Eleven centres that teach Sec 1 and Sec 2 English, side by side: every printed fee turned into a cost per hour, class caps, branches with the nearest MRT, trial terms and centre-specific trial questions, plus what changes from PSLE English to the lower secondary syllabus and the SEC papers.
For Sec 1 or Sec 2 English, the right centre depends on the gap you want closed.
Price: Mind Stretcher prints S$294.30 a month for weekday lessons across 29 centres, and illum.e charges S$80 for a 2-hour lesson at six campuses.
Writing: Write Edge runs a three-week cycle of comprehension, writing and core skills at 14 branches.
A capped class: Lil' but Mighty keeps every group at 6, Academia caps its weekday Focus classes at 4, and Ancourage teaches 3 to 6.
One familiar teacher: Augustine's founder, who started the centre in 2004, teaches every class himself.
G2 or G1 English: Ancourage is the only centre here with its own Sec 1 G2 and G1 English pages.
Only seven of the 11 print a fee, in four different units from per lesson to per semester, so the table converts each one to an hourly figure.
The 11 Sec 1 and Sec 2 English tuition centres compared
Our per-hour column is simple arithmetic: the printed fee divided by the printed lesson hours. Every centre here teaches 2-hour lessons where it states a length.
Centre
Best for
Branches (area)
Levels
Class size
Fees as published
Our per-hour estimate
Trial
Google rating
Academia
Named teachers, a capped Focus class
Sin Ming (Central), online
Sec 1 to 4, IP, IB
6 to 10, Focus class capped at 4 weekdays, 6 weekends
2027: S$1,500 a 12-week term (Core or Focus) to S$2,160 (Director), incl. tax
S$62.50 to S$90
Three-lesson trial package, price not published
Not shown
Ancourage Academy
Separate G3, G2 and G1 English
Bishan (Central), Woodlands (North)
Sec 1 and 2 at G3, G2 and G1
3 to 6
Not published, no registration or material fees
Not possible
Offered, terms flagged as a short-run offer
5.0 from 66 reviewers, on its own page
Augustine's English Classes
Founder teaches every class
Marine Parade (East)
Sec 1 to 4
Around 8
Not published
Not possible
Within a regular lesson, at no charge
Not shown as a number
British Council
Real-world projects, 44-week year
Napier Road and Toa Payoh (Central)
Sec 1 to 4
Not published
2027 Semester 2: S$2,642.64 for 22 weekly 2-hour lessons
About S$60.06
A consultation at no charge, trial terms not published
Not shown
Future Academy
Central branches by the MRT
Bugis, Bukit Timah, Braddell (Central), online
Sec 1 to 4
Up to 6
S$528 per 4 lessons of 2 hours, or S$1,584 for 13
S$66 (S$60.92 on the 13-lesson package)
Not published
Not shown
illum.e
Low fee, six campuses
Jurong East (West), Novena, Beauty World (Central), Parkway Centre, Tampines (East), Hougang (North-East)
Sec 1 to 4, G1 to G3 modules
Average 1 to 8
S$80 per 2-hour lesson, GST not stated
S$40
Not published
Not shown as a Google-only figure
Learning Point
Five malls, an assessment before joining
Thomson Plaza, Bukit Timah Plaza (Central), Parkway Centre, Century Square (East), Oasis Terraces (North-East)
Sec 1 to 4
Not published
Not published
Not possible
An assessment at no charge
Not shown
Lil' but Mighty
Cap of 6 with a printed fee
10 branches, all regions but North, plus Zoom
Sec 1 to 4
Maximum 6
2026: S$119.90 per 2-hour lesson, S$479.60 a month, incl. GST
S$59.95
Offered, price not published
Not shown
Mind Stretcher
Lowest printed fee, most centres
29 centres, all regions, plus online
Sec 1 to 4
Not published
AY2027: S$294.30 (weekday) or S$316.10 (weekend) per 4-week month, incl. GST
About S$36.80 to S$39.51
One paid trial class, price not published
Not shown
Write Edge
