See our rates for every level, and our Hougang home tuition page and Kovan home tuition page for tutors who cover the town.
The 10 centres in detail
Achevas
What is distinctive. A JC Maths centre with three branches, one at The Midtown, that teaches H2 Maths in weekly classes of about 2 hours. Every class a student attends can be replayed at any hour, and a missed class can be watched as a full recording with the materials saved. It names three tutors on its H2 page, including one with over 20 years of A-Level Maths teaching, but does not say which one teaches at Hougang.
Who it suits. A JC student who wants a class a short walk from Hougang MRT and likes to rewatch hard topics. Who it may not suit. A student who needs close attention, since on-site classes have about 10 to 12 students.
Fees as published. S$400 for 4 weekly classes on site, the same at all three branches, or S$300 online, so our estimate is S$50 an hour on site and S$37.50 online. Online group rates fall to S$260, S$220 or S$180 each for 2, 3 or 4 friends who join together. A 2-hour trial on site costs S$100. A deposit is not mentioned. We left out a December crash course with fixed dates.
Branch. The Midtown, 1187 Upper Serangoon Road, #02-11, Singapore 533971, about a 5-minute walk from Hougang MRT, as the centre states, through the Lobby B entrance nearer Holy Innocents' High School.
Website. achevas.com.
Questions to ask. Which tutor teaches the Hougang class? How many students are in it now? Is the S$100 trial set against the first month?
EduFirst
What is distinctive. A neighbourhood chain with 28 outlets, two of them in Hougang, teaching in groups of 4 to 8 from K1 to Sec 5. Materials and exam papers are included. Secondary subjects include English, E Math and A Math, the three sciences (pure or combined), POA, Social Studies, History, Geography and Chinese. Each subject is 4 lessons a month, and the timetable slots are 1.5 hours.
Who it suits. A family that wants several subjects for one child at the same small-group centre, near Hougang Green or Hougang Avenue 1. Who it may not suit. A JC student, since its levels stop at Sec 5.
Fees as published (2027). Per month for the first subject, subject to GST: P1 to P2 S$200, P3 to P4 S$220, P5 to P6 S$240, Sec 1 to 2 S$300 and Sec 3 to 5 S$320, with lower rates for a 2nd, 3rd and 4th subject. That is S$33.33 to S$53.33 an hour before GST in our estimate. Registration is S$50, paid with the first month's fees and a deposit of one month. It offers a trial class at no charge, marked with an asterisk whose conditions are not shown.
Branches. Hougang 1, Hougang Green Shopping Mall, 21 Hougang Street 51, #01-28, Singapore 538719, about 5 minutes' walk from Yio Chu Kang Primary, as the centre states. Phone +65 6702 2166. Hougang 2, 108 Hougang Avenue 1, #02-1313, Singapore 530108, on the 2nd storey. Phone +65 8045 9028. The centre does not state the stations for either branch.
Website. edufirst.com.sg and its pricing page.
Questions to ask. What are the conditions for the trial class? How many students are in my child's slot? Which subjects run at the Hougang Avenue 1 branch?
HAO Chinese Tuition
What is distinctive. A Chinese-only centre with six branches, one on Upper Serangoon Road at Tai Peng Gardens. It runs all-in-one primary and secondary courses, with Higher Chinese only from P1 to P4, a choice of Standard or Higher Chinese at P5 and P6, and G3 Chinese and Higher Chinese at secondary. There is also a preschool literacy course, a Han Yu Pin Yin course and a reading class for primary children who are weak in Chinese. Average classes are 6 to 8.
Who it suits. A primary child taking Higher Chinese, or a family near Kovan that wants a steady weekly Chinese class at a lower fee. Who it may not suit. A P1 to P4 child who takes Standard Chinese, since the lower primary course is for Higher Chinese, or a JC student.
Fees as published. Per 12-lesson term: preschool S$552 before GST (S$601.68 with GST), primary from S$576 (S$627.84) and secondary from S$900 (S$981). Primary and secondary lessons are 2 hours and preschool 1.5 hours, so our estimate starts at S$24 an hour for primary and S$37.50 for secondary, before GST. The primary and secondary figures are starting prices, so ask for your child's level. It offers a trial at no charge, with the length and terms not stated.
Branch. Kovan (Upper Serangoon), 1030A Upper Serangoon Road, Tai Peng Gardens, Singapore 534767. Phone +65 8415 1030. The centre does not state the station. By our map check Kovan MRT is the closest.
Website. haochinesetuition.com and its contact page.
Questions to ask. What is the term fee for my child's level? How long is the trial, and is it in a real class? How is oral practised each term?
illum.e
What is distinctive. An English and humanities centre with six campuses, one at Hougang Green Shopping Mall. Hougang runs primary English, secondary English, O-Level humanities (Combined Humanities, Pure Geography and Pure History) and JC General Paper. Primary lessons lengthen with level, from 1.5 hours at P1 and P2 to 3 hours at P5 and P6, and its English team is named on the site, with a curriculum lead and level leads.
