See our rates for every level, and our Sengkang home tuition page for tutors who cover the town.
The 10 centres in detail
AGrader
What is distinctive. A primary and secondary chain with three branches in Sengkang, each publishing its own 2027 timetable and fee sheet. Primary covers English, Maths, Science, Chinese and creative writing, and secondary covers English, E Math and A Math. Classes are capped at 12, and every primary and secondary lesson on the Sengkang timetable is 2 hours. Enrolment includes recorded lessons and revision packs through its EverLoop platform.
Who it suits. A family that wants a published fee, a stated cap and a branch a short walk from Compass One or in Fernvale. Who it may not suit. A Sec student who needs the sciences or JC subjects, since the Sengkang sheet lists English and Maths only at secondary.
Fees as published. Per month for 4 lessons, before 9% GST: P1 S$230, P2 S$235, P3 S$245, P4 S$250, P5 S$260, P6 S$270, Sec 1 S$270, Sec 2 S$275, Sec 3 S$280 and Sec 4 S$290 (G3 syllabus). That is S$28.75 to S$36.25 an hour before GST in our estimate, or S$31.34 to S$39.51 with GST. Registration is S$50 plus GST, and the deposit is one month's fee per subject. You pay only the course fee for the first 4 lessons, and the registration fee and deposit are collected at the 5th lesson. A 5% discount applies to subject bundles.
Branches. Sengkang CC, 2 Sengkang Square, #01-04, Singapore 545025, phone 8897 1394. Fernvale CC, 21 Sengkang West Ave, #01-05, Singapore 797650. Sengkang Grand Mall, 70 Compassvale Bow, #02-04, Singapore 544692, listed by the centre as its Buangkok branch. The centre does not state the stations. By our map check Sengkang CC is beside Compass One and Sengkang MRT, Fernvale CC is beside The Seletar Mall near Fernvale LRT, and Sengkang Grand Mall is at Buangkok MRT.
Website. agrader.sg and its fees and schedules page.
Questions to ask. How many children are in my child's slot now? Can we leave after the first 4 lessons without paying the registration fee? Does the Fernvale branch run the same subjects as Sengkang CC?
EduFirst
What is distinctive. A large neighbourhood chain with three Sengkang branches, each beside a primary school or community club. It teaches in groups of 4 to 8, from K1 to Sec 5, with materials and exam papers included. Upper secondary subjects are wide: English, E Math and A Math, the three sciences (pure or combined), POA, Social Studies, History, Geography and Chinese. Each subject is 4 lessons a month, and the timetable slots are 1.5 hours.
Who it suits. A family that wants several subjects for one child at the same small-group centre, close to home in Fernvale, Anchorvale or Rivervale. Who it may not suit. A JC student, since its levels stop at Sec 5.
Fees as published (2027). Per month for the first subject, subject to GST: P1 to P2 S$200, P3 to P4 S$220, P5 to P6 S$240, Sec 1 to 2 S$300 and Sec 3 to 5 S$320, with lower rates for a 2nd, 3rd and 4th subject. That is S$33.33 to S$53.33 an hour before GST in our estimate. Registration is S$50, paid with the first month's fees and a deposit of one month. It offers a trial class at no charge, marked with an asterisk whose conditions are not shown.
Branches. Sengkang 1, 405C Fernvale Lane, #01-103, Singapore 793405, next to Fernvale Primary and a 7-minute walk from Fernvale LRT, as the centre states. Sengkang 2, 326A Anchorvale Road, #01-256, Singapore 541326, next to Springdale Primary and a 5-minute walk from Farmway LRT. Sengkang 3, 2 Rivervale Close, #04-01 Rivervale Community Club, Singapore 544583, a 5-minute walk from Kangkar LRT.
Website. edufirst.com.sg and its pricing page.
Questions to ask. What are the conditions for the trial class? How many students are in my child's slot? Is the fee the same at all three Sengkang branches?
EduGrove
What is distinctive. A Chinese-only centre that teaches from playgroup and preschool through primary and secondary to O-Level Chinese, with composition and holiday classes. Groups have at most 12 students. Primary lessons are once a week, 2 hours for P1 to P4 and 2.5 hours for P5 and P6, and its methods use drama and games so that children use new words in speech.
Who it suits. A child from an English-speaking home who needs Chinese built up steadily from preschool to the PSLE or O-Level, near Anchorvale. Who it may not suit. A family that wants to compare fees online, since fees are not published.
Fees as published. Not published. Make-up classes are arranged subject to availability, and children can join mid-term if there is a place.