Writing and comprehension in a fixed cycle
14 branches, all regions
Sec 1 to 5
Up to 8
2026: S$95 per 2-hour lesson, S$1,140 per 12-lesson term
S$47.50 (GST added at Tampines and Westgate)
Offered, price not published
Not shown
Writers Studio
Small groups with a hybrid option
Beauty World (Central), Kovan (North-East)
Sec 1 to 4
Usually 6 to 8, weekend cap 10
Not published
Not possible
Offered, price not published
4.9 shown, reviewer count not shown
Our per-hour estimate at the seven centres that print a Sec 1 or Sec 2 fee (S$)
Mind StretcherS$36.8 to S$39.51about S$36.80 weekday to S$39.51 weekend
illum.eS$40S$40
Write EdgeS$47.5S$47.50, GST added at Tampines and Westgate
Lil' but MightyS$59.95S$59.95
British CouncilS$60.06about S$60.06
Future AcademyS$60.92 to S$66S$60.92 on 13 lessons, S$66 on 4
AcademiaS$62.5 to S$90S$62.50 Core or Focus to S$90 Director
Seven names here also appear on a widely ranked Sec 1 English list. We kept a centre only if its own site showed a Sec 1 or Sec 2 English class, at least one of fee, class size, lesson length or teacher, and a current address.
1Teaches lower secondary English by nameA Sec 1 or Sec 2 English page or timetable on the centre's own site, not only an O-Level page.
2Shows something checkableA fee, a class cap, a lesson length or a named teacher, printed on the site.
3Has a current branchAn address and a 2026 or 2027 schedule, fee table or trial page.
4Gives parents a spreadFees from about S$36.80 to S$66 an hour, groups from 3 to 10, every region, and in-centre, Zoom and hybrid options.
Three names from other Sec 1 English lists are not here. OverMugged's English page shows only an O-Level heading and a trial banner, and its lower secondary menu lists maths and science, not English.
iMatter Learning Centre has no website of its own that we could find, only directory entries. The Alternative Story is covered in our wider English tuition guide, and we kept this page to a different set. No centre paid to be listed here, and the details below are alphabetical, not ranked.
The 11 centres in detail
Academia
Academia names its lower secondary lead: Jeremiah Sng, Head of Language Arts and Lower Secondary, with an NIE Master of Education and an NUS degree in English Language and Literature.
Classes are writing-heavy, with repeatable frameworks for comprehension and essay structure, timed writing and mock tests, and the curriculum is written in-house to the MOE syllabus.
From 2027 its Core and Focus classes cost the same, and Focus classes are capped at 4 on weekdays and 6 on weekends for the whole year.
The price rises with the teacher tier you choose, from Core or Focus to Head or Counsel to Director.
Our per-hour estimate
S$62.50 to S$90
Class size, Focus class capped at 4 or 6
6 to 10
Levels, plus IP and IB
Sec 1 to 4
Suits: a family that wants to know who teaches and is happy to pay for a very small weekday group.
May not suit: a family on a tight budget, since even the entry tier works out at S$62.50 an hour, or one far from Sin Ming, the only branch.
Fees as published: 2027 Sec 1 and 2 term fees, including tax: Core or Focus S$1,500 for a 12-week term (S$1,625 for the 13-week Term 2), Head or Counsel S$1,740, Director S$2,160. Registration is S$115 once. Paying for the year by week 6 of Term 1 takes 8% off.
Branches: 6 Sin Ming Road, #01-15. The centre does not name the nearest MRT. Online classes are also offered.
Which tier is the Sec 1 class my child would join, and who teaches it?
Is it a Focus class with the cap of 4?
What does the three-lesson trial package cost?
Ancourage Academy
Ancourage writes separate pages for Sec 1 G3, G2 and G1 English, which no other centre on this list does.