Who it suits. A child who needs English or composition built up across primary, or a JC student who wants GP with consultations included in the fee. Who it may not suit. A family that wants Maths or Science at the same centre, or a stated primary class size.
Fees as published. Primary English per lesson, before GST: P1 to P2 S$55 for 1.5 hours, P3 to P4 S$70 for 2 hours, P5 to P6 S$115 for 3 hours, so our estimate is S$35 to S$38.33 an hour. GP: S$100 a 2-hour session for JC1 and IP Year 5, S$105 for JC2 and IP Year 6, at a 1 to 8 ratio, with consultations included. That is S$50 to S$52.50 an hour. Registration and trial terms are not published on these pages.
Branch. Hougang Green Shopping Mall, 21 Hougang Street 51, #02-06/07, Singapore 538719, a short walk from Hougang MRT (NE14), with Buangkok (NE15) also listed, as the centre states. Phone +65 8889 8705. The page footer also lists +65 8508 8590 for Hougang, so confirm the current number.
Website. illum.education, its primary English page and its GP page.
Questions to ask. How many children are in the primary English class? Which tutor takes the Hougang GP class? Is there a trial lesson?
Learning For Keeps
What is distinctive. A Physics centre whose founder, Mr Loh, teaches every group class himself. It runs Sec 3 and Sec 4 Pure Physics, which IP Year 3 and 4 students also join, and JC H2 Physics, with at most 6 students in a Sec or IP class and 5 in a JC class. Every class is 2 hours.
Who it suits. A Sec 3 or Sec 4 student who wants one Physics teacher and a small room, a few minutes from Hougang MRT. Who it may not suit. A Combined Science student, since its timetable lists Pure Physics, or a JC1 student, since the 2027 JC class it lists is for JC2.
Fees as published (2027). S$340 per 4 lessons for Sec 3 and IP Year 3, S$360 for Sec 4 and IP Year 4, and S$460 for JC2 H2 Physics, so our estimate is S$42.50 to S$57.50 an hour. Registration is S$50, one-time and non-refundable, and the deposit is S$100, refunded with 14 days' notice of withdrawal. We left out a registration waiver offered for joining now. Trial terms are not published.
Branch. The Midtown, Lobby B, 1187 Upper Serangoon Road, #02-30, Singapore 533971, opposite Holy Innocents' High School and about 3 minutes' walk from Hougang MRT, as the centre states.
Website. learningforkeeps.com.sg.
Questions to ask. Is there still a place in the 2027 Sec 3 class? Can my child sit in on one lesson first? How is practical work prepared for?
Lil' but Mighty
What is distinctive. An English-only centre with 10 branches, one on Hougang Street 21 near Heartland Mall, teaching P1 to Sec 4 in classes of at most 6. Each level has its own named programme, every lesson is 2 hours, and all materials are included. P3 to Sec 4 can also join online, while P1 and P2 are on site only.
Who it suits. A child who needs close attention in English, from phonics and grammar in lower primary to comprehension and composition for the PSLE or O-Level. Who it may not suit. A family on a tight budget, since its hourly fee is the highest on this list.
Fees as published (2026). Per month for 4 lessons, including GST: P1 to P2 S$414.20, P3 to P4 S$436, P5 to P6 S$457.80, Sec 1 to 2 S$479.60 and Sec 3 to 4 S$501.40. That is S$51.78 to S$62.68 an hour in our estimate. The deposit is 4 weeks of fees and is used for 4 lessons when you leave rather than refunded in cash. A registration fee applies, amount not stated. Trial lessons can be booked online, cost not stated. The fee page is headed 2026, so ask for the 2027 figure. We left out a promotion with a deadline.
Branch. Blk 211 Hougang Street 21, #01-305 (back entrance), Singapore 530211, which the centre describes as a stone's throw from Heartland Mall. It does not name a station. By our map check Heartland Mall is at Kovan MRT. Central hotline 9646 0930.
Website. lilbutmightyenglish.com and its contact page.
Questions to ask. What are the 2027 fees and the registration fee? What does a trial cost? How many children are in the Hougang class now?
Mind Stretcher
What is distinctive. A large chain with 30 locations islandwide, one at Hougang 1, teaching its own curriculum from preschool to Sec 4. Each class is 2 hours once a week. Lesson recordings and online practice are available, and upper secondary covers A Math and the pure and combined sciences across its centres.
Who it suits. A child broadly on track who will benefit from a set curriculum, living near Hougang 1. Who it may not suit. A child who needs a small group, since the average class is about 8 to 10 and can be larger for popular slots.
Fees as published (2027). Per 4 academic weeks, including GST, weekday: P1 to P3 S$250.70, P4 to P6 S$272.50, Sec 1 to 4 S$294.30. Weekend classes cost S$21.80 more. Our estimate is S$31.34 to S$36.79 an hour including GST. Registration is S$76.30, and the deposit is 5 academic weeks per subject. It offers a one-time paid trial, price not stated. We left out discounts with a deadline.
