion shown)
Not published
Class size
Not published
Levels
K1 to Sec 4
From Sembawang MRT (NS11)
About 110 m
Programme: a K1 and K2 preparatory programme, primary English, Maths, Science, creative writing and Chinese, and Sec English, E Math and A Math. Self-paced lessons and a monthly webinar for P5 and P6.
EverLoop: five modules of past-year papers, build-up questions, term revision packs, topical packs and lesson material, at no extra charge.
Fees: the Sembawang page shows only an AY2027 trial promotion, which is left out. The standard fee and lesson length are not published. Fees are subject to 9% GST.
Branch: #04-02, Sun Plaza, 30 Sembawang Drive, Singapore 757713.
Suits: a primary child near Sembawang MRT who will actually open revision packs at home.
May not suit: a family that wants the regular monthly fee and class size in writing before a first visit, or a JC student.
What is the monthly fee once the promotion ends at Sun Plaza?
Which EverLoop module suits a P5 child who is weak in Science?
Does the Sec A Math class run at this unit or only elsewhere?
Beijing Language School
Chinese only from nursery to Sec 4, founded in 2005, with Sec classes split by ability.
Per hour
Not published
Sec Higher Chinese class
12
Levels
N1 to Sec 4
From Canberra MRT (NS12)
About 90 m
Primary: follows the MOE syllabus and adds a composition class, a P6 word review and a pre-PSLE revision course. One of ten branches.
Secondary Higher Chinese: 1 hour 45 minutes with 12 students, covering summary writing, email and composition, oral on current affairs and sentence editing.
Fees: not published. Its pages ask parents to enquire for schedules and fees. Primary lesson length and class size are not given.
Branch: #03-12, Canberra Plaza, 133 Canberra View, Singapore 750133. Open noon to 9pm on weekdays and 8.30am to 7pm at weekends.
Suits: a child who needs Chinese support from P1 to Sec 4 at one centre, a short walk from Canberra MRT.
May not suit: a parent who wants fees and primary class sizes online.
How long is a P4 lesson at Canberra Plaza, and how many share it?
Can my child join the Sec 1 Higher Chinese class mid-year?
What is the monthly fee for one weekly lesson?
Bespoke Learning Centre
Classes of 8 at most, a personal learning plan and WhatsApp homework help, with student care in the same unit.
Per hour, length not published
Not possible
Class size
Up to 8
Levels
K1 to Sec 4
From Sembawang MRT
About 450 m
Subjects: primary English, Maths (including MPM), Science and Chinese. Secondary English, E Math, A Math, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Principles of Accounts and Humanities.
Fees (nett, 4 sessions, pro-rated in a 5-session month): primary Science S$220 at P3 and P4 and S$240 at P5 and P6. Sec E Math S$300 at Sec 1 and 2 and S$320 at Sec 3 and 4. Registration and materials are not published. A trial at no charge includes a quick assessment.
Branch: #04-02, Canberra Community Club, 2 Sembawang Crescent, Singapore 757632. Open 11am to 8pm on weekdays and 9am to 6pm on Saturdays, closed on Sundays. No MRT is named.
Suits: a family that wants homework help between lessons, or a child who goes quiet in a big class.
May not suit: a JC student, or a parent who must know the lesson length before paying.
Is the student care at Canberra CC separate from the tuition fee?
Who answers WhatsApp homework questions, and how fast?
EduFirst Learning Centre
One of 28 outlets on a single 2027 fee sheet, with each extra subject S$10 cheaper than the last.
Per hour, before GST
P S$33 to S$40, Sec S$50 to S$53
Class size
4 to 8
Levels
Nursery to Sec 5
Walk from Sembawang MRT, the centre says
About 5 min
Format: 1.5-hour lessons with materials and exam papers included. Weekday slots 3pm to 9.30pm, weekend 9am to 4.30pm. Secondary subjects include English, A and E Maths, the three sciences, POA, Social Studies, History, Geography and Chinese. Online classes for P3 to P6 and Sec 1 to 4.
First-subject fees (4 lessons a month, plus GST): P1 and P2 S$200, P3 and P4 S$220, P5 and P6 S$240, Sec 1 and 2 S$300, Sec 3 to 5 S$320. A P5 child taking four subjects pays S$240, S$230, S$220 and S$210.
Joining: a S$50 registration fee, the first month and a one-month deposit. A trial at no charge is offered, terms not stated.
Branch: #02-05/06, Canberra Community Club, 2 Sembawang Crescent, Singapore 757632. Its nearest other outlet is at Woodlands Circle by Admiralty MRT.