The G3 course covers narrative and non-narrative comprehension, situational writing such as letters and reports, continuous writing, grammar, summarising and oral presentations, and prepares students for school weighted assessments. Its method mixes spaced review (weekly quizzes, essay rewrites every fortnight and timed practice at term end), guided questioning and support that is withdrawn step by step, from annotated model answers to writing alone.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Class size
3 to 6
Sec 1 and 2 levels
G3, G2 and G1
Suits: a child placed at G2 or G1 English, or one who goes quiet in a big class, since groups are 3 to 6.
May not suit: a parent who wants a price before calling, because fees are quoted per child, or a family in the east or west.
Fees as published: not published. The pricing page says there are no registration, material or administrative fees. A 24-lesson package paid in blocks of 4 holds a 4-lesson deposit that is used for the last 4 lessons. A trial is offered, but the site flags its present trial terms as a short-run offer, so ask what applies when you call.
Branches: Bishan, at Blk 152 Bishan Street 11, unit #01-215, which the centre puts at a 10-minute walk from Bishan MRT. Woodlands, at unit #02-16 of Vista Point (548 Woodlands Drive 44), roughly 5 minutes on foot from Woodlands South MRT.
Is there a separate Sec 1 G2 group at my branch, or do G2 and G3 students share a class?
What is the per-lesson fee on a 24-lesson package?
How many essay rewrites will my child do in Term 1?
Augustine's English Classes
Teacher Augustine founded the centre in 2004 and teaches every class himself, so there is no rotation of tutors.
The Sec 1 course sets fixed planning structures for continuous, discursive and situational writing and step-by-step methods for literal, inferential and vocabulary-in-context questions, with drills on synthesis, transformation and cloze. In Sec 2 the focus moves to tone, purpose and implied meaning, argumentative writing and timed oral discussion. The centre states that 82% of students improve by at least 2 grades within 6 to 9 months.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Class size
Around 8
Levels
Sec 1 to 4
Suits: an east-side family that wants one teacher who knows the child from Sec 1 to Sec 4.
May not suit: a family that needs a printed fee to plan with, or one living far from Marine Parade.
Fees as published: the site does not print a fee. Parents can book a trial at no charge, and the child simply joins an ordinary lesson with the class.
Branches: 86 Marine Parade Central, #04-302. Marine Parade MRT is the closest station on our map check.
What is the monthly fee for Sec 1, and how long is each lesson?
How many students are in the Sec 1 class now?
How does the class handle a child whose school sets a different essay type in Term 1?
British Council
The British Council's Secondary English course runs one weekly class for 44 weeks a year, built around real-world projects, current issues and collaboration with British Council students abroad.
It states that its courses are aligned to the MOE syllabus, and parents get regular written reports and an online progress dashboard. The Sec 1 slots are on Friday evenings and at weekends.
Our per-hour estimate
About S$60.06
Class size
Not published
Levels
Sec 1 to 4
Suits: a confident reader who would gain from discussion, debate and projects as well as exam skills.
May not suit: a child who needs drilled exam formats for the next weighted assessment, or a family that wants to pay monthly, since billing is by semester.
Fees as published: 2027 Semester 2 (Terms 3 and 4, 22 weeks) S$2,642.64 for Sec 1 or Sec 2, billed by the lessons in the semester. Semester 1 is S$2,522.52, which fits 21 lessons at the same S$120.12 a lesson. GST is not stated. Open house discounts are time-limited, so we have not used them.
Branches: Napier Road Centre, 30 Napier Road (Napier MRT is the closest station on our map check). Toa Payoh Centre, 480 Lorong 6 Toa Payoh (Toa Payoh MRT, our map check).
How much of each week is spent on the school's situational and continuous writing formats?
How many students sit in the Saturday Sec 1 class?
Can my child join in Term 2 and pay only for the lessons left?
