The 10 centres in detail
Ancourage Academy
What is distinctive. The smallest published class here: Sec 4 G3 Chinese runs weekly for 2 hours with 3 to 6 students, and all worksheets are included. The course page sets out the K320 papers and covers language use and comprehension, narrative and discursive writing, the email task, reading aloud and the video conversation, ending with full mock papers. It also runs separate G2 and G1 Chinese classes at every secondary level, which few centres here list. It is an MOE-registered centre that opened in 2024.
Suits: a Sec 3 or Sec 4 student in the north or centre who needs close correction of writing and oral answers. May not suit: a family that wants to compare fees online, since fees are quoted on request.
Fees as published: Not published. The pricing page says there are no registration, material or administrative fees, with packages of 4, 12 or 24 lessons. The trial class is S$18 as standard.
Branches: Bishan, 152 Bishan Street 11 #01-215, about 10 minutes on foot from Bishan MRT. Woodlands, Vista Point, 548 Woodlands Drive 44 #02-16, about 5 minutes from Woodlands South MRT. Online classes are offered.
Website: ancourage.academy
Ask at the trial: What does a month of Sec 4 Chinese cost? Are G3 and G2 students taught in separate classes? How often does my child sit a full timed paper before September?
Axcell Tuition Centre
What is distinctive. A two-branch, all-subject centre whose secondary Chinese class covers Express and Higher Chinese from Sec 1 to Sec 4/5, at N and O Level. Groups are not more than 7, and the centre says each student's work is marked with comments. Lessons are taught by tutors from Beijing and cover comprehension technique, personal and formal emails, argumentative writing, vocabulary, idioms, cloze passages and newspaper reading with discussion.
Suits: a west-side student who wants a small group and regular newspaper-based discussion for the oral. May not suit: a family that wants published fees or a centre that teaches only Chinese.
Fees as published: Not published. Trial terms are not published.
Branches: Jurong East (postal code 600237, from the map on its contact page) and Queenstown, 321 Alexandra Road. Nearest MRT is not stated.
Website: Axcell secondary Chinese
Ask at the trial: What is the monthly fee and lesson length? Are Express and Higher Chinese students in the same group? How is the video-based oral practised?
Beijing Language School
What is distinctive. A Chinese-only school founded in 2005 with 10 branches. Its secondary course is built on the Express Chinese textbook for students taking G3 Chinese, with a separate G2 course and a Higher Chinese course. Each runs 1 hour 45 minutes with 12 students, and covers reading comprehension, practical writing, composition, oral, current affairs discussion and listening. The centre says classes are divided by ability.
Suits: a family in Punggol, Sengkang, Jurong or Bukit Batok that wants a branch close to home and a class matched to its G level. May not suit: a family that wants a small group or a published fee.
Fees as published: Not published. Trial terms are not published.
Branches: Tengah (Plantation Plaza), Sengkang (Compass One), Punggol Plaza, Rivervale Plaza, Waterway Point, Jurong Point, Bukit Batok (Le Quest), Canberra Plaza, Holland Grove Road and Pasir Ris Mall. Nearest MRT is not stated.
Website: beijinglanguage.com.sg
Ask at the trial: What does a month cost? How many of the 12 are at my child's G level? How much class time goes to the oral each month?
EduFirst Learning Centre
What is distinctive. One of two centres here that publishes secondary fees, with 28 outlets and classes of 4 to 8. Its secondary Chinese class covers Sec 1 to Sec 5 for N and O Level, taught by MOE-certified Chinese teachers, with mock papers, exam technique and revision plans for the oral, composition, comprehension and listening. Lessons are 1.5 hours, and materials and exam papers are included.
Suits: a family that wants a known monthly price, a small group and a centre near home, possibly with other subjects at the same outlet. May not suit: a student who wants a Chinese-only specialist or a 2-hour weekly lesson.
Fees as published (2027 rate card): Sec 1 to 2 S$300 and Sec 3 to Sec 4/5 S$320 a month for the first subject, falling to S$310, S$300 and S$290 for a second, third and fourth subject at upper secondary. Each month is 4 lessons, and prices are subject to GST. Registration is S$50, with the first month's fees and one month's deposit at enrolment. The site offers a trial at no charge and does not show its terms. Its secondary Chinese page mentions picture description practice for the oral, so ask how it trains for the SEC video conversation.