Branch. Anchorvale Village, 339 Anchorvale Road, #03-02, Singapore 540339. Phone +65 6996 2127. The centre does not state the station. By our map check Anchorvale Village is beside Farmway LRT on the West Loop. Other branches include AMK Hub and The Woodleigh Mall.
Website. edugrove.com.sg.
Questions to ask. What is the monthly fee for my child's level? How is oral practised in class? Does the Anchorvale branch run a Higher Chinese group?
Edulight
What is distinctive. A one-teacher POA practice. Its founder, Mr Felix Lim, lists 13 years as a full-time POA teacher, a Master of Finance and earlier work as an auditor. Each class is 1 hour 45 minutes, with five Sec 3 slots and five N and O Level slots a week for 2027. Every slot can be joined in person or online, with at most 6 students in the room, and notes and recordings are kept online.
Who it suits. A Sec 3 or Sec 4 student who finds POA hard and wants one specialist, a small room and recordings to revise from. Who it may not suit. A student who wants several subjects at one centre, or a family that needs the full address before enquiring.
Fees as published (2027). S$360 per 4 lessons for Sec 3 and S$420 per 4 lessons for N and O Level, paid in the first week of each month, so our estimate is S$51.43 to S$60 an hour. No deposit is required. Notes and materials are included. Registration fee and trial terms are not published.
Branch. Buangkok Crescent, as the site states. The full address and nearest station are not published, so ask when you book. Phone +65 8444 4651.
Website. edulight.sg.
Questions to ask. Is there a trial lesson, and what does it cost? How many students join online in the same slot? Where exactly is the classroom?
HCL Education Centre
What is distinctive. A Chinese and Higher Chinese centre founded in December 2006, with 16 branches, three of them in or beside Sengkang. It teaches nursery to Sec 4, with a P1 to P6 HCL course, an enrichment course, a P3 to P6 Elite course and Sec Express Chinese and Higher Chinese courses. It names its own methods: a set structure for oral answers, composition taught by theme, and a "Three Hearts, Two Minds" approach to comprehension.
Who it suits. A primary or secondary child taking Higher Chinese, or one who needs set techniques for oral and composition. Who it may not suit. A family that wants fees, class size and lesson length before calling, since none is published.
Fees as published. Not published. The centre says its classes have a relatively small teacher to student ratio, without a number.
Branches. Sengkang, Blk 319B Anchorvale Drive, #01-90, Singapore 542319, phone 6385 5224. Rivervale Mall, 11 Rivervale Crescent, #02-07, Singapore 545082, phone 6241 7431. Buangkok, Blk 986 Buangkok Crescent, #01-01, Singapore 530986, phone 6909 5894. The centre does not state the stations. By our map check Rivervale Mall is a short walk from Rumbia LRT.
Website. hcleducation.com.sg.
Questions to ask. What is the monthly fee, and how long is each lesson? How many children are in the class? Is there a trial lesson?
I Can Read
What is distinctive. A literacy and English centre for children aged 2.5 to 12, with 23 centres in Singapore. Its programmes run from early literacy and pre-reading, through reading and a Headstart to Primary 1 class, to Primary English from P1 to P6. New children start with an English assessment, offered at no charge, so the centre can place them at the right stage.
Who it suits. A preschooler or lower primary child in Rivervale who is slow to read, or a family preparing a child for P1 English. Who it may not suit. An upper primary child who needs Maths or Science as well, or a family that wants published fees.
Fees as published. Not published on the pages we read. Class size and lesson length are not published either.
Branch. Rivervale Mall, 11 Rivervale Crescent, #02-01B, Singapore. The centre does not state the station. By our map check Rivervale Mall is a short walk from Rumbia LRT on the East Loop. General phone (65) 3158 5888.
Website. sg.icanread.asia.
Questions to ask. What is the term fee for my child's programme? How many children are in each class? How long is each lesson?
Mavis Tutorial Centre
What is distinctive. A chain running since 1986, with 17 branches, five of them in Sengkang. It teaches from preschool to JC, including IP. Its Compass One centre is on Level 2 of the mall, about 1 to 2 minutes on foot from Sengkang MRT and LRT, as the centre states, with an average class of 6 to 12.
Who it suits. A family that wants one brand across several children and levels, with a branch close to most parts of Sengkang. Who it may not suit. A family that wants to compare fees before calling, since fees are not published.
Fees as published. Not published. It offers a trial at no charge. We left out a time-limited registration discount.
Branches. Compass One, 1 Sengkang Square, #02-56, Singapore 545078. Buangkok, 10 Sengkang Central, #01-03 Buangkok MRT Station, Singapore 545061. Rivervale Plaza, 118 Rivervale Drive, #02-05, Singapore 540118. Anchorvale Village, 339 Anchorvale Road, #03-05, Singapore 540339. The Seletar Mall, 33 Sengkang West Avenue, #04-19/20, Singapore 797653. Compass One phone +65 6386 4118.