Future Academy
Future Academy teaches Sec 1 and Sec 2 English alongside maths and lower secondary science at three central branches, each a short walk from an MRT station.
The ratio is never above 1 teacher to 6 students, and a full class opens a new slot. Its secondary English page covers editing, situational and continuous writing with personal feedback, skimming and inference, and oral practice where every student speaks each lesson.
Our per-hour estimate
S$60.92 to S$66
Class size
Up to 6
Levels
Sec 1 to 4
Suits: a family near Bugis, Bukit Timah or Toa Payoh that wants English and maths at the same centre.
May not suit: a family that wants a trial first, as none is published, or one watching cost, as this is the highest entry rate here.
Fees as published: S$528 for 4 lessons of 2 hours, or S$1,584 for 13 lessons (pay for 12). Registration S$20, refundable deposit S$150, no material fees. A second subject is 5% off and a sibling 10% off. One month's notice to stop. GST is not mentioned.
Branches: Bugis, in Burlington Square on Bencoolen Street, which the centre says is a minute or two from Rochor MRT. Bukit Timah, on level 10 of Bukit Timah Shopping Centre, three minutes from Beauty World MRT. Braddell, at OnePeople.sg on Lorong 1 Toa Payoh, beside Braddell MRT. Lessons can also be joined live on ClassIn.
Who teaches Sec 1 English, since the named teachers on the site teach maths and science?
Can my child sit in one lesson before buying the 4-lesson block?
How many are in the class now?
illum.e
Illum.e prints a lower secondary fee of S$80 for a 2-hour lesson and says it runs separate modules for G1, G2 and G3 English.
Teachers who write published assessment books prepare the materials, which include ten sets of content notes for oral and writing topics and transcripts of national listening papers. Lessons open with a skill demonstration, move to guided tasks with instant feedback, then to harder work, and in-house mocks copy exam conditions.
Our per-hour estimate
S$40
Average class size
1 to 8
Levels, G1 to G3 modules
Sec 1 to 4
Suits: a family that wants a low printed fee and a campus in its own region.
May not suit: a parent who wants a stated class cap, as only an average of about 8 per teacher is given.
Fees as published: S$80 per 2-hour lower secondary lesson. Upper secondary is S$90. GST, registration and trial terms are not stated.
Branches: six campuses: Jurong East, Novena Square 2, Beauty World, Parkway Centre, Hougang and Tampines. The site gives building names but no street addresses or MRT stations for most of them.
Is the Sec 1 class taught as a G3 module or a mixed group?
Is GST added to the S$80?
How many students are in this slot?
Learning Point
Learning Point offers a Secondary 1 English programme that teaches the formats and skills of secondary English from Term 1, through modelled examples, guided practice and exam-style work with feedback.
Its secondary English course adds lessons on speaking and presentation and weekly current affairs discussions. New Sec 1 students can book an assessment at no charge, which looks at strengths, weak spots and learning style before placement.
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Class size
Not published
Levels
Sec 1 to 4
Suits: a child who would benefit from a level check before joining, or a family near one of its five malls.
May not suit: a parent comparing printed fees or class sizes, as neither is published.
Fees as published: not published. Schedules and fees are sent over WhatsApp.
Branches: Thomson Plaza, Bukit Timah Plaza, Parkway Centre, Oasis Terraces and Century Square. By our map check the closest stations are Upper Thomson, Beauty World, Marine Parade, Oasis LRT and Tampines.
What will the assessment tell us, and will we get it in writing?
What is the monthly fee for Sec 1?
How long is each lesson and how many are in the class?
Lil' but Mighty
Lil' but Mighty names its lower secondary courses S1 Attain and S2 Elevate and covers all four SEC papers in them: editing, situational and continuous writing, comprehension, listening and oral.
Every class is capped at 6, all materials are included, and classes run on-site or online.
Our per-hour estimate
S$59.95
Class size
Maximum 6
Levels
Sec 1 to 4
Suits: a child who needs a small group and a family that wants the full monthly cost in writing.