Suits: a child taking two to four subjects.
May not suit: a JC student, as classes stop at Sec 5.
Which of the eight weekly slots have room for Sec 3 Chemistry at Canberra CC?
Is the one-month deposit refunded in full when we stop?
Can my child switch to online on exam weeks?
Geniebook CAMPUS
Smartboards, tablets and a 300,000-question dashboard, with a shuttle from Sembawang and Yishun MRT.
Per hour
Not published
Number not published
Small groups
Levels
P1 to P6 (S1 to S4 listed)
From Canberra MRT (970 m from Sembawang)
About 570 m
Format: 1.5-hour lessons, one of six CAMPUS centres. Parents get a monthly progress report as an infographic, and students can chat with teachers during the week.
Fees: not published. Geniebook asks parents to book a trial to receive pricing. A strength analysis at no charge is offered.
Branch: #B1-07, Sembawang Shopping Centre, 604 Sembawang Road, Singapore 758459. Buses 167, 856, 858 and 980 stop nearby, as the centre lists.
Suits: a primary child who likes working on a screen and a parent who wants a monthly written report.
May not suit: a parent who wants a fee before booking, or a JC student.
The Sembawang page lists S1 to S4 subjects, but the CAMPUS FAQ says primary only, so which secondary classes actually run here?
What does the monthly report show?
Where does the shuttle stop at Sembawang MRT?
I Can Read
Reading taught step by step, from pre-reading skills to six levels of decoding and comprehension.
Per hour
Not published
Class size
Not published
Levels
Age 2.5 to primary
From Sembawang MRT
About 110 m
Programmes: Reading Foundations, Champion Readers (six levels of decoding, comprehension and grammar), Headstart to Primary 1 for K2, and Primary English. Each course comes with its own eLearning platform.
Fees: not published, nor is lesson length. The literacy or Primary English assessment is at no charge.
Branch: #04-06, Sun Plaza, 30 Sembawang Drive, Singapore 757713. Open 1pm to 9pm on Monday and Wednesday to Friday, 9am to 6.30pm at weekends, closed on Tuesdays.
Suits: a preschooler or lower primary child who is behind with reading.
May not suit: a child who reads well and needs exam English at upper primary or secondary.
Which Champion Readers level did the assessment place my child in?
How many weeks does one level usually take?
What does a term cost at Sun Plaza with materials?
KRTC
Nursery to JC2 since 1988, by its account, the only centre here naming JC subjects.
Per hour
Not published
Size not published
Group or 1-to-1
Levels
N1 to JC2
Sun Plaza from Sembawang MRT
About 110 m
JC subjects: GP, H2 English, and H1 to H3 Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Biology, plus H1 Chinese.
Secondary and more: E and A Maths, the pure and combined sciences, Chinese, Higher Chinese and POA, plus AEIS preparation, P1 preparation and enrichment such as phonics, abacus and speech and drama. The centre states its tutors are MOE or NIE trained.
Fees: not published, nor are lesson length or trial terms.
Branch: Sun Plaza, 30 Sembawang Drive, Singapore 757713. KRTC's own site names the branch but not the unit. Tamilcube's page places its classes inside the KRTC Learning Hub at #04-07.
Suits: a JC student in Sembawang who wants H2 tuition without travelling, or a family with children at very different levels.
May not suit: a parent who wants class size and fees online.
Is H2 Chemistry taught as a group at Sun Plaza or only 1-to-1?
How many JC students share a class?
What is the monthly fee and lesson length?
Mind Stretcher
One of 29 centres, so a missed lesson can be made up elsewhere, with GST already in the fee.
Per hour, GST included
About S$31 to S$40
Class size
Not published
Levels
Pre-K to Sec 4
From Sembawang MRT
About 160 m
Format: every subject meets once a week for 2 hours, in English, Maths, Science and Chinese, billed per 4 or 5 academic weeks.
Weekday fees for 4 weeks (GST in): S$228.90 for pre-K to K2, S$250.70 for lower primary, S$272.50 for upper primary and S$294.30 for any Sec level. Weekend classes cost S$21.80 more, so a Sec 4 student on Saturday pays S$316.10.
Joining: S$76.30, and each subject holds back 5 academic weeks of fees as a deposit. One paid trial class, price not shown for Sembawang Way.
Branch: #02-04, 355 Sembawang Way, Singapore 750355. Open 2pm to 9pm on Monday to Wednesday and Friday, and 9am to 6pm at weekends.
Suits: a family that can take a weekday slot and wants a fixed cost with GST already in.
May not suit: a JC student, or a parent who wants a stated class size.