Website. mavistutorial.com and its branch list.
Questions to ask. What is the monthly fee for my child's level and subject? How many students are in the class now? Which Sengkang branch runs the JC or IP class we need?
Mind Stretcher
What is distinctive. A large chain with 30 locations, four of them in Sengkang, teaching its own curriculum from preschool to Sec 4. Each class is 2 hours once a week, and a missed lesson can be made up at any centre in the same week. Lesson recordings and a homework booster are available online, and upper secondary covers A Math and the pure and combined sciences.
Who it suits. A child broadly on track who will benefit from a set curriculum, with a branch in Compass One, Rivervale or Fernvale. Who it may not suit. A child who needs a small group, since the average class is 8 to 10 and can be larger for popular slots.
Fees as published (2027). Per 4 academic weeks, including GST, weekday: P1 to P3 S$250.70, P4 to P6 S$272.50, Sec 1 to 4 S$294.30. Weekend classes cost S$21.80 more. Our estimate is S$31.34 to S$36.79 an hour including GST. Registration is S$76.30, and the deposit is 5 academic weeks per subject. It offers a one-time paid trial, price not stated. We left out early-registration discounts.
Branches. Compass One, 1 Sengkang Square, #03-25, Singapore 545078. Sengkang Community Club, 2 Sengkang Square, #04-06, Singapore 545025. Rivervale Mall, 11 Rivervale Crescent, #01-33, Singapore 545082. The Seletar Mall, 33 Sengkang West Avenue, #04-04, Singapore 797653. The centre does not state the stations. By our map check Compass One and Sengkang CC are at Sengkang MRT and Rivervale Mall is by Rumbia LRT.
Website. mindstretcher.com and its fees page.
Questions to ask. What does the trial cost? How many students are in my child's class? Which of the four Sengkang centres has a place in the slot we want?
NickleBee Tutors
What is distinctive. A Maths centre with three branches, one on Compassvale Drive, teaching groups of no more than 4. Primary courses include School Math, Elite Math, Olympiad Math and DSA Math from P3 to P6, and its advanced primary classes are taught by the founder, Mr Zhou, whom the site describes as a Raffles Institution (GEP) and NUS alumnus and Math Olympiad medallist. Secondary Maths covers Sec 1 to 4 (G3) and IP or IB Years 1 to 4.
Who it suits. A strong P5 or P6 child aiming for AL1, an Olympiad or a DSA place, who will speak up in a group of 4. Who it may not suit. A family that wants to try a class first, since the centre says it does not offer trial lessons, or one looking for a lower fee.
Fees as published. S$275 per 2-hour class, or S$2,750 for a 10-lesson term, collected every 3 months, so our estimate is S$137.50 an hour. New students pay a S$100 admin fee, which is not refundable. Some 2027 cohorts are full with a waiting list.
Branch. 212 Compassvale Drive, opposite Rivervale Plaza, Singapore 542212, as the centre states. It does not name the nearest station. WhatsApp 9188 4710. Other branches are in Bishan and Bukit Timah.
Website. nicklebeetutors.com.
Questions to ask. Which levels run at the Sengkang branch in 2027? Is there a place now, or a waiting list? Who teaches my child's class at Sengkang?
Stalford Learning Centre
What is distinctive. A multi-level chain whose Sengkang Grand Mall branch lists timetables for preschool, P1 to P6, Sec 1 to 4 at G2 and G3, and JC. JC subjects include GP, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Economics, Chinese and Chinese Literature, and it runs PSLE, SEC and A-Level crash courses. The branch shares its unit and phone with Confucius Mandarin, a Chinese centre in the same group.
Who it suits. A JC or upper secondary student who wants a science or Economics class right by Buangkok MRT. Who it may not suit. A family that wants class size and lesson length in writing, since neither is published.
Fees as published. Upper Secondary Biology S$340 per 4 lessons for one subject, falling to S$323 each for two subjects and S$306 each for three. JC Physics S$460 per 4 lessons for one subject, falling to S$440 and S$420. Prices are subject to GST, and a deposit of 4 lessons' fees per subject is required. Trial terms are not published. We left out a time-limited registration offer.
Branch. Sengkang Grand Mall, 70 Compassvale Bow, #02-16/17, Singapore 544692, nearest MRT Buangkok (NE15), as the centre states. Phone 6951 9555.
Website. stalford.edu.sg and its JC Physics page.
Questions to ask. How long is each lesson? How many students are in the JC class at Sengkang Grand Mall? Which teacher takes it?