May not suit: a family in the north, where none of its 10 branches sits, or one put off by a deposit of a month's fees.
Fees as published: 2026 fees, including GST: S$119.90 per 2-hour lesson, S$479.60 a month on 4 lessons (some months have 5). Deposit of 4 weeks' fees, a one-time registration fee (amount not stated) and no material fees. 2027 standard fees are not yet printed.
Branches: Bukit Batok Central, Bukit Timah Shopping Centre, Clementi Avenue 3, Hougang Street 21, Parkway Centre, Goldhill Plaza, 321 Alexandra Road, Tampines Plaza 1, Upper Thomson Road and Yio Chu Kang CC. On our map check, the Tampines, Novena and Clementi branches are each a few minutes from the MRT of the same name.
Does S1 Attain teach all four papers every month, or one paper at a time?
Mind Stretcher
Mind Stretcher runs Secondary 1 English and Language Arts at 29 physical centres and online, the widest reach on this list.
Its Sec 1 course names literary analysis and summary writing as new components after PSLE, alongside writing, critical reasoning and public speaking. Students taking two or more subjects can get a bundle discount of up to 20% on monthly fees.
Our per-hour estimate
About S$36.80 to S$39.51
Class size
Not published
Levels
Sec 1 to 4
Suits: a family that wants the lowest printed hourly cost and a centre close to home, in any region.
May not suit: a parent who wants a stated class size, which is not published, or one who wants to try a lesson without paying.
Fees as published: AY2027 Sec 1 and Sec 2 English, including 9% GST: S$294.30 for a 4-week weekday month, S$316.10 at weekends. 5-week months are S$367.88 and S$395.13. Registration S$76.30 and a deposit of 5 academic weeks per subject. One paid trial class is offered, price not printed. The Sec 1 level page shows S$283.40 to S$305.20 a month instead, so ask which figure applies.
Branches: 29 centres, among them Woodlands, Yishun, Punggol Waterway Point, Sengkang Compass One, Tampines, Marine Parade, Clementi, Westgate, Bishan and Novena. Three are Mind Sparks student care centres with weekday hours only.
Which monthly fee applies in 2027, the fees page or the level page?
How many students are in the Sec 1 English class at this centre?
How much does the paid trial cost?
Write Edge
Write Edge teaches secondary English in a three-week cycle: comprehension (with 18 O-Level question types, summary and visual text), then writing (narrative, recount, argumentative, discursive and situational), then core skills such as grammar in context, editing errors and current affairs.
Its writing frames include PEEL paragraphs and show-not-tell. Classes are capped at 8, and materials are free.
Our per-hour estimate
S$47.50
Class size
Up to 8
Levels
Sec 1 to 5
Suits: a strong primary writer who must now write arguments and formal emails, or a family that wants a printed fee and a branch nearby.
May not suit: a child who mainly needs oral or listening practice, as the page says the course covers 70% of the O-Level paper.
Fees as published: 2026: S$95 per 2-hour lesson, S$1,140 for a 12-lesson term. Registration S$80, refundable deposit S$100, materials free. Tampines and Westgate fees carry 9% GST. 2027 fees are not yet printed.
Branches: 14, including Punggol Central, Great World, Bedok North Street 1, West Coast CC, Woods Square in Woodlands, The Poiz Centre, Yishun Street 51, Westgate, Anchorvale Crescent, Beauty World Centre and Tampines Plaza 1, plus online. The site does not say which branches run Sec 1 classes.
Does this branch run a Sec 1 class, or are Sec 1 and Sec 3 students mixed?
Which week of the cycle will my child start in?
Is GST added at this branch?
Writers Studio
Writers Studio runs a Secondary 1 Preparatory Programme and its STARDREAM course for Sec 1 to Sec 4.