Is the centre open on Thursdays, since the hours page leaves it out?
How many children share a weekday P5 Maths class here?
What does the trial cost at Sembawang Way?
MindChamps
P1 to P5 in 2-hour weekly lessons, taught through its own Optimal Flow Method.
Per hour
Not published
Teacher to students
1 to 15
Levels
P1 to P5
From Canberra MRT
About 570 m
Format: English, Maths, Science and Chinese, 10 lessons a term. The method links new topics to what a child already knows, and the FAQ says it relies on varied questions rather than mainly on past-year papers.
Claim: the centre states that improvements of up to six grades were verified by an accounting firm, from records MindChamps supplied.
Fees: not published. Parents are asked to enquire or book a trial.
Branch: #03-14/15, Sembawang Shopping Centre, 604 Sembawang Road, Singapore 758459.
Suits: a P1 to P5 child who works well in a lively group and a parent who prefers a term-based routine.
May not suit: a P6 child, since the Sembawang listing does not include its PSLE programme, or a child who needs a very small group.
Is the 1 to 15 ratio the class size or one teacher with an assistant?
What happens at Sembawang when my child reaches P6?
What does a 10-lesson term cost?
Tamilcube
Bilingual, game-based Tamil every Friday evening at Sun Plaza, operating since 2007.
Per hour
About S$28.70 to S$32
GOLD group
Up to 8
Levels, P5 and P6 as PSLE Mastery
K1 to P6
As the centre describes it
At Sembawang MRT
2027 Sembawang timetable: K1, K2, P3 and P4 at 5.30pm to 7pm, and P1, P2, P5 and P6 at 7pm to 8.30pm, starting in the first week of January.
Fees (13-lesson term, paid in advance, same in class or online): K1 to P4 S$559 and P5 to P6 S$624. Registration is S$50, the deposit one month's fees and materials S$50 a year. GST is not mentioned.
Sembawang is served by the North-South Line. Sembawang (NS11) sits at Sun Plaza, Canberra (NS12) sits beside Canberra Plaza, and Admiralty (NS10) and Yishun (NS13) lie just outside the town.
Station
Centres on this list within about 1 km
Straight-line distance
Sembawang (NS11)
AGrader, I Can Read, KRTC and Tamilcube (Sun Plaza), Mind Stretcher (Sembawang Way), Bespoke and EduFirst (Canberra CC), Geniebook (Sembawang Shopping Centre)
About 110 m to Sun Plaza, 160 m to Sembawang Way, 450 m to Canberra CC, 970 m to Sembawang Shopping Centre
Canberra (NS12)
Beijing Language School (Canberra Plaza), Geniebook and MindChamps (Sembawang Shopping Centre)
About 90 m to Canberra Plaza, 570 m to Sembawang Shopping Centre
Schools in Sembawang. MOE's list of schools shows five primary schools and two secondary schools with Sembawang addresses, and no junior college. We name them without ranking.
None in the town. Yishun Innova Junior College is the nearest, in Yishun
With only two secondary schools in the town, many Sembawang children travel to Woodlands or Yishun after the PSLE. Our Secondary 1 guide covers that first year, and the SEC grading guide explains the exam that replaces the O and N Levels.
Centre, home tutor or online?
Point
Sembawang centre
Home tutor in Sembawang or Canberra
Primary, per hour
About S$28.70 at Tamilcube to S$40 at EduFirst P5 and P6, where published
S$25 part-time at P1 to S$80 ex-MOE at P6
Secondary, per hour
About S$37 at Mind Stretcher to S$53 at EduFirst, where published
S$30 part-time at Sec 1 to S$95 ex-MOE at Sec 4
JC, per hour
KRTC teaches JC subjects, fee not published
S$45 part-time to S$130 ex-MOE
Where
Sun Plaza, Sembawang Way, Canberra CC, Canberra Plaza or Sembawang Shopping Centre
At your home
Group
Up to 8 at Bespoke, EduFirst and Tamilcube, 1 to 15 at MindChamps
One child
First lesson
No charge at Bespoke and EduFirst, paid at Mind Stretcher, unstated at most others
Paid at the tutor's rate
A centre: a child who already walks past Sun Plaza or Canberra Plaza on the way home has an easy routine, and a class gives them peers working on the same topics.
A home tutor: makes more sense for a narrow problem, such as A Math proofs or Science answering keywords, or for a child in the newer Canberra estates whose CCA ends late.
Online: EduFirst, Tamilcube and KRTC also teach online.