Branches: 28 outlets, including Ang Mo Kio, Toa Payoh, Woodlands, Yishun, Tampines, Bedok, Pasir Ris, Clementi, Jurong East, Punggol, Sengkang and Choa Chu Kang, each listed with its MRT station.
Website: edufirst.com.sg
Ask at the trial: How is the oral practised now that the stimulus is a video clip? How many students are in this slot? Is the trial charged if we continue?
EduGrove
What is distinctive. Its O-Level Chinese class is a 2-hour session for the final year, for up to 12 students, and covers every component with mock exam practice: listening, oral, comprehension and composition. Younger secondary students join its secondary programme, which uses drama, word games and role-play and sends feedback after each class. The centre states that 99% of its students improve by at least one grade, and that over half of its failing students move to a pass.
Suits: a Sec 4 student who is losing interest or scraping a pass and needs an engaging class with a clear exam focus. May not suit: a student aiming for an A1 who wants a very small group.
Fees as published: Not published. A trial can be booked online, and its cost is not stated.
Branches: White Sands (Pasir Ris), Parkway Parade office tower (Marine Parade), Our Tampines Hub, AMK Hub, The Woodleigh Mall, SAFRA Choa Chu Kang and Anchorvale Village. Nearest MRT is not stated.
Website: edugrove.com.sg
Ask at the trial: How many mock papers will my child sit before the oral? What does a month cost? Is there a separate class for Higher Chinese?
Hua Language Centre
What is distinctive. A Chinese specialist teaching since 1992, co-founded by a former MOE Chinese Language Specialist Inspector. Its Sec 1 to Sec 4 programme is 2 hours a week in classes usually of 6 to 8, built on the G3 Express and Higher Chinese textbooks and revised every year. Students discuss current affairs in Mandarin, which feeds the oral conversation and the argumentative essay, and receive study guides on question types. Teachers are native Mandarin speakers registered with MOE.
Suits: a student who needs to build views and vocabulary for the oral and composition, in a small class. May not suit: a family that wants a published fee before visiting.
Fees as published: Not published. Trial classes are offered, and the price is not stated.
Branches: United Square, 101 Thomson Road #03-25/26, near Novena MRT. Parkway Parade, 80 Marine Parade Road #15-02. Greenwich V, 1 Seletar Road #02-09. Causeway Point, 1 Woodlands Square #05-03, with direct access to Woodlands MRT.
Website: hua.com.sg
Ask at the trial: What does a month of Sec 3 Chinese cost? How are current affairs topics chosen? How many students are in this slot?
Jiang Education Centre
What is distinctive. A Chinese specialist since 1995, with separate Express Chinese and Higher Chinese classes for each year from Sec 1 to Sec 4. Each class runs two semesters of 20 lessons (January to May and July to November), 2 hours a lesson, with homework built on the vocabulary of the MOE textbook. The course pages work through every paper: the email and composition, cloze, word replacement, both comprehension sections, reading aloud, the video conversation and listening. It also runs an O-Level intensive course in the holidays.
Suits: a student who likes a set plan with a fixed number of lessons each semester. May not suit: a family that wants a published fee or class size.
Fees as published: Not published. A trial class can be booked, and its cost is not stated.
Branches: Fu Lu Shou Complex (Rochor), Toa Payoh, Beauty World Centre, West Coast Plaza, Tengah CC, Mountbatten CC, The Anchor at Marine Parade (near the MRT exits) and Punggol Coast Mall. A Jurong West centre is listed as opening in 2027.
Website: jiang.edu.sg
Ask at the trial: What does one semester of Sec 4 Express Chinese cost? Does the July semester end before the September papers? How many students are in the class?
Mind Stretcher
What is distinctive. The largest network here, with 29 centres and an online option, and published 2027 fees. Sec 4 Chinese is 2 hours a week and draws together reading and writing techniques from earlier years, with mock exams, model essays and exam strategies. Chinese can be bundled with other subjects for a discount of up to 20%.
Suits: a family that wants Chinese alongside other subjects at a centre close to home, at a known price. May not suit: a family that wants a published class size, since none is given.
Fees as published (Academic Year 2027): Sec 1 to 4 S$294.30 weekday or S$316.10 weekend for 4 weeks, S$367.88 and S$395.13 in a 5-week month. GST is included. Registration is S$76.30, and the deposit is 5 academic weeks' fees per subject. A one-time paid trial class is offered. Its Sec 4 level page shows S$283.40 to S$305.20 a month, which differs from the 2027 fees page, so confirm which applies.