The course covers discursive, expository and argumentative essays, situational writing with the visual text, summary, editing, comprehension and oral. From 2026 lessons can be taken on-site, online or hybrid, and the centre's teaching follows its STeW approach (See, Think Effectively, Wonder).
Our per-hour estimate
Not published
Usual class size, weekend cap 10
6 to 8
Levels
Sec 1 to 4
Suits: a family near Beauty World or Kovan that wants the option of joining online on busy weeks.
May not suit: a parent who wants a printed fee or lesson length.
Fees as published: no figure on the site. Parents can book a trial English class through a form, but its cost and length are not given.
Branches: Beauty World Centre, 144 Upper Bukit Timah Road, #03-06 (Beauty World MRT, our map check). Blk 211 Hougang Street 21, #01-297, which the centre calls its Kovan branch (Kovan MRT, our map check).
Secondary English follows MOE's English Language Syllabus 2020, used from the 2020 Secondary One cohort. MOE says it moves students on to longer and more complex texts and to "an informed personal and critical response" in speaking and writing. In practice, three things change at once.
The writing tasks get longer and more formal
At PSLE, a child writes a short functional piece and a composition of at least 150 words in one 70-minute paper. By the SEC at the end of Sec 4, G3 students write a 250 to 350 word situational piece built from a visual text and a 350 to 500 word essay on one of four topics, which may be narrative or argument.
MOE's skills chart, from upper primary into lower secondary, asks for growing attention to "texts that respond, argue, evaluate and/or persuade", so argument and discussion arrive well before Sec 4. Our SEC continuous writing guide shows the four-topic choice and how essays are marked, and the situational writing guide covers the email, letter, report and speech formats.
Weights shift: a worked example
The share of the grade each task carries changes too. Using SEAB's published marks and weightings:
Component
PSLE English (0001)
SEC G3 English (K300)
What it means
Situational writing
14 of 200 marks, 7%
30 of 70 marks in a 35% paper, 15%
More than double the weight
Continuous writing
36 of 200 marks, 18%
30 of 70 marks in a 35% paper, 15%
Slightly less weight, three times the length
Editing
10 marks in Paper 2 (spelling and grammar)
10 of 70 marks, 5% (grammar only, passage up to 250 words)
Becomes a writing-paper task
Comprehension
Mostly short items: 25 multiple-choice and 50 open-ended in Paper 2
Four texts, one with visuals, about 1,200 words for the two main texts, plus an 80-word summary
Longer reading, written answers
Listening
10%
10%
Adds a note-taking task heard once
Oral
20%, reading aloud and a conversation on a photo
20%, a planned response to a video clip and a discussion
Prepared talk replaces reading aloud
The arithmetic for situational writing: 30 ÷ 70 × 35% = 15%, against 14 ÷ 200 = 7% at PSLE. That is why centres that drill formal emails and reports from Sec 1 are not over-preparing.
The level system: G1, G2 and G3
Since the 2024 Secondary One cohort, streams have gone, and each subject is taken at G1, G2 or G3. The PSLE score sets the usual starting level, and English can start higher on the PSLE English grade.
PSLE score range
Most subjects in Sec 1 start at
Posted under
4 to 20
G3
Group 3
21 to 22
G2 or G3
Group 2 or Group 3
23 to 24
G2
Group 2
25
G1 or G2
Group 1 or Group 2
26 to 30 (needs AL7 or better in both English and Maths)
G1
Group 1
Usual level G2, with AL5 or better in Standard EnglishEnglish can be taken at G3
Usual level G1, with AL5 or betterEnglish can be taken at G2 or G3
Usual level G1, with AL6 in Standard English or AL A in Foundation EnglishEnglish can be taken at G2
After Sec 1Schools can move a student up on school performance
G2 and G3 share one MOE syllabus, and G1 has its own syllabus that continues from Foundation English at P5 and P6. At the SEC, G3 English is paper K300 and G2 is K200. The G2 papers keep the same four-paper shape with shorter writing: 180 to 250 words for situational writing and 250 to 400 for the essay. Our Full SBB guide explains how levels change later.