AGrader, I Can Read, KRTC, Tamilcube, Mind Stretcher
Canberra Community Club (Sembawang Crescent)
Bespoke, EduFirst
Sembawang Shopping Centre (Sembawang Road)
Geniebook CAMPUS, MindChamps
Canberra Plaza (Canberra MRT)
Beijing Language School
Nearby towns
EduFirst (Woodlands Circle, by Admiralty MRT), Mind Stretcher (SAFRA Yishun and Woodlands Civic Centre), I Can Read (Woodlands Civic Centre and Wisteria Mall, Yishun)
November to early December 2026Ask about slotsTimetables for 2027 are set in this window
First week of January 2027Tamilcube starts2027 Friday classes begin at Sun Plaza
4 January 2027P1 startsMOE Term 1 for Primary 1
5 January 2027P2 to P6 startMOE Term 1 for other primary levels
1Pick the station you passSun Plaza and Sembawang Way suit a child coming off at Sembawang MRT. Canberra Plaza and Sembawang Shopping Centre suit the Canberra side.
2Match the subjectTamil points to Tamilcube, Chinese to Beijing Language School, early reading to I Can Read and JC subjects to KRTC.
3Get a lesson lengthBespoke, KRTC, Beijing Language School, Geniebook, I Can Read and MindChamps do not publish one, so ask before comparing fees.
4Count the joining costsEduFirst asks S$50 plus a month's deposit, Mind Stretcher S$76.30 plus 5 weeks, and Tamilcube S$50 plus a month and S$50 for materials.
5Book a trialBespoke and EduFirst offer one at no charge, and I Can Read and Geniebook offer an assessment. Use the checklist below.
During the trial lesson, look for these:
your child attempts a question before the teacher shows the method
marked work comes back with the reason for each lost mark
the worksheet matches your child's level and school stream
the teacher tells you one specific thing to work on at home
your child is willing to go back the following week.
Common questions
Which tuition centre in Sembawang has the lowest fee per hour?
Among mainstream subjects, Mind Stretcher on Sembawang Way is lowest once GST is counted, about S$31 an hour for weekday P1 to P3. For Tamil, Tamilcube at Sun Plaza works out to about S$28.70 an hour for K1 to P4.
What tuition centres are in Sun Plaza?
AGrader at #04-02, I Can Read at #04-06 and Tamilcube at #04-07 inside the KRTC Learning Hub, with KRTC also listing Sun Plaza as a branch. Mind Stretcher is a short walk away at 355 Sembawang Way.
Is there a tuition centre near Canberra MRT?
Beijing Language School is at Canberra Plaza, about 90 m from Canberra MRT on OneMap. Geniebook and MindChamps at Sembawang Shopping Centre are about 570 m away.
Which centres are in Canberra Community Club?
Bespoke Learning Centre at #04-02 and EduFirst at #02-05/06, both at 2 Sembawang Crescent. EduFirst says the walk from Sembawang MRT takes about 5 minutes.
Can a JC student get tuition in Sembawang?
KRTC at Sun Plaza is the only centre on this list that names JC subjects, including GP and H1 to H3 sciences and Maths. Sembawang has no junior college, and Yishun Innova Junior College in Yishun is the nearest.
Where can my child learn Chinese or Tamil in Sembawang?
Beijing Language School at Canberra Plaza teaches Chinese and Higher Chinese from nursery to Sec 4. Tamilcube at Sun Plaza teaches Tamil from K1 to P6 on Friday evenings.
Which Sembawang centres keep classes small?
Bespoke caps classes at 8, EduFirst runs groups of 4 to 8 and Tamilcube's group classes take up to 8. MindChamps works at 1 teacher to 15.
When should I book a Sembawang centre for 2027?
P1 starts on 4 January 2027 and P2 to P6 on 5 January, and Tamilcube's 2027 classes begin in the first week of January. Ask about slots in November or early December, when timetables are set.
Do Sembawang centres teach online too?
EduFirst teaches P3 to P6 and Sec 1 to 4 online, Tamilcube charges the same for online and classroom lessons, and KRTC offers online classes. Geniebook mixes classroom lessons with online support.
Written by Theon Teo, Founder and Mathematics Tutor, The Singapore Syllabus. DigiPen Institute of Technology Singapore, Game Development & Computer Science · 3 years' Mathematics teaching (Primary & Secondary). More about Theon
Free to ask.
Tamil home tutor for 2027
Tell us your child's level and subjects. 3 to 12 tutor profiles on WhatsApp within 16 hours, and you choose.
No contract and no minimum number of lessons. The first lesson is a paid trial at the tutor's rate. Rated 4.9 on Google.