Branches: 29 centres: 8 in the West, 4 Central, 4 North, 10 North-East and 3 East, by the site's own grouping, plus online.
Website: mindstretcher.com
Ask at the trial: How many students are in this slot? Which fee table applies in 2027? How is the oral practised in a 2-hour group lesson?
Miss SY Wang Chinese Distinctions Learning Studio
What is distinctive. A studio for secondary Higher Chinese and Chinese only, where Miss Wang delivers every group and one-to-one lesson herself. She lists 23 years of full-time teaching, 7 of them in secondary schools including Raffles Institution and Methodist Girls' School, an MOE Teaching Award, O-Level marking experience, an NUS honours degree in Chinese Language and Chinese Studies, and a Master of Education from NIE. Lessons are mainly in Mandarin with English explanations when needed, and every class can be joined live online. The studio states that past cohorts achieved a higher share of distinctions than the national average.
Suits: a Sec 3 or Sec 4 student from an English-speaking home who wants one experienced teacher throughout, or a family that prefers online lessons. May not suit: a family that wants a fixed branch near home or a published fee.
Fees as published: Not published. Class size and trial terms are not published. Enquiries go through WhatsApp or the site's contact form.
Location: Live online for all classes. A physical address is not given in text on the site.
Website: chinesedistinctions.sg
Ask at the trial: How many students are in the group? Where are in-person lessons held? How is the 40-mark oral conversation practised online?
Wang Learning Centre
What is distinctive. The widest branch network here, with 14 locations since it opened at Marine Parade in 2007. From P5 to Sec 4 its standard Chinese and Higher Chinese classes are separate. The S1 to S4 course runs 2 hours and uses group work, videos, writing tasks and news discussion for the oral and written papers. Composition and comprehension are done in class and marked, then gone through the following week.
Suits: a family that wants a branch close to home in any region and a class taught only at the standard Chinese level. May not suit: a student who needs a small group, since the published class size is the largest here.
Fees as published: Not published. Trial terms are not published. Class size is given as 13 to 15 on the secondary course page and as around 10 to 12 in the FAQ, so ask for the number in your slot.
Branches: Central: Bukit Timah (Link@896), Novena (Square 2). North: Yishun (Wisteria Mall). North-East: Ang Mo Kio (Jubilee Square), Hougang 1, Serangoon Central, Punggol (Northshore Plaza 1), The Woodleigh Mall, The Seletar Mall. East: Marine Parade, Tampines Plaza 1. West: Jurong East, Clementi, Dairy Farm. Nearest MRT is not stated.
Website: wang.edu.sg
Ask at the trial: How many students are in this exact class? What does a month cost? How much of each lesson goes to oral practice?
What the exam actually tests
The 2027 Sec 4 cohort sits the new SEC. G3 Chinese is syllabus K320, which replaces O-Level Chinese 1160. It is worth 200 marks across four components, and the oral and listening together carry 35% of the grade. Our O-Level Chinese syllabus page covers the topics, and our Mother Tongue under the SEC guide covers the wider change.
| Paper | Time | Marks | Weighting | What it contains |
|---|
| Paper 1 Writing | 2 hours | 60 | 30% | Email, 1 of 2 tasks, at least 150 characters (20 marks). Composition, 1 of 3 titles, at least 300 characters, narrative, expository or argumentative (40). A dictionary approved by SEAB may be used |
| Paper 2 Language use and comprehension | 1 hour 30 minutes | 70 | 35% | 30 questions. Cloze, 5 multiple choice (5 marks). Word replacement, 5 questions (10). Comprehension 1, 10 multiple choice on 2 to 3 practical texts such as adverts, flyers and news (20). Comprehension 2, 10 open-ended questions on 2 passages (35) |
| Paper 3 Oral | About 15 minutes | 50 | 25% | 10 minutes to read a passage silently and watch a video clip, then reading aloud (10) and a conversation with the examiner about the clip (40) |
| Paper 3 Listening | About 30 minutes | 20 | 10% | 10 multiple-choice questions on three short dialogues or segments and three longer passages |
Three things in this table shape good tuition. Comprehension 2 alone is worth 35 marks, more than any other single section. The oral conversation is worth 40 marks, as much as the composition, and in SEAB's marking guide half of those 40 marks are for expressing and organising your own views. And the oral is an e-Oral: SEAB conducts Paper 3 in its e-Examination format, with the clip on screen and the conversation with a live examiner. Our SEC Chinese oral guide shows how to prepare for it.