Branch. Hougang 1, 1 Hougang Street 91, #01-42, Singapore 538692. Phone (+65) 6881 0020 or 6881 0050. Open 2 pm to 9 pm on weekdays and 9 am to 6 pm at weekends. The centre does not state the nearest station or which levels run at Hougang, so ask before you visit.
Website. mindstretcher.com and its fees page.
Questions to ask. Which levels and subjects run at Hougang 1? What does the trial cost? How many students are in my child's slot?
The Chemistry Practice
What is distinctive. A Chemistry-only centre with two branches, one at Spazio@Kovan, teaching Sec 3 and Sec 4 Chemistry (with IP Year 3 and 4) and JC H2 Chemistry. Every lesson is 2 hours, on site or on Zoom, and fees are collected by term of 10 to 11 lessons, pro-rated for a mid-term start. Its O-Level page names an ex-MOE subject head as the tutor, and its H2 page names two tutors.
Who it suits. A Sec 3 or Sec 4 student who wants a clear per-lesson Chemistry fee, or a JC student near Kovan who wants H2 Chemistry on site or online. Who it may not suit. A family that wants a stated class size, since none is published on these pages.
Fees as published. S$80 a lesson for Sec 3, Sec 4 and IP, and S$100 a lesson on site or S$90 online for JC1 and JC2 (2026 figures). That is S$40 an hour for Sec and S$45 to S$50 for JC in our estimate. Registration and material fees are not mentioned. It offers a trial lesson at no charge.
Branch. Serangoon, 767 Upper Serangoon Road, #02-12, Spazio@Kovan, Singapore 534635. At Serangoon, Sec 3 classes run on Tuesday and Wednesday from 4.45 pm and Sec 4 from 7 pm. The centre does not state the station. By our map check Kovan MRT is the closest. Its other branch is at North Bridge Centre in Bugis.
Website. thechemistrypractice.sg and its H2 Chemistry page.
Questions to ask. Which tutor teaches the Kovan class? How many students are in it? What are the 2027 JC fees?
The Math Lab
What is distinctive. A Maths centre with four branches, one at Stars of Kovan, teaching P1 to JC2. Its small group classes average 3 to 4 students, with a maximum of 6, and lecture groups take 8 to 15. Every class is once a week for 2 hours, JC classes are taught by senior teachers only, and the whole first month counts as a trial: stop at any time and unused fees, registration and materials are refunded.
Who it suits. A child who needs Maths in a very small group, from PSLE to A Math or H2 Maths, a few minutes from Kovan MRT. Who it may not suit. A family looking for a lower monthly fee, or one that wants a single centre for several subjects.
Fees as published. S$420 a month for P1 to Sec 4 and S$480 for JC, collected as S$840 or S$960 every 8-lesson cycle. That is S$52.50 an hour, or S$60 at JC, in our estimate. New students pay a S$40 registration fee and a S$60 materials fee. There is no deposit, and after the first month 2 weeks' notice is needed to stop. One-to-one lessons are S$75 to S$130 an hour, depending on the teacher.
Branch. Stars of Kovan, 988 Upper Serangoon Road, #01-05, Singapore 534733, a 3-minute walk from Kovan MRT, as the centre states. Phone 6475-0624. The Kovan branch teaches P1 to P6, Sec 1 to 4 E Math and A Math, and JC1 and JC2 H2 Maths.
Website. themathlab.com.sg and its classes and fees page.
Questions to ask. Is my child's slot a small group or a lecture group, and how many are in it? Who teaches it? Are the 2027 Kovan timetables out?
TinkerLab
What is distinctive. A small Science centre near Kovan MRT that teaches P3 to P6 Science with hands-on experiments, notes and worksheets, plus P5 and P6 Maths slots and robotics enrichment. Its 2027 timetable lists 2-hour classes taught by Mr Allan and Mdm Tan, and a new Science class starts once 3 students sign up. P5 and P6 children can also use an online Science MCQ portal.
Who it suits. A P3 or P4 child who learns best by doing, or a P5 or P6 child who needs steady Science practice at a lower fee. Who it may not suit. A family that wants a trial before paying a term, since no trial is mentioned.
Fees as published. S$70 per lesson, collected per term of 10 to 11 lessons, so our estimate is S$35 an hour. Registration is S$30 and the deposit is S$100, refundable with a month's notice. The materials fee is shown as S$20 in one place and S$10 a term in another, so ask which applies.
Branch. Lian Beng Building, 985 Upper Serangoon Road, #02-00, Singapore 534731, near Kovan on the North East Line, as the centre states. Phone 9224 2505.
Website. tinkerlab.com.sg and its contact page.
Questions to ask. Has my child's 2027 class reached the minimum of 3? How often are experiments run? Is the materials fee S$10 or S$20?