Point
Feature
G3 English (K300 at the SEC)
Situational writing
250 to 350 words, from a visual text
180 to 250 words, from a visual text
Continuous writing
350 to 500 words, one of four topics
250 to 400 words, one of four topics
Comprehension texts 3 and 4
About 1,200 words together
About 1,000 words together
Summary
About 80 words
About 80 words
Oral and listening
Same format and weights
Same format and weights
School assessments in Sec 1 and Sec 2
There is no national English exam in lower secondary. MOE removed mid-year exams at all primary and secondary levels by 2023, so a Sec 1 English grade now comes from weighted assessments set during the year and an end-of-year exam.
MOE's syllabus leaves the timing to each school and says lower secondary assessment can cover "a more varied range of learning outcomes" than upper secondary, so a Sec 1 weighted assessment might be a situational writing task, an oral presentation or a comprehension test. Ask the school for its assessment plan in the first week, and give any centre a copy.
4 Jan 2027Term 1 startsCollect the English assessment plan, with weighted assessment dates and formats.
22 Mar 2027Term 2 startsSet any Term 1 weighted assessment script beside the notes from the trial lesson.
29 May to 27 Jun 2027June holidaysA good window for a writing or comprehension catch-up course.
13 Sep 2027Term 4 startsEnd-of-year exams fall in this term on dates each school sets.
19 Nov 2027School year endsLast day of Term 4 for secondary schools.
2030 (derived)SEC for the 2027 Sec 1 cohortSEAB holds English written papers in September, with oral and listening before them.
The 2027 term dates are from MOE's calendar. The 2030 SEC year is our count of four years from Sec 1, not an MOE date.
The bridge to SEC English
Sec 1 and Sec 2 are where the SEC skills are built, even though the exam is three years away. The SEC tests:
editing, situational writing and an essay in Paper 1
About S$36.80 to S$66 at the seven centres that print a fee
S$30 to S$85 on our rate card, by tutor type
Who sets the pace
The class, often in fixed writing and comprehension cycles
The child, following the school's own assessment plan
G2 or G1 English
Separate pages at Ancourage, G1 to G3 modules at illum.e, G3 pace elsewhere
Taught at the child's level, including work towards G3
Getting there
Travel to a branch, or Zoom, ClassIn or hybrid at some centres
The tutor comes to the home
Who it suits
A child who writes readily and likes discussion
A child who freezes on longer essays or needs every draft marked
A child who reads widely and enjoys debate often does well in a group, because hearing classmates argue a point helps their own essays. A child who scored AL5 or below in PSLE English, or who is working from G2 towards G3, often needs an hour that marks their own drafts line by line.
illum.e (Hougang), Learning Point (Oasis Terraces), Lil' but Mighty (Hougang, Yio Chu Kang), Mind Stretcher (Hougang, Punggol, Sengkang, Seletar, Rivervale), Write Edge (Punggol Central, Anchorvale, Lorong Ah Soo, Brighton Crescent), Writers Studio (Kovan)
East
Augustine's (Marine Parade), illum.e (Parkway Centre, Tampines), Learning Point (Parkway Centre, Century Square), Lil' but Mighty (Parkway Centre, Tampines), Mind Stretcher (Marine Parade, Simei, Tampines), Write Edge (Bedok, Tampines)
West
illum.e (Jurong East), Lil' but Mighty (Bukit Batok, Clementi), Mind Stretcher (Bukit Batok, Bukit Panjang, Clementi, Jurong West, Westgate, Yew Tee), Write Edge (Westgate, West Coast)
Central
Academia (Sin Ming), Ancourage (Bishan), British Council (Napier Road, Toa Payoh), Future Academy (Bugis, Bukit Timah, Braddell), illum.e (Novena, Beauty World), Learning Point (Thomson Plaza, Bukit Timah Plaza), Lil' but Mighty (Bukit Timah, Novena, Alexandra, Upper Thomson), Mind Stretcher (Bishan, Novena, Toa Payoh, Woodleigh), Write Edge (Great World, The Poiz, Beauty World), Writers Studio (Beauty World)
How to choose
1Confirm the levelCheck whether your child takes English at G3, G2 or G1 in 2027, and whether the PSLE grade allows a higher level.
2Work out the hourly costDivide a monthly fee by 8 for four 2-hour lessons, then add registration, deposit and GST where the centre adds it.
3Bring a marked school scriptA good teacher will read a real situational writing answer and tell you which marks it lost and why.
4Watch for feedback on draftsIn the trial, see whether your child's writing is marked line by line, or only given a score.
5Ask about the visual textSec 1 papers use posters, web pages and adverts. Ask how the centre teaches reading them.
6Review after the first weighted assessmentIf the mark has not moved by the end of Term 2, ask the teacher what will change before paying for Term 3.
Common questions
Which Sec 1 English tuition centre has the lowest published fee?
Mind Stretcher, at S$294.30 for a 4-week weekday month of 2-hour lessons, about S$36.80 an hour including GST. illum.e is next at S$80 a lesson, or S$40 an hour.
How much does Sec 1 English tuition cost in Singapore?
At the seven centres here that print a fee, a Sec 1 or Sec 2 English group costs about S$36.80 to S$66 an hour at the entry tier. On our rate card, a one-to-one lower secondary tutor costs S$30 to S$85 an hour, depending on whether the tutor is part-time, full-time or ex-MOE.
Is Sec 1 English much harder than PSLE English?
The skills are familiar, but the tasks are longer and more formal. Situational writing grows from 7% of the PSLE grade to 15% of the SEC grade, and by Sec 4 a G3 essay runs 350 to 500 words against a PSLE minimum of 150.
Is there English tuition for G2 or G1 students in Sec 1?
Yes. Ancourage Academy has separate Sec 1 G2 and G1 English pages and teaches groups of 3 to 6, and illum.e says it runs modules for G1, G2 and G3. The other centres here do not say they run separate G2 classes, so ask before enrolling.
Can my child move from G2 to G3 English?
At the start of Sec 1, a child whose usual level is G2 can take G3 English with AL5 or better in PSLE Standard English. Later moves depend on school results, and the school decides.
Which centres have the smallest English classes?
Ancourage teaches 3 to 6, Academia caps its Focus classes at 4 on weekdays and 6 at weekends, and Lil' but Mighty and Future Academy keep every class at 6 or fewer.
Which centres let my child try a Sec 1 English lesson first?
Augustine's offers a trial at no charge inside a regular lesson, and Learning Point offers an assessment at no charge. Mind Stretcher runs one paid trial class, Academia a three-lesson trial package, and Lil' but Mighty, Write Edge and Writers Studio offer trials without printing a price.
Can my child take Sec 1 English tuition online?
Yes. Lil' but Mighty teaches on Zoom, Future Academy on ClassIn, Writers Studio offers online and hybrid lessons, and Mind Stretcher, Academia and Write Edge all run online classes.
When does SEC English take place for a child starting Sec 1 in 2027?
By our count, in 2030, four years after Sec 1. SEAB holds the English written papers in September, with oral and listening before them, and releases results the following January.
Written by Theon Teo, Founder and Mathematics Tutor, The Singapore Syllabus. DigiPen Institute of Technology Singapore, Game Development & Computer Science · 3 years' Mathematics teaching (Primary & Secondary). More about Theon
For 2027. Free to ask.
Sec 1 English home tutor for 2027
Tell us about your child in Sec 1 in 2027. 3 to 12 tutor profiles on WhatsApp within 16 hours, and you choose.
No contract and no minimum number of lessons. The first lesson is a paid trial at the tutor's rate. Rated 4.9 